Softwr

CAD · head to head

3D-Coat vs Arnold

3D-Coat logo

3D-Coat

CAD

Digital sculpting for game artists

From
$29/month
Rated
-
Arnold logo

Arnold

CAD

Advanced Monte Carlo ray tracing renderer

From
$29/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: 3D-Coat specific pricing not disclosed on website; Arnold the Internet Archive's capture of Autodesk's Arnold overview page on 30 December 2022 stated a subscription can be installed on up to 3 computers or devices, though only the named user may run it on one machine at a time, and includes access to the 3 previous major versions.
  • They diverge on capability: 3D-Coat covers Voxel sculpting, Arnold covers Ray tracing.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which 3D-Coat and Arnold actually diverge.

Attributes where 3D-Coat and Arnold differ
Attribute3D-CoatArnold
Pricing modelone-timesubscription
Founded20071998

Identical on both: starting price ($29/month), free tier (No), platforms (Windows, MacOS, Linux), user rating (Not yet rated), category (CAD).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in 3D-Coat

  • Voxel sculpting
  • Surface sculpting
  • Retopology
  • UV mapping
  • Texture painting
  • PBR materials
  • Smart materials
  • Baking

Only in Arnold

  • Ray tracing
  • GPU rendering
  • Production shading
  • OSL
  • Denoising
  • Cinema 4D
  • Houdini
  • Katana

Both cover

  • Maya
  • 3ds Max
  • Windows support
  • MacOS support
  • Linux support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

3D-Coat

  • Voxel sculpting from a digital clay blocknot Arnold
  • Retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshesnot Arnold
  • UV mapping and PBR texturingnot Arnold
  • Preparing print-ready models for 3D printingnot Arnold
  • Node-based material authoring on the GPUnot Arnold

Arnold

  • Film productionnot 3D-Coat
  • Animationnot 3D-Coat
  • VFXnot 3D-Coat

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

3D-Coat

  • Specific pricing not disclosed on website
  • 3DCoatPrint free version limited to 40K triangles on export
  • Requires contacting sales or visiting store for pricing details

Arnold

  • The Internet Archive's capture of Autodesk's Arnold overview page on 30 December 2022 stated a subscription can be installed on up to 3 computers or devices, though only the named user may run it on one machine at a time, and includes access to the 3 previous major versions.

Pricing, plan by plan

3D-Coat

$29/month
  • Amateur$99/month
    • Non-commercial use
  • Professional$379/month
    • Full commercial license
  • Floating$568/month
    • Network licensing

Arnold

$29/month
  • Arnold$360/month
    • Standalone renderer

Which should you pick?

Choose 3D-Coat if

  • You need voxel sculpting.
  • You work on Windows, MacOS, Linux.
  • You also want surface sculpting.

Choose Arnold if

  • You need ray tracing.
  • You work on Windows, MacOS, Linux.
  • You also want gpu rendering.

Questions people ask

Is 3D-Coat or Arnold better?
Neither clearly leads. 3D-Coat starts at $29/month and Arnold at $29/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, 3D-Coat or Arnold?
3D-Coat starts at $29/month and Arnold at $29/month.
Does 3D-Coat or Arnold run on more platforms?
Both run on Windows, MacOS, Linux, so platform support will not decide this one for you.
What is 3D-Coat best used for?
3D-Coat is most often used for voxel sculpting from a digital clay block, retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshes, uv mapping and pbr texturing, preparing print-ready models for 3d printing. Of those, voxel sculpting from a digital clay block and retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshes are not what Arnold is typically brought in for.
What can 3D-Coat do that Arnold cannot?
3D-Coat covers Voxel sculpting, Surface sculpting, Retopology, UV mapping. Arnold covers Ray tracing, GPU rendering, Production shading, OSL. Both handle Maya, 3ds Max, Windows support, MacOS support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

3D-Coat: Is there a free version of 3D Coat?

Yes, 3D Coat offers multiple free options. 3DCoatPrint is a special free version designed for 3D print-ready models, limited to 40K triangles on export. Additionally, a 30-day unlimited trial is available for the full version.

Source
Arnold: How much does Autodesk Arnold cost?

Autodesk Arnold pricing is not published on the vendor website. Arnold is available through Autodesk subscription plans or standalone licensing. Customers should contact Autodesk directly for pricing quotes.

Source
3D-Coat: What is the 30-day trial period for 3D Coat?

3D Coat provides a 30-day trial with unlimited learning resources. The trial grants full access to all tools needed to create production-ready, fully textured 3D models.

Source
Arnold: Is Arnold free for educational use?

Yes, Autodesk provides free educational licenses for Arnold to students and educators. Educational access allows learning of professional rendering capabilities at no cost.

Source
3D-Coat: Does 3D Coat offer specialized versions?

Yes, 3D Coat offers 3DCoatTextura as a specialized version focused on texturing and rendering at a more affordable price than the full 3DCoat version.

Source
Arnold: What does Arnold render?

Autodesk Arnold is an industry-standard photorealistic rendering engine used for visual effects, animation, and design visualization. It supports GPU and CPU rendering with advanced features for film, television, and product design.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads