Softwr

CAD · head to head

3D-Coat vs Lumion

3D-Coat logo

3D-Coat

CAD

Digital sculpting for game artists

From
$29/month
Rated
-
Lumion logo

Lumion

CAD

Architectural visualization made easy

From
$29/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: 3D-Coat specific pricing not disclosed on website; Lumion enterprise tier is priced by quote only, labelled Let's talk in the vendor's own pricing data, alongside otherwise self-serve tiers with published dollar and pound figures
  • They diverge on capability: 3D-Coat covers Voxel sculpting, Lumion covers Real-time rendering.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which 3D-Coat and Lumion actually diverge.

Attributes where 3D-Coat and Lumion differ
Attribute3D-CoatLumion
Pricing modelone-timesubscription
PlatformsWindows, MacOS, LinuxWindows
Founded20071998

Identical on both: starting price ($29/month), free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (CAD).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in 3D-Coat

  • Voxel sculpting
  • Surface sculpting
  • Retopology
  • UV mapping
  • Texture painting
  • PBR materials
  • Smart materials
  • Baking

Only in Lumion

  • Real-time rendering
  • Content library
  • Effects
  • Video animation
  • VR export
  • LiveSync
  • Revit
  • SketchUp

Both cover

  • License activation
  • Windows support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

3D-Coat

  • Voxel sculpting from a digital clay blocknot Lumion
  • Retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshesnot Lumion
  • UV mapping and PBR texturingnot Lumion
  • Preparing print-ready models for 3D printingnot Lumion
  • Node-based material authoring on the GPUnot Lumion

Lumion

  • Architectural visualizationnot 3D-Coat
  • Client presentationsnot 3D-Coat

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

3D-Coat

  • Specific pricing not disclosed on website
  • 3DCoatPrint free version limited to 40K triangles on export
  • Requires contacting sales or visiting store for pricing details

Lumion

  • Enterprise tier is priced by quote only, labelled Let's talk in the vendor's own pricing data, alongside otherwise self-serve tiers with published dollar and pound figures

Pricing, plan by plan

3D-Coat

$29/month
  • Amateur$99/month
    • Non-commercial use
  • Professional$379/month
    • Full commercial license
  • Floating$568/month
    • Network licensing

Lumion

$29/month
  • Standard$1499/month
    • Core features
  • Pro$2999/month
    • Full features
    • More content

Which should you pick?

Choose 3D-Coat if

  • You need voxel sculpting.
  • You work on Windows, MacOS, Linux.
  • You also want surface sculpting.

Choose Lumion if

  • You need real-time rendering.
  • You work on Windows.
  • You also want content library.

Questions people ask

Is 3D-Coat or Lumion better?
Neither clearly leads. 3D-Coat starts at $29/month and Lumion at $29/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, 3D-Coat or Lumion?
3D-Coat starts at $29/month and Lumion at $29/month.
Does 3D-Coat or Lumion run on more platforms?
3D-Coat runs on Windows, MacOS, Linux. Lumion runs on Windows.
What is 3D-Coat best used for?
3D-Coat is most often used for voxel sculpting from a digital clay block, retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshes, uv mapping and pbr texturing, preparing print-ready models for 3d printing. Of those, voxel sculpting from a digital clay block and retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshes are not what Lumion is typically brought in for.
What can 3D-Coat do that Lumion cannot?
3D-Coat covers Voxel sculpting, Surface sculpting, Retopology, UV mapping. Lumion covers Real-time rendering, Content library, Effects, Video animation. Both handle License activation, Windows support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

3D-Coat: Is there a free version of 3D Coat?

Yes, 3D Coat offers multiple free options. 3DCoatPrint is a special free version designed for 3D print-ready models, limited to 40K triangles on export. Additionally, a 30-day unlimited trial is available for the full version.

Source
Lumion: Where can I find Lumion pricing information?

Specific pricing details are not published on Lumion's public website. Interested customers need to visit the full Lumion website or contact the sales team directly for quotes.

Source
3D-Coat: What is the 30-day trial period for 3D Coat?

3D Coat provides a 30-day trial with unlimited learning resources. The trial grants full access to all tools needed to create production-ready, fully textured 3D models.

Source
Lumion: Does Lumion offer a free trial?

A free trial is available for Lumion, though the specific trial duration and included features are not detailed on the main website.

Source
3D-Coat: Does 3D Coat offer specialized versions?

Yes, 3D Coat offers 3DCoatTextura as a specialized version focused on texturing and rendering at a more affordable price than the full 3DCoat version.

Source
Lumion: What is Lumion's licensing model?

Lumion is a commercial software product for architects and 3D rendering professionals. Licensing details and purchase options require contacting the sales team directly.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads