Softwr

Restaurants · head to head

CAKE POS vs Otter

CAKE POS logo

CAKE POS

Restaurants

Point of sale made for restaurants

From
$69/month
Rated
-
Otter logo

Otter

Restaurants

Delivery order consolidation and menu management across marketplaces, owned by CloudKitchens

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: CAKE POS pricing model based on 'no bill ever' but actual merchant fees, commission rates, or payment processing costs not disclosed; Otter the parent company operates delivery only kitchens and has run its own virtual brands, so your order and menu data sits with a business that can compete in the same delivery radius.
  • They diverge on capability: CAKE POS covers Tableside ordering, Otter covers Order consolidation.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 31 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which CAKE POS and Otter actually diverge.

Attributes where CAKE POS and Otter differ
AttributeCAKE POSOtter
Starting price$69/monthOn request
Pricing modelsubscriptionquote
PlatformsIos, AndroidWeb, iOS, Android
Founded2010Unknown

Identical on both: free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Restaurants).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in CAKE POS

  • Tableside ordering
  • Online ordering
  • Guest management
  • Menu management
  • Reporting
  • Kitchen display
  • DoorDash
  • Grubhub

Only in Otter

  • Order consolidation
  • Menu sync
  • POS injection
  • Availability and outage control
  • Virtual brand management
  • Marketplace analytics

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

CAKE POS

  • Point of Salenot Otter
  • Order Managementnot Otter
  • Inventory Controlnot Otter
  • Staff Schedulingnot Otter

Otter

  • A kitchen running three or more delivery marketplaces that has run out of counter space for tabletsnot CAKE POS
  • An operator launching virtual brands who needs several menus maintained from one placenot CAKE POS
  • A small chain that wants store pauses and item eighty sixes applied to every channel at oncenot CAKE POS
  • A ghost kitchen tenant who needs marketplace orders landing in the POS for accurate sales reportingnot CAKE POS

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

CAKE POS

  • Pricing model based on 'no bill ever' but actual merchant fees, commission rates, or payment processing costs not disclosed
  • Website claims zero upfront cost but does not detail ongoing operational costs
  • Customers must request quote to learn full cost of ownership

Otter

  • The parent company operates delivery only kitchens and has run its own virtual brands, so your order and menu data sits with a business that can compete in the same delivery radius.
  • Pricing scales with the number of connected channels and locations, so the cost rises exactly in step with the delivery volume that makes the tool worth having.
  • Inserting middleware between the marketplaces and the kitchen adds a failure point; when Otter has an incident, orders stop arriving even though DoorDash and Uber Eats are working normally.
  • POS integration depth varies by system, and on some point of sale platforms orders arrive as a single lumped item rather than as itemised tickets, which breaks product mix reporting.
  • Support is tiered by plan and lower tier customers report slow resolution on order routing faults, which are precisely the faults that cost money within the hour.

Pricing, plan by plan

CAKE POS

$69/month
  • Essentials$69/month
    • POS
    • Online ordering
  • Professional$125/month
    • Guest management
    • Advanced features

Otter

On request
  • Order Manager$undefined/year
    • Priced per location per month
    • Cost scales with the number of connected delivery channels
    • POS injection and menu sync quoted as part of the bundle
  • Otter POS and kitchen display$undefined/year
    • Point of sale and kitchen screens sold with hardware
    • Card processing quoted with the POS agreement

Which should you pick?

Choose CAKE POS if

  • You need tableside ordering.
  • You work on Ios, Android.
  • You also want online ordering.

Choose Otter if

  • You need order consolidation.
  • You work on Web, iOS, Android.
  • You also want menu sync.

Questions people ask

Is CAKE POS or Otter better?
Neither clearly leads. CAKE POS starts at $69/month and Otter at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, CAKE POS or Otter?
CAKE POS starts at $69/month and Otter at On request.
Does CAKE POS or Otter run on more platforms?
CAKE POS runs on Ios, Android. Otter runs on Web, iOS, Android.
What is CAKE POS best used for?
CAKE POS is most often used for point of sale, order management, inventory control, staff scheduling. Of those, point of sale and order management are not what Otter is typically brought in for.
What can CAKE POS do that Otter cannot?
CAKE POS covers Tableside ordering, Online ordering, Guest management, Menu management. Otter covers Order consolidation, Menu sync, POS injection, Availability and outage control.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

CAKE POS: Does CAKE POS have an upfront cost?

CAKE advertises 'no bill ever' and requires no down payment for POS terminals and payment processing. However, specific ongoing merchant fees or transaction costs are not disclosed.

Source
Otter: Who owns Otter?

CloudKitchens, the City Storage Systems business founded by Travis Kalanick, which also leases delivery only kitchen space.

CAKE POS: What is included in CAKE's pricing plans?

CAKE offers three tiers (Core, Growth, Enterprise) where Core includes POS terminal with payment processing and reporting. Growth and Enterprise add features like white-glove installation, business insurance, and partner integrations, but exact pricing is not published.

Source
Otter: Does it reduce marketplace commission?

No. You still pay DoorDash, Uber Eats and Grubhub their normal commission. Otter reduces tablet handling and re keying, not commission.

CAKE POS: How can I find out what CAKE POS actually costs?

CAKE does not publish pricing online. You must request a quote directly through the website to learn specific costs for your restaurant's needs.

Source
Otter: Can I keep my existing POS?

In most cases yes, but check whether the integration passes itemised orders or a single consolidated line, because that determines whether your sales mix reporting stays usable.

Otter: What happens if Otter goes down?

Orders can be worked directly on the marketplace tablets, which is why most kitchens keep them rather than returning them.

Share

Related pages

Other head to heads