Softwr

CAD · head to head

3D-Coat vs Mudbox

3D-Coat logo

3D-Coat

CAD

Digital sculpting for game artists

From
$29/month
Rated
-
Mudbox logo

Mudbox

CAD

Digital painting and sculpting software

From
$29/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: 3D-Coat specific pricing not disclosed on website; Mudbox mudbox subscriptions ending August 7, 2026 - end of sale for 3-year subscriptions, November 7, 2026 for monthly/yearly subscriptions
  • They diverge on capability: 3D-Coat covers Voxel sculpting, Mudbox covers Digital sculpting.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which 3D-Coat and Mudbox actually diverge.

Attributes where 3D-Coat and Mudbox differ
Attribute3D-CoatMudbox
Pricing modelone-timesubscription
Founded20071982

Identical on both: starting price ($29/month), free tier (No), platforms (Windows, MacOS, Linux), user rating (Not yet rated), category (CAD).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in 3D-Coat

  • Voxel sculpting
  • Surface sculpting
  • UV mapping
  • PBR materials
  • Smart materials
  • Baking
  • Blender
  • Unity

Only in Mudbox

  • Digital sculpting
  • PTEX support
  • Layer system
  • Stencils
  • Stamps
  • GPU tessellation
  • Autodesk ecosystem
  • Autodesk Account

Both cover

  • Retopology
  • Texture painting
  • Maya
  • 3ds Max
  • Windows support
  • MacOS support
  • Linux support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

3D-Coat

  • Voxel sculpting from a digital clay blocknot Mudbox
  • Retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshesnot Mudbox
  • UV mapping and PBR texturingnot Mudbox
  • Preparing print-ready models for 3D printingnot Mudbox
  • Node-based material authoring on the GPUnot Mudbox

Mudbox

  • Character sculptingnot 3D-Coat
  • Texture creationnot 3D-Coat
  • Asset detailingnot 3D-Coat

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

3D-Coat

  • Specific pricing not disclosed on website
  • 3DCoatPrint free version limited to 40K triangles on export
  • Requires contacting sales or visiting store for pricing details

Mudbox

  • Mudbox subscriptions ending August 7, 2026 - end of sale for 3-year subscriptions, November 7, 2026 for monthly/yearly subscriptions
  • Product is being discontinued, making it unavailable for new purchases after specified dates

Pricing, plan by plan

3D-Coat

$29/month
  • Amateur$99/month
    • Non-commercial use
  • Professional$379/month
    • Full commercial license
  • Floating$568/month
    • Network licensing

Mudbox

$29/month
  • Mudbox$85/month
    • Full sculpting
    • Texture painting
  • M&E Collection$2390/month
    • Mudbox + Maya + 3ds Max + more

Which should you pick?

Choose 3D-Coat if

  • You need voxel sculpting.
  • You work on Windows, MacOS, Linux.
  • You also want surface sculpting.

Choose Mudbox if

  • You need digital sculpting.
  • You work on Windows, MacOS, Linux.
  • You also want ptex support.

Questions people ask

Is 3D-Coat or Mudbox better?
Neither clearly leads. 3D-Coat starts at $29/month and Mudbox at $29/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, 3D-Coat or Mudbox?
3D-Coat starts at $29/month and Mudbox at $29/month.
Does 3D-Coat or Mudbox run on more platforms?
Both run on Windows, MacOS, Linux, so platform support will not decide this one for you.
What is 3D-Coat best used for?
3D-Coat is most often used for voxel sculpting from a digital clay block, retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshes, uv mapping and pbr texturing, preparing print-ready models for 3d printing. Of those, voxel sculpting from a digital clay block and retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshes are not what Mudbox is typically brought in for.
What can 3D-Coat do that Mudbox cannot?
3D-Coat covers Voxel sculpting, Surface sculpting, UV mapping, PBR materials. Mudbox covers Digital sculpting, PTEX support, Layer system, Stencils. Both handle Retopology, Texture painting, Maya, 3ds Max.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

3D-Coat: Is there a free version of 3D Coat?

Yes, 3D Coat offers multiple free options. 3DCoatPrint is a special free version designed for 3D print-ready models, limited to 40K triangles on export. Additionally, a 30-day unlimited trial is available for the full version.

Source
Mudbox: How much does Autodesk Mudbox cost?

Autodesk Mudbox pricing is not shown on the product page. Annual and monthly subscription options are available, but the product is being discontinued with end of sale on November 7, 2026 for monthly subscriptions.

Source
3D-Coat: What is the 30-day trial period for 3D Coat?

3D Coat provides a 30-day trial with unlimited learning resources. The trial grants full access to all tools needed to create production-ready, fully textured 3D models.

Source
Mudbox: Is Autodesk Mudbox being discontinued?

Yes, starting August 7, 2026, Autodesk is discontinuing the sale of new and renewal Mudbox subscriptions. The 3-year subscription offering discontinues August 7, 2026, followed by end of sale for 1-year and monthly subscriptions on November 7, 2026.

Source
3D-Coat: Does 3D Coat offer specialized versions?

Yes, 3D Coat offers 3DCoatTextura as a specialized version focused on texturing and rendering at a more affordable price than the full 3DCoat version.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads