Softwr

CAD · head to head

3D-Coat vs KeyShot

3D-Coat logo

3D-Coat

CAD

Digital sculpting for game artists

From
$29/month
Rated
-
KeyShot logo

KeyShot

CAD

Real-time 3D rendering and animation

From
$1299/year
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: 3D-Coat specific pricing not disclosed on website; KeyShot professional plan costs £108.25/month per user; total cost for small teams can be substantial
  • They diverge on capability: 3D-Coat covers Voxel sculpting, KeyShot covers Real-time rendering.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which 3D-Coat and KeyShot actually diverge.

Attributes where 3D-Coat and KeyShot differ
Attribute3D-CoatKeyShot
Starting price$29/month$1299/year
Pricing modelone-timesubscription
PlatformsWindows, MacOS, LinuxWindows
Founded20072003

Identical on both: free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (CAD).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in 3D-Coat

  • Voxel sculpting
  • Surface sculpting
  • Retopology
  • UV mapping
  • Texture painting
  • PBR materials
  • Smart materials
  • Baking

Only in KeyShot

  • Real-time rendering
  • Ray tracing
  • Animation
  • Material library
  • HDR lighting
  • VR output
  • GPU rendering
  • Denoising

Both cover

  • Maya
  • Windows support
  • MacOS support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

3D-Coat

  • Voxel sculpting from a digital clay blocknot KeyShot
  • Retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshesnot KeyShot
  • UV mapping and PBR texturingnot KeyShot
  • Preparing print-ready models for 3D printingnot KeyShot
  • Node-based material authoring on the GPUnot KeyShot

KeyShot

  • Product rendering and visualisationnot 3D-Coat
  • Real-time ray tracing for design reviewnot 3D-Coat
  • 3D animation and motion graphicsnot 3D-Coat
  • Interactive 3D product presentationsnot 3D-Coat

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

3D-Coat

  • Specific pricing not disclosed on website
  • 3DCoatPrint free version limited to 40K triangles on export
  • Requires contacting sales or visiting store for pricing details

KeyShot

  • Professional plan costs £108.25/month per user; total cost for small teams can be substantial
  • 3-year commitment reduces to £3,897 per user, but locks in pricing for extended period
  • Network Rendering, Studio VR, and Cloud Rendering are paid add-ons (£29-£99/month additional)
  • No clear platform support information; likely Windows-only based on CAD tool integrations

Pricing, plan by plan

3D-Coat

$29/month
  • Amateur$99/month
    • Non-commercial use
  • Professional$379/month
    • Full commercial license
  • Floating$568/month
    • Network licensing

KeyShot

$1299/year
  • KeyShot Professional$1299/year
    • Non-transferable individual seat license
    • Complete 3D visualization toolkit
    • AI capabilities included
  • KeyShot Business$1599/year
    • Transferable individual seat licenses
    • Centralized seat management
    • Network Rendering options
  • KeyShot Enterprise$null/year
    • Custom billing options and flexible terms
    • Single Sign-On (SSO)
    • Dedicated Customer Success Manager

Which should you pick?

Choose 3D-Coat if

  • You need voxel sculpting.
  • You work on Windows, MacOS, Linux.
  • You also want surface sculpting.

Choose KeyShot if

  • You need real-time rendering.
  • You work on Windows.
  • You also want ray tracing.

Questions people ask

Is 3D-Coat or KeyShot better?
Neither clearly leads. 3D-Coat starts at $29/month and KeyShot at $1299/year, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, 3D-Coat or KeyShot?
3D-Coat starts at $29/month and KeyShot at $1299/year.
Does 3D-Coat or KeyShot run on more platforms?
3D-Coat runs on Windows, MacOS, Linux. KeyShot runs on Windows.
What is 3D-Coat best used for?
3D-Coat is most often used for voxel sculpting from a digital clay block, retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshes, uv mapping and pbr texturing, preparing print-ready models for 3d printing. Of those, voxel sculpting from a digital clay block and retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshes are not what KeyShot is typically brought in for.
What can 3D-Coat do that KeyShot cannot?
3D-Coat covers Voxel sculpting, Surface sculpting, Retopology, UV mapping. KeyShot covers Real-time rendering, Ray tracing, Animation, Material library. Both handle Maya, Windows support, MacOS support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

3D-Coat: Is there a free version of 3D Coat?

Yes, 3D Coat offers multiple free options. 3DCoatPrint is a special free version designed for 3D print-ready models, limited to 40K triangles on export. Additionally, a 30-day unlimited trial is available for the full version.

Source
KeyShot: What is the difference between KeyShot Professional and Business licenses?

Professional ($1,299/year) is for individual designers with non-transferable seats. Business ($1,599/year) includes transferable seats, centralized management, and is designed for team use. Professional does not include network rendering options.

Source
3D-Coat: What is the 30-day trial period for 3D Coat?

3D Coat provides a 30-day trial with unlimited learning resources. The trial grants full access to all tools needed to create production-ready, fully textured 3D models.

Source
KeyShot: Can I pay monthly for KeyShot instead of annually?

No, KeyShot pricing is structured around annual subscriptions. Professional is $1,299/year ($108.25/month equivalent) and Business is $1,599/year ($133.25/month equivalent). 3-year terms offer lower per-year costs.

Source
3D-Coat: Does 3D Coat offer specialized versions?

Yes, 3D Coat offers 3DCoatTextura as a specialized version focused on texturing and rendering at a more affordable price than the full 3DCoat version.

Source
KeyShot: What add-on costs should I budget for KeyShot Studio VR?

KeyShot Studio VR costs $99/month or $1,188/year separately. Network Rendering is $32/month ($384/year) and NX Plugin is $29/month ($348/year).

Source
KeyShot: Is educational pricing available for KeyShot?

Yes, KeyShot offers EDU tier licensing for eligible students and faculty at $95/year, providing access to identical core features and AI capabilities as paid plans.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads