Softwr

Restaurants · head to head

CAKE POS vs Olo

CAKE POS logo

CAKE POS

Restaurants

Point of sale made for restaurants

From
$69/month
Rated
-
Olo logo

Olo

Restaurants

Digital ordering and delivery platform

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: CAKE POS pricing model based on 'no bill ever' but actual merchant fees, commission rates, or payment processing costs not disclosed; Olo no pricing published on website; all pricing inquiries directed to request a demo
  • They diverge on capability: CAKE POS covers Tableside ordering, Olo covers Digital ordering.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which CAKE POS and Olo actually diverge.

Attributes where CAKE POS and Olo differ
AttributeCAKE POSOlo
Starting price$69/monthOn request
PlatformsIos, AndroidWeb, Ios, Android
Founded20102005

Identical on both: pricing model (subscription), free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Restaurants).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in CAKE POS

  • Tableside ordering
  • Online ordering
  • Guest management
  • Menu management
  • Reporting
  • Kitchen display
  • QuickBooks
  • 7shifts

Only in Olo

  • Digital ordering
  • Delivery management
  • Dispatch
  • Rails integration
  • Catering
  • Enterprise analytics
  • Uber Eats
  • All major POS

Both cover

  • DoorDash
  • Grubhub
  • Ios support
  • Android support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

CAKE POS

  • Point of Sale
  • Order Management
  • Inventory Control
  • Staff Scheduling

Olo

  • Point of Sale
  • Order Management
  • Inventory Control
  • Staff Scheduling

Both are used for point of sale, order management, inventory control, staff scheduling, on those jobs the choice comes down to price and fit rather than capability.

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

CAKE POS

  • Pricing model based on 'no bill ever' but actual merchant fees, commission rates, or payment processing costs not disclosed
  • Website claims zero upfront cost but does not detail ongoing operational costs
  • Customers must request quote to learn full cost of ownership

Olo

  • No pricing published on website; all pricing inquiries directed to request a demo

Pricing, plan by plan

CAKE POS

$69/month
  • Essentials$69/month
    • POS
    • Online ordering
  • Professional$125/month
    • Guest management
    • Advanced features

Olo

On request
  • EnterpriseFree
    • Custom pricing
    • Full platform

Which should you pick?

Choose CAKE POS if

  • You need tableside ordering.
  • You work on Ios, Android.
  • You also want online ordering.

Choose Olo if

  • You need digital ordering.
  • You work on Web, Ios, Android.
  • You also want delivery management.

Questions people ask

Is CAKE POS or Olo better?
Neither clearly leads. CAKE POS starts at $69/month and Olo at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, CAKE POS or Olo?
CAKE POS starts at $69/month and Olo at On request.
Does CAKE POS or Olo run on more platforms?
CAKE POS runs on Ios, Android. Olo runs on Web, Ios, Android.
What is CAKE POS best used for?
CAKE POS is most often used for point of sale, order management, inventory control, staff scheduling.
What can CAKE POS do that Olo cannot?
CAKE POS covers Tableside ordering, Online ordering, Guest management, Menu management. Olo covers Digital ordering, Delivery management, Dispatch, Rails integration. Both handle DoorDash, Grubhub, Ios support, Android support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

CAKE POS: Does CAKE POS have an upfront cost?

CAKE advertises 'no bill ever' and requires no down payment for POS terminals and payment processing. However, specific ongoing merchant fees or transaction costs are not disclosed.

Source
Olo: How much does Olo cost?

Olo pricing is not published online. The vendor directs customers to request a demo or contact their sales team for pricing and availability information.

Source
CAKE POS: What is included in CAKE's pricing plans?

CAKE offers three tiers (Core, Growth, Enterprise) where Core includes POS terminal with payment processing and reporting. Growth and Enterprise add features like white-glove installation, business insurance, and partner integrations, but exact pricing is not published.

Source
Olo: Does Olo offer different pricing for restaurants of different sizes?

Specific tiered pricing based on restaurant size is not disclosed on Olo's website. Contact Olo's sales team to discuss pricing options tailored to your restaurant's needs.

Source
CAKE POS: How can I find out what CAKE POS actually costs?

CAKE does not publish pricing online. You must request a quote directly through the website to learn specific costs for your restaurant's needs.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads