CAD · head to head
3D-Coat vs Shapr3D
The short version
- Only Shapr3D has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: 3D-Coat specific pricing not disclosed on website; Shapr3D the free Basic plan is limited to 2 projects
- They diverge on capability: 3D-Coat covers Voxel sculpting, Shapr3D covers Direct modeling.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which 3D-Coat and Shapr3D actually diverge.
Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (CAD).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in 3D-Coat
- Voxel sculpting
- Surface sculpting
- Retopology
- UV mapping
- Texture painting
- PBR materials
- Smart materials
- Baking
Only in Shapr3D
- Direct modeling
- Parametric history
- Visualization
- 2D drawings
- Apple Pencil support
- Import/export
- Annotations
- Fusion 360
Both cover
- Windows support
- MacOS support
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
3D-Coat
- Voxel sculpting from a digital clay blocknot Shapr3D
- Retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshesnot Shapr3D
- UV mapping and PBR texturingnot Shapr3D
- Preparing print-ready models for 3D printingnot Shapr3D
- Node-based material authoring on the GPUnot Shapr3D
Shapr3D
- Direct modelling CAD on iPad with Apple Pencilnot 3D-Coat
- Producing manufacturable solid models and technical drawingsnot 3D-Coat
- Sharing CAD projects with collaborators on desktop and tabletnot 3D-Coat
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
3D-Coat
- Specific pricing not disclosed on website
- 3DCoatPrint free version limited to 40K triangles on export
- Requires contacting sales or visiting store for pricing details
Shapr3D
- The free Basic plan is limited to 2 projects
- Free plan exports only basic resolution 3MF and STL, so no STEP or IGES output
- Free plan caps generative renders at 3 per day; Pro raises this to 50 per day and only Enterprise is unlimited
- Importing SLDPRT and SLDASM SolidWorks files requires Pro
- Importing NX, JT, CREO, Solid Edge and Rhino files requires Enterprise
- Exporting ACIS, FBX, Parasolid and PRC requires Enterprise
- On premises and single tenant data storage is Enterprise only
- Enterprise pricing is by quote with no published rate
Pricing, plan by plan
3D-Coat
$29/month- Amateur$99/month
- Non-commercial use
- Professional$379/month
- Full commercial license
- Floating$568/month
- Network licensing
Shapr3D
Free- BasicFree
- 2 projects
- cloud storage
- basic import/export (XT, STEP, IGES, DWG, STL)
- Pro$299/year
- unlimited shared team projects
- up to 2 contributors
- high-resolution exports
- Enterprise$null/custom
- granular access control
- flexible data storage (single tenant/private cloud/on-premises)
- unlimited renders
Which should you pick?
Choose 3D-Coat if
- You need voxel sculpting.
- You work on Windows, MacOS, Linux.
- You also want surface sculpting.
Choose Shapr3D if
- You need direct modeling.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on IPadOS, MacOS, Windows.
- You also want parametric history.
Questions people ask
- Is 3D-Coat or Shapr3D better?
- Neither clearly leads. 3D-Coat starts at $29/month and Shapr3D at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, 3D-Coat or Shapr3D?
- Shapr3D has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $29/month for 3D-Coat and Free for Shapr3D.
- Does 3D-Coat or Shapr3D run on more platforms?
- 3D-Coat runs on Windows, MacOS, Linux. Shapr3D runs on IPadOS, MacOS, Windows.
- Can I use Shapr3D for free?
- Yes. Shapr3D has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. 3D-Coat starts at $29/month.
- What is 3D-Coat best used for?
- 3D-Coat is most often used for voxel sculpting from a digital clay block, retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshes, uv mapping and pbr texturing, preparing print-ready models for 3d printing. Of those, voxel sculpting from a digital clay block and retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshes are not what Shapr3D is typically brought in for.
- What can 3D-Coat do that Shapr3D cannot?
- 3D-Coat covers Voxel sculpting, Surface sculpting, Retopology, UV mapping. Shapr3D covers Direct modeling, Parametric history, Visualization, 2D drawings. Both handle Windows support, MacOS support.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
3D-Coat: Is there a free version of 3D Coat?
Yes, 3D Coat offers multiple free options. 3DCoatPrint is a special free version designed for 3D print-ready models, limited to 40K triangles on export. Additionally, a 30-day unlimited trial is available for the full version.
SourceShapr3D: How much does Shapr3D cost?
Shapr3D Basic tier is free. Pro tier is $299 per year or available monthly with price not specified on the pricing page. Enterprise pricing is custom and requires contacting sales.
Source3D-Coat: What is the 30-day trial period for 3D Coat?
3D Coat provides a 30-day trial with unlimited learning resources. The trial grants full access to all tools needed to create production-ready, fully textured 3D models.
SourceShapr3D: Is there a free trial for Shapr3D Pro?
Yes, Shapr3D offers a 14-day free trial for Pro tier that requires a credit card, plus a 14-day money-back guarantee on purchases.
Source3D-Coat: Does 3D Coat offer specialized versions?
Yes, 3D Coat offers 3DCoatTextura as a specialized version focused on texturing and rendering at a more affordable price than the full 3DCoat version.
SourceShapr3D: What is the difference between Shapr3D Pro and Enterprise?
Pro tier includes up to 2 contributors on unlimited shared team projects, 50 renders daily, technical drawings, and AR on iPad. Enterprise provides granular access control, flexible data storage options (single tenant, private cloud, on-premises, or cloud off), unlimited renders, extended import/export formats, and dedicated account management.
SourceShapr3D: Does Shapr3D offer educational pricing?
Yes, Shapr3D is free for students and educators with annual license renewal through an in-app application form.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- 3D-Coat vs FreeCAD
- 3D-Coat vs V-Ray
- 3D-Coat vs Enscape
- 3D-Coat vs KeyShot
- 3D-Coat vs Mudbox
- 3D-Coat vs ZBrush
- 3D-Coat vs Mari
- 3D-Coat vs Nomad Sculpt
- 3D-Coat vs Plasticity
- 3D-Coat vs Bentley MicroStation
- 3D-Coat vs Rhino 3D
- 3D-Coat vs ANSYS Fluent
- 3D-Coat vs Bentley iTwin Capture Modeler
- 3D-Coat vs Carlson Software
- 3D-Coat vs Arnold
- 3D-Coat vs Inventor
- 3D-Coat vs MoI (Moment of Inspiration)
- 3D-Coat vs IronCAD
- 3D-Coat vs Creo
- 3D-Coat vs Houdini
- 3D-Coat vs Alibre Design
- 3D-Coat vs Substance 3D Designer
- 3D-Coat vs Vectorworks
- 3D-Coat vs Zoo
- 3D-Coat vs Twinmotion
- 3D-Coat vs Tinkercad
- Shapr3D vs FreeCAD
- Shapr3D vs V-Ray
- Shapr3D vs Enscape
- Shapr3D vs KeyShot
- Shapr3D vs Mudbox
- Shapr3D vs ZBrush
- Shapr3D vs Mari
- Shapr3D vs Nomad Sculpt
- Shapr3D vs Plasticity
- Shapr3D vs Bentley MicroStation
- Shapr3D vs Rhino 3D
- Shapr3D vs ANSYS Fluent
- Shapr3D vs Bentley iTwin Capture Modeler
- Shapr3D vs Carlson Software
- Shapr3D vs Arnold
- Shapr3D vs Inventor
- Shapr3D vs MoI (Moment of Inspiration)
- Shapr3D vs IronCAD
- Shapr3D vs Creo
- Shapr3D vs Houdini
- Shapr3D vs Alibre Design
- Shapr3D vs Substance 3D Designer
- Shapr3D vs Vectorworks
- Shapr3D vs Zoo
- Shapr3D vs Twinmotion
- Shapr3D vs Tinkercad


