CAD · head to head
3D-Coat vs SolveSpace
SolveSpace
CAD
Open source parametric CAD with a constraint solver in a few megabytes
- From
- Free
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Only SolveSpace has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: 3D-Coat specific pricing not disclosed on website; SolveSpace the in-house geometry kernel fails on complex boolean operations and fillets, and the failure is sometimes silent bad geometry rather than an error message, so models must be checked before export or manufacture.
- They diverge on capability: 3D-Coat covers Voxel sculpting, SolveSpace covers Constraint solver.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 1 September 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which 3D-Coat and SolveSpace actually diverge.
| Attribute | 3D-Coat | SolveSpace |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | $29/month | Free |
| Pricing model | one-time | Open source, no licence fee |
| Free tier | No | Yes |
| Founded | 2007 | Unknown |
Identical on both: platforms (Windows, MacOS, Linux), user rating (Not yet rated), category (CAD).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in 3D-Coat
- Voxel sculpting
- Surface sculpting
- Retopology
- UV mapping
- Texture painting
- PBR materials
- Smart materials
- Baking
Only in SolveSpace
- Constraint solver
- Solid modelling
- Assemblies
- Export formats
- Cross-platform
- Small footprint
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
3D-Coat
- Voxel sculpting from a digital clay blocknot SolveSpace
- Retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshesnot SolveSpace
- UV mapping and PBR texturingnot SolveSpace
- Preparing print-ready models for 3D printingnot SolveSpace
- Node-based material authoring on the GPUnot SolveSpace
SolveSpace
- Designing 3D printed parts on a machine that cannot run mainstream CADnot 3D-Coat
- Teaching constraint-based parametric modelling without buying licences for a classroomnot 3D-Coat
- Checking that a mechanical linkage moves as intended before cutting metalnot 3D-Coat
- Producing dimensionally accurate STEP or STL output from a small open source toolchainnot 3D-Coat
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
3D-Coat
- Specific pricing not disclosed on website
- 3DCoatPrint free version limited to 40K triangles on export
- Requires contacting sales or visiting store for pricing details
SolveSpace
- The in-house geometry kernel fails on complex boolean operations and fillets, and the failure is sometimes silent bad geometry rather than an error message, so models must be checked before export or manufacture.
- There is no proper drawing and dimensioning workflow, so manufacturing documentation has to be produced in another application.
- Development is volunteer-led and intermittent; long gaps between releases are normal and there is no support contract available at any price.
- Assembly-level import of external CAD is very limited, so it does not fit a supply chain that exchanges native or assembly-level models with suppliers.
- The interface follows its own conventions rather than mainstream CAD ones, so existing SolidWorks or Fusion users spend time unlearning habits for a tool with a lower ceiling.
Pricing, plan by plan
3D-Coat
$29/month- Amateur$99/month
- Non-commercial use
- Professional$379/month
- Full commercial license
- Floating$568/month
- Network licensing
SolveSpace
Free- SolveSpaceFree
- Full application under the GPL
- No seat limit
- Windows, macOS and Linux builds
Which should you pick?
Choose 3D-Coat if
- You need voxel sculpting.
- You work on Windows, MacOS, Linux.
- You also want surface sculpting.
Choose SolveSpace if
- You need constraint solver.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Windows, macOS, Linux.
- You also want solid modelling.
Questions people ask
- Is 3D-Coat or SolveSpace better?
- Neither clearly leads. 3D-Coat starts at $29/month and SolveSpace at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, 3D-Coat or SolveSpace?
- SolveSpace has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $29/month for 3D-Coat and Free for SolveSpace.
- Does 3D-Coat or SolveSpace run on more platforms?
- 3D-Coat runs on Windows, MacOS, Linux. SolveSpace runs on Windows, macOS, Linux.
- Can I use SolveSpace for free?
- Yes. SolveSpace has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. 3D-Coat starts at $29/month.
- What is 3D-Coat best used for?
