Softwr

Restaurants · head to head

CAKE POS vs Lineup.ai

CAKE POS logo

CAKE POS

Restaurants

Point of sale made for restaurants

From
$69/month
Rated
-
Lineup.ai logo

Lineup.ai

Restaurants

AI-powered restaurant forecasting

From
$79/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: CAKE POS pricing model based on 'no bill ever' but actual merchant fees, commission rates, or payment processing costs not disclosed; Lineup.ai pricing is per location per month, costs increase with each additional location
  • They diverge on capability: CAKE POS covers Tableside ordering, Lineup.ai covers AI sales forecasting.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which CAKE POS and Lineup.ai actually diverge.

Attributes where CAKE POS and Lineup.ai differ
AttributeCAKE POSLineup.ai
Starting price$69/month$79/month
PlatformsIos, AndroidWeb
Founded20102019

Identical on both: pricing model (subscription), free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Restaurants).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in CAKE POS

  • Tableside ordering
  • Online ordering
  • Guest management
  • Menu management
  • Kitchen display
  • DoorDash
  • Grubhub
  • QuickBooks

Only in Lineup.ai

  • AI sales forecasting
  • Labor optimization
  • Schedule suggestions
  • Weather integration
  • Event tracking
  • Toast
  • HotSchedules
  • When I Work

Both cover

  • Reporting
  • 7shifts

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

CAKE POS

  • Point of Salenot Lineup.ai
  • Order Managementnot Lineup.ai
  • Inventory Controlnot Lineup.ai
  • Staff Schedulingnot Lineup.ai

Lineup.ai

  • Forecasting restaurant sales and building labor schedulesnot CAKE POS

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

CAKE POS

  • Pricing model based on 'no bill ever' but actual merchant fees, commission rates, or payment processing costs not disclosed
  • Website claims zero upfront cost but does not detail ongoing operational costs
  • Customers must request quote to learn full cost of ownership

Lineup.ai

  • Pricing is per location per month, costs increase with each additional location
  • No free tier available; only 30-day risk-free trial with refund guarantee

Pricing, plan by plan

CAKE POS

$69/month
  • Essentials$69/month
    • POS
    • Online ordering
  • Professional$125/month
    • Guest management
    • Advanced features

Lineup.ai

$79/month
  • Forecasts Only$79/month
    • Unlimited users and employees
    • Automated AI-generated forecasts
    • Custom Labor Allowance Budget
  • Forecasts + Scheduling$149/month
    • All Forecasts Only features
    • Schedule builder
    • Automated scheduling

Which should you pick?

Choose CAKE POS if

  • You need tableside ordering.
  • You work on Ios, Android.
  • You also want online ordering.

Choose Lineup.ai if

  • You need ai sales forecasting.
  • You also want labor optimization.

Questions people ask

Is CAKE POS or Lineup.ai better?
Neither clearly leads. CAKE POS starts at $69/month and Lineup.ai at $79/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, CAKE POS or Lineup.ai?
CAKE POS starts at $69/month and Lineup.ai at $79/month.
Does CAKE POS or Lineup.ai run on more platforms?
CAKE POS runs on Ios, Android. Lineup.ai runs on Web.
What is CAKE POS best used for?
CAKE POS is most often used for point of sale, order management, inventory control, staff scheduling. Of those, point of sale and order management are not what Lineup.ai is typically brought in for.
What can CAKE POS do that Lineup.ai cannot?
CAKE POS covers Tableside ordering, Online ordering, Guest management, Menu management. Lineup.ai covers AI sales forecasting, Labor optimization, Schedule suggestions, Weather integration. Both handle Reporting, 7shifts.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

CAKE POS: Does CAKE POS have an upfront cost?

CAKE advertises 'no bill ever' and requires no down payment for POS terminals and payment processing. However, specific ongoing merchant fees or transaction costs are not disclosed.

Source
Lineup.ai: How much does Lineup.ai cost per location?

Forecasts Only plan is $79 per location per month. Forecasts + Scheduling plan is $149 per location per month. Both offer 10% discount with annual commitment.

Source
CAKE POS: What is included in CAKE's pricing plans?

CAKE offers three tiers (Core, Growth, Enterprise) where Core includes POS terminal with payment processing and reporting. Growth and Enterprise add features like white-glove installation, business insurance, and partner integrations, but exact pricing is not published.

Source
Lineup.ai: Does Lineup.ai offer a free trial?

Yes, Lineup.ai offers a risk-free 30-day trial with a refund guarantee if forecasts do not meet expectations. No credit card required.

Source
CAKE POS: How can I find out what CAKE POS actually costs?

CAKE does not publish pricing online. You must request a quote directly through the website to learn specific costs for your restaurant's needs.

Source
Lineup.ai: Can I add more locations later?

Yes, customers can start with as many locations as needed and add more locations at any time at the monthly rate.

Source
Lineup.ai: What integrations does Lineup.ai support?

Lineup.ai integrates with Toast, Brink POS, Square, Clover, Snowflake, and Omnivore.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads