Softwr

CAD · head to head

3D-Coat vs OnShape

3D-Coat logo

3D-Coat

CAD

Digital sculpting for game artists

From
$29/month
Rated
-
OnShape logo

OnShape

CAD

Full-cloud 3D CAD platform

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only OnShape has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: 3D-Coat specific pricing not disclosed on website; OnShape the free plan is non commercial only and makes every document publicly accessible, so nothing designed on it can be kept private
  • They diverge on capability: 3D-Coat covers Voxel sculpting, OnShape covers Cloud-native CAD.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which 3D-Coat and OnShape actually diverge.

Attributes where 3D-Coat and OnShape differ
Attribute3D-CoatOnShape
Starting price$29/monthFree
Pricing modelone-timesubscription
Free tierNoYes
PlatformsWindows, MacOS, LinuxWeb, IOS, Android
Founded20072012

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (CAD).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in 3D-Coat

  • Voxel sculpting
  • Surface sculpting
  • Retopology
  • UV mapping
  • Texture painting
  • PBR materials
  • Smart materials
  • Baking

Only in OnShape

  • Cloud-native CAD
  • Real-time collaboration
  • Version control
  • Part studios
  • Assemblies
  • Drawings
  • FeatureScript
  • Mobile access

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

3D-Coat

  • Voxel sculpting from a digital clay blocknot OnShape
  • Retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshesnot OnShape
  • UV mapping and PBR texturingnot OnShape
  • Preparing print-ready models for 3D printingnot OnShape
  • Node-based material authoring on the GPUnot OnShape

OnShape

  • Cloud based parametric CAD without local workstation installsnot 3D-Coat
  • Collaborative mechanical design with version history and shared documentsnot 3D-Coat

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

3D-Coat

  • Specific pricing not disclosed on website
  • 3DCoatPrint free version limited to 40K triangles on export
  • Requires contacting sales or visiting store for pricing details

OnShape

  • The free plan is non commercial only and makes every document publicly accessible, so nothing designed on it can be kept private
  • The Standard plan is $1,500 per user per year and Professional $2,500
  • Simulation, rendering, CAM and advanced PDM all require the Professional plan
  • SSO, analytics and advanced administration are Enterprise only with no published price

Pricing, plan by plan

3D-Coat

$29/month
  • Amateur$99/month
    • Non-commercial use
  • Professional$379/month
    • Full commercial license
  • Floating$568/month
    • Network licensing

OnShape

Free
  • FreeFree
    • Limited features
    • Public documents
  • Standard$1500/month
    • Private documents
    • Full features
  • Professional$2100/month
    • Advanced simulation
    • Enterprise features

Which should you pick?

Choose 3D-Coat if

  • You need voxel sculpting.
  • You work on Windows, MacOS, Linux.
  • You also want surface sculpting.

Choose OnShape if

  • You need cloud-native cad.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Web, IOS, Android.
  • You also want real-time collaboration.

Questions people ask

Is 3D-Coat or OnShape better?
Neither clearly leads. 3D-Coat starts at $29/month and OnShape at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, 3D-Coat or OnShape?
OnShape has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $29/month for 3D-Coat and Free for OnShape.
Does 3D-Coat or OnShape run on more platforms?
3D-Coat runs on Windows, MacOS, Linux. OnShape runs on Web, IOS, Android.
Can I use OnShape for free?
Yes. OnShape has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. 3D-Coat starts at $29/month.
What is 3D-Coat best used for?
3D-Coat is most often used for voxel sculpting from a digital clay block, retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshes, uv mapping and pbr texturing, preparing print-ready models for 3d printing. Of those, voxel sculpting from a digital clay block and retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshes are not what OnShape is typically brought in for.
What can 3D-Coat do that OnShape cannot?
3D-Coat covers Voxel sculpting, Surface sculpting, Retopology, UV mapping. OnShape covers Cloud-native CAD, Real-time collaboration, Version control, Part studios.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

3D-Coat: Is there a free version of 3D Coat?

Yes, 3D Coat offers multiple free options. 3DCoatPrint is a special free version designed for 3D print-ready models, limited to 40K triangles on export. Additionally, a 30-day unlimited trial is available for the full version.

Source
OnShape: How much does Onshape cost?

Onshape Standard is $1,500 per user per year and Professional is $2,500 per user per year, both billed annually. Enterprise is quoted by sales. A free plan exists for non-commercial use.

Source
3D-Coat: What is the 30-day trial period for 3D Coat?

3D Coat provides a 30-day trial with unlimited learning resources. The trial grants full access to all tools needed to create production-ready, fully textured 3D models.

Source
OnShape: Is the free version of Onshape usable for commercial work?

No. Onshape states the free plan is for non-commercial use only, and every document created on it is publicly accessible. Private storage requires the Standard plan at $1,500 per user per year.

Source
3D-Coat: Does 3D Coat offer specialized versions?

Yes, 3D Coat offers 3DCoatTextura as a specialized version focused on texturing and rendering at a more affordable price than the full 3DCoat version.

Source
OnShape: What does Onshape Professional add over Standard?

Professional adds company managed data, release management, advanced PDM, simulation, rendering, ECAD to MCAD exchange and CAM, for $2,500 per user per year against $1,500 for Standard.

Source
OnShape: Can I try Onshape Professional for free?

Onshape states that qualified professionals can try Onshape Professional free for up to 6 months through its Discovery Program, with no credit card required.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads