CAD · head to head
3D-Coat vs ZBrush
The short version
- Each has a real cost: 3D-Coat specific pricing not disclosed on website; ZBrush subscription model required; no perpetual licence option available
- They diverge on capability: 3D-Coat covers Voxel sculpting, ZBrush covers Digital sculpting.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which 3D-Coat and ZBrush actually diverge.
Identical on both: free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (CAD).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in 3D-Coat
- Voxel sculpting
- Surface sculpting
- Retopology
- UV mapping
- Texture painting
- PBR materials
- Smart materials
- Baking
Only in ZBrush
- Digital sculpting
- Dynamesh
- ZRemesher
- PolyPaint
- Live Boolean
- Sculptris Pro
- UV Master
- High polygon handling
Both cover
- Blender
- Maya
- 3ds Max
- Windows support
- MacOS support
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
3D-Coat
- Voxel sculpting from a digital clay blocknot ZBrush
- Retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshesnot ZBrush
- UV mapping and PBR texturingnot ZBrush
- Preparing print-ready models for 3D printingnot ZBrush
- Node-based material authoring on the GPUnot ZBrush
ZBrush
- Digital character and creature sculptingnot 3D-Coat
- High-polygon organic form designnot 3D-Coat
- Texture painting and PolyPaint worknot 3D-Coat
- Game asset creation and 3D modellingnot 3D-Coat
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
3D-Coat
- Specific pricing not disclosed on website
- 3DCoatPrint free version limited to 40K triangles on export
- Requires contacting sales or visiting store for pricing details
ZBrush
- Subscription model required; no perpetual licence option available
- iPad version requires separate subscription to ZBrush for iPad
Pricing, plan by plan
3D-Coat
$29/month- Amateur$99/month
- Non-commercial use
- Professional$379/month
- Full commercial license
- Floating$568/month
- Network licensing
ZBrush
On requestNo published plan breakdown. See the ZBrush review.
Which should you pick?
Choose 3D-Coat if
- You need voxel sculpting.
- You work on Windows, MacOS, Linux.
- You also want surface sculpting.
Choose ZBrush if
- You need digital sculpting.
- You work on Windows, macOS, iPadOS.
- You also want dynamesh.
Questions people ask
- Is 3D-Coat or ZBrush better?
- Neither clearly leads. 3D-Coat starts at $29/month and ZBrush at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, 3D-Coat or ZBrush?
- 3D-Coat starts at $29/month and ZBrush at On request.
- Does 3D-Coat or ZBrush run on more platforms?
- 3D-Coat runs on Windows, MacOS, Linux. ZBrush runs on Windows, macOS, iPadOS.
- What is 3D-Coat best used for?
- 3D-Coat is most often used for voxel sculpting from a digital clay block, retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshes, uv mapping and pbr texturing, preparing print-ready models for 3d printing. Of those, voxel sculpting from a digital clay block and retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshes are not what ZBrush is typically brought in for.
- What can 3D-Coat do that ZBrush cannot?
- 3D-Coat covers Voxel sculpting, Surface sculpting, Retopology, UV mapping. ZBrush covers Digital sculpting, Dynamesh, ZRemesher, PolyPaint. Both handle Blender, Maya, 3ds Max, Windows support.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
3D-Coat: Is there a free version of 3D Coat?
Yes, 3D Coat offers multiple free options. 3DCoatPrint is a special free version designed for 3D print-ready models, limited to 40K triangles on export. Additionally, a 30-day unlimited trial is available for the full version.
SourceZBrush: What is included in a ZBrush subscription?
Every ZBrush subscription includes ZBrush on desktop, iPad, and Windows on Arm devices with premium features, rendering with Redshift, ZBrush Classroom, and Cineversity training.
Source3D-Coat: What is the 30-day trial period for 3D Coat?
3D Coat provides a 30-day trial with unlimited learning resources. The trial grants full access to all tools needed to create production-ready, fully textured 3D models.
SourceZBrush: Is there a free trial available?
Yes. Download the Maxon App to start your 14-day free trial. Every trial includes ZBrush and the full Maxon One suite.
Source3D-Coat: Does 3D Coat offer specialized versions?
Yes, 3D Coat offers 3DCoatTextura as a specialized version focused on texturing and rendering at a more affordable price than the full 3DCoat version.
SourceZBrush: Can I use ZBrush on multiple devices?
ZBrush licensing is dual platform, so you can run on desktop and iPad simultaneously or switch between them at any time.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- 3D-Coat vs FreeCAD
- 3D-Coat vs V-Ray
- 3D-Coat vs Enscape
- 3D-Coat vs KeyShot
- 3D-Coat vs Mudbox
- 3D-Coat vs Mari
- 3D-Coat vs Nomad Sculpt
- 3D-Coat vs Plasticity
- 3D-Coat vs Bentley MicroStation
- 3D-Coat vs Rhino 3D
- 3D-Coat vs Shapr3D
- 3D-Coat vs ANSYS Fluent
- 3D-Coat vs Bentley iTwin Capture Modeler
- 3D-Coat vs Carlson Software
- 3D-Coat vs Arnold
- 3D-Coat vs Inventor
- 3D-Coat vs PrusaSlicer
- 3D-Coat vs Ultimaker Cura
- 3D-Coat vs CloudCompare
- 3D-Coat vs DraftSight
- 3D-Coat vs D5 Render
- 3D-Coat vs LightWave 3D
- 3D-Coat vs OpenSCAD
- 3D-Coat vs CATIA
- ZBrush vs FreeCAD
- ZBrush vs V-Ray
- ZBrush vs Enscape
- ZBrush vs KeyShot
- ZBrush vs Mudbox
- ZBrush vs Mari
- ZBrush vs Nomad Sculpt
- ZBrush vs Plasticity
- ZBrush vs Bentley MicroStation
- ZBrush vs Rhino 3D
- ZBrush vs Shapr3D
- ZBrush vs ANSYS Fluent
- ZBrush vs Bentley iTwin Capture Modeler
- ZBrush vs Carlson Software
- ZBrush vs Arnold
- ZBrush vs Inventor
- ZBrush vs PrusaSlicer
- ZBrush vs Ultimaker Cura
- ZBrush vs CloudCompare
- ZBrush vs DraftSight
- ZBrush vs D5 Render
- ZBrush vs LightWave 3D
- ZBrush vs OpenSCAD
- ZBrush vs CATIA