- 3D-Coat is most often used for voxel sculpting from a digital clay block, retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshes, uv mapping and pbr texturing, preparing print-ready models for 3d printing. Of those, voxel sculpting from a digital clay block and retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshes are not what SolveSpace is typically brought in for.
- What can 3D-Coat do that SolveSpace cannot?
- 3D-Coat covers Voxel sculpting, Surface sculpting, Retopology, UV mapping. SolveSpace covers Constraint solver, Solid modelling, Assemblies, Export formats.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
3D-Coat: Is there a free version of 3D Coat?
Yes, 3D Coat offers multiple free options. 3DCoatPrint is a special free version designed for 3D print-ready models, limited to 40K triangles on export. Additionally, a 30-day unlimited trial is available for the full version.
SourceSolveSpace: Is it really free for commercial work?
Yes. It is released under the GPL with no licence fee and no seat limit. Support is community only.
3D-Coat: What is the 30-day trial period for 3D Coat?
3D Coat provides a 30-day trial with unlimited learning resources. The trial grants full access to all tools needed to create production-ready, fully textured 3D models.
SourceSolveSpace: Can it replace Fusion 360 or SolidWorks?
No. It handles parts and simple assemblies well. Complex geometry, drawings and supply chain interoperability are outside its range.
3D-Coat: Does 3D Coat offer specialized versions?
Yes, 3D Coat offers 3DCoatTextura as a specialized version focused on texturing and rendering at a more affordable price than the full 3DCoat version.
SourceSolveSpace: What hardware does it need?
Very little. It runs on old laptops and small Linux machines where mainstream CAD will not start.
Related pages
Other head to heads
- 3D-Coat vs FreeCAD
- 3D-Coat vs V-Ray
- 3D-Coat vs Enscape
- 3D-Coat vs KeyShot
- 3D-Coat vs Mudbox
- 3D-Coat vs ZBrush
- 3D-Coat vs Mari
- 3D-Coat vs Nomad Sculpt
- 3D-Coat vs Plasticity
- 3D-Coat vs Bentley MicroStation
- 3D-Coat vs Rhino 3D
- 3D-Coat vs Shapr3D
- 3D-Coat vs ANSYS Fluent
- 3D-Coat vs Bentley iTwin Capture Modeler
- 3D-Coat vs Carlson Software
- 3D-Coat vs Arnold
- 3D-Coat vs Inventor
- 3D-Coat vs OnShape
- 3D-Coat vs Creo
- 3D-Coat vs Alibre Design
- 3D-Coat vs Bambu Studio
- 3D-Coat vs IronCAD
- 3D-Coat vs OpenSCAD
- 3D-Coat vs Zoo
- 3D-Coat vs CloudCompare
- 3D-Coat vs KiCad
- 3D-Coat vs PrusaSlicer
- 3D-Coat vs Corona Renderer
- 3D-Coat vs D5 Render
- 3D-Coat vs CATIA
- SolveSpace vs FreeCAD
- SolveSpace vs V-Ray
- SolveSpace vs Enscape
- SolveSpace vs KeyShot
- SolveSpace vs Mudbox
- SolveSpace vs ZBrush
- SolveSpace vs Mari
- SolveSpace vs Nomad Sculpt
- SolveSpace vs Plasticity
- SolveSpace vs Bentley MicroStation
- SolveSpace vs Rhino 3D
- SolveSpace vs Shapr3D
- SolveSpace vs ANSYS Fluent
- SolveSpace vs Bentley iTwin Capture Modeler
- SolveSpace vs Carlson Software
- SolveSpace vs Arnold
- SolveSpace vs Inventor
- SolveSpace vs OnShape
- SolveSpace vs Creo
- SolveSpace vs Alibre Design
- SolveSpace vs Bambu Studio
- SolveSpace vs IronCAD
- SolveSpace vs OpenSCAD
- SolveSpace vs Zoo
- SolveSpace vs CloudCompare
- SolveSpace vs KiCad
- SolveSpace vs PrusaSlicer
- SolveSpace vs Corona Renderer
- SolveSpace vs D5 Render
- SolveSpace vs CATIA

