Travel · head to head
Bokun vs Mews

Bokun
Travel
Tour and activity booking platform tied to Viator distribution, from free to $499 a month
- From
- Free
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Only Bokun has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: Bokun viator bookings are exempt from the booking fee while your own direct bookings are not, so the pricing structure rewards selling through the parent marketplace rather than through your own site.; Mews no pricing published on pricing page; specific per-room or per-property costs require requesting a quote
- Prices and features above were last checked on 31 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Bokun and Mews actually diverge.
Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Travel).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Bokun
- Channel manager
- Booking widgets
- Marketplace
- Product and availability setup
- Offline bookings
- Vouchers and redemption
Only in Mews
Nothing recorded that Bokun does not also cover.
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Bokun
- An operator already doing significant Viator volume who wants that channel to cost nothing in software feesnot Mews
- A city tour company reselling partner products and taking commission through the Bokun marketplacenot Mews
- An operator wanting a fixed monthly subscription rather than a percentage of every booking as FareHarbor chargesnot Mews
- A business taking most bookings by phone, which incur no Bokun booking fee at allnot Mews
Mews
- Property management system for hotels and accommodationsnot Bokun
- Guest experience enhancement with AI-driven preferencesnot Bokun
- Revenue optimization and business intelligencenot Bokun
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Bokun
- Viator bookings are exempt from the booking fee while your own direct bookings are not, so the pricing structure rewards selling through the parent marketplace rather than through your own site.
- The booking fee sits on top of the monthly subscription, so an operator on Start pays $49 plus 1.5% of direct online revenue and the plan price alone understates the cost.
- The free plan is limited to a single user and constrained features, so any business with staff has to move to a paid tier almost immediately.
- Adopting it deepens commercial dependence on Tripadvisor and Viator, which is uncomfortable if your strategy is reducing OTA commission exposure.
- Reporting and back-office depth are lighter than dedicated operator platforms, so businesses with complex resource scheduling or multi-site operations often need workarounds.
Mews
- No pricing published on pricing page; specific per-room or per-property costs require requesting a quote
- Exact implementation fee structure not disclosed
- Revenue Management System (RMS) and Point of Sale (POS) add-on costs not specified
Pricing, plan by plan
Bokun
Free- FreeFree
- One user
- No monthly fee
- No Bokun booking fee
- Start$49/month
- Up to 5 users
- 1.5% booking fee on direct online bookings
- No booking fee on Viator bookings
- Plus$149/month
- Up to 10 users
- 1.25% booking fee on direct online bookings
- No Bokun fee on Viator bookings
- Premium$499/month
- Unlimited users
- 1% booking fee on direct online bookings
- No Bokun fee on Viator bookings
Mews
On requestNo published plan breakdown. See the Mews review.
Which should you pick?
Choose Bokun if
- You need channel manager.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Web, iOS, Android.
- You also want booking widgets.
Choose Mews if
Nothing in the data separates Mews from Bokun on the points above - pick on price and on how each one feels to use.
Questions people ask
- Is Bokun or Mews better?
- Neither clearly leads. Bokun starts at Free and Mews at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Bokun or Mews?
- Bokun has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for Bokun and On request for Mews.
- Does Bokun or Mews run on more platforms?
- Bokun runs on Web, iOS, Android. Mews runs on Web.
- Can I use Bokun for free?
- Yes. Bokun has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Mews starts at On request.
- What is Bokun best used for?
- Bokun is most often used for an operator already doing significant viator volume who wants that channel to cost nothing in software fees, a city tour company reselling partner products and taking commission through the bokun marketplace, an operator wanting a fixed monthly subscription rather than a percentage of every booking as fareharbor charges, a business taking most bookings by phone, which incur no bokun booking fee at all. Of those, an operator already doing significant viator volume who wants that channel to cost nothing in software fees and a city tour company reselling partner products and taking commission through the bokun marketplace are not what Mews is typically brought in for.
- What can Bokun do that Mews cannot?
- Bokun covers Channel manager, Booking widgets, Marketplace, Product and availability setup.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Bokun: Are Viator bookings really free of Bokun fees?
Yes on the paid plans. Direct online bookings through your own widget carry 1% to 1.5% depending on tier.
Mews: What are the main pricing tiers offered by Mews?
Mews offers three tiers: Essentials (basic PMS with automated payments), Advanced (popular tier with customizable guest journey and SMS check-in), and Enterprise (unlimited integrations and no implementation fees). Specific costs require requesting a quote.
SourceBokun: Can I pass the booking fee to customers?
Yes, on the paid plans the fee can be added to the customer price rather than absorbed.
Mews: What core features are included in the Mews Essentials plan?
Essentials includes property management system, booking engine, guest portal, automated payments platform, 8 Mews Marketplace integrations, 24/7 chatbot support, and exportable reports.
SourceBokun: Who owns Bokun?
Viator, which is part of Tripadvisor.
Mews: What additional features does Mews Advanced tier provide?
Advanced tier (marked as popular) adds AI-driven guest preference summaries, customizable booking engine, custom domain email communications, automated SMS check-in reminders, and digital contactless check-in via phone.
SourceBokun: Is the free plan usable in a real business?
Only for a solo operator. It is one user with limited features.
Mews: What makes the Mews Enterprise tier different from other plans?
Enterprise tier includes unlimited Mews Marketplace integrations (1,000+), custom dashboards with business intelligence, enhanced data connectors, automated report exports, access to Booking Engine and Channel Manager APIs, and notably eliminates implementation fees.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- Bokun vs Redeam
- Bokun vs FareHarbor
- Bokun vs Cloudbeds
- Bokun vs SiteMinder
- Bokun vs Rezdy
- Bokun vs Uplisting
- Bokun vs Beds24
- Bokun vs Hostfully
- Bokun vs Smoobu
- Bokun vs Lodgify
- Bokun vs Sabre Red 360
- Bokun vs Kayak
- Bokun vs Lyft
- Bokun vs Ola
- Bokun vs PriceLabs
- Bokun vs Regiondo
- Bokun vs Little Hotelier
- Bokun vs Shiji
- Bokun vs Apaleo
- Bokun vs RoomRaccoon
- Bokun vs Clock PMS+
- Bokun vs Revinate
- Bokun vs TrustYou
- Bokun vs Opera PMS
- Bokun vs RoomPriceGenie
- Bokun vs Stayntouch
- Bokun vs Sirvoy
- Bokun vs Duetto
- Mews vs Redeam
- Mews vs FareHarbor
- Mews vs Cloudbeds
- Mews vs SiteMinder
- Mews vs Rezdy
- Mews vs Uplisting
- Mews vs Beds24
- Mews vs Hostfully
- Mews vs Smoobu
- Mews vs Lodgify
- Mews vs Sabre Red 360
- Mews vs Kayak
- Mews vs Lyft
- Mews vs Ola
- Mews vs PriceLabs
- Mews vs Regiondo
- Mews vs Little Hotelier
- Mews vs Shiji
- Mews vs Apaleo
- Mews vs RoomRaccoon
- Mews vs Clock PMS+
- Mews vs Revinate
- Mews vs TrustYou
- Mews vs Opera PMS
- Mews vs RoomPriceGenie
- Mews vs Stayntouch
- Mews vs Sirvoy
- Mews vs Duetto

