Softwr

CAD · head to head

3D-Coat vs MoI (Moment of Inspiration)

3D-Coat logo

3D-Coat

CAD

Digital sculpting for game artists

From
$29/month
Rated
-
MoI (Moment of Inspiration) logo

MoI (Moment of Inspiration)

CAD

NURBS modeller bought once, built for designers rather than engineers

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: 3D-Coat specific pricing not disclosed on website; MoI (Moment of Inspiration) it is developed by one person, so releases are years apart and there is no support organisation to escalate to when something blocks your work.
  • They diverge on capability: 3D-Coat covers Voxel sculpting, MoI (Moment of Inspiration) covers Direct NURBS modelling.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 31 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which 3D-Coat and MoI (Moment of Inspiration) actually diverge.

Attributes where 3D-Coat and MoI (Moment of Inspiration) differ
Attribute3D-CoatMoI (Moment of Inspiration)
Starting price$29/monthOn request
Pricing modelone-timeOne-time purchase
PlatformsWindows, MacOS, LinuxWindows, macOS
Founded2007Unknown

Identical on both: free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (CAD).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in 3D-Coat

  • Voxel sculpting
  • Surface sculpting
  • Retopology
  • UV mapping
  • Texture painting
  • PBR materials
  • Smart materials
  • Baking

Only in MoI (Moment of Inspiration)

  • Direct NURBS modelling
  • Clean mesh export
  • Pen-oriented interface
  • Boolean toolset
  • STEP and IGES exchange
  • Scriptable commands

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

3D-Coat

  • Voxel sculpting from a digital clay blocknot MoI (Moment of Inspiration)
  • Retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshesnot MoI (Moment of Inspiration)
  • UV mapping and PBR texturingnot MoI (Moment of Inspiration)
  • Preparing print-ready models for 3D printingnot MoI (Moment of Inspiration)
  • Node-based material authoring on the GPUnot MoI (Moment of Inspiration)

MoI (Moment of Inspiration)

  • Converting CAD surfaces into clean quad meshes for a polygon or sculpting applicationnot 3D-Coat
  • Modelling hard-surface concept designs where form matters and engineering documentation does notnot 3D-Coat
  • Working on older or low-specification hardware that will not run mainstream CADnot 3D-Coat
  • Buying a modelling tool outright rather than committing to a recurring CAD subscriptionnot 3D-Coat

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

3D-Coat

  • Specific pricing not disclosed on website
  • 3DCoatPrint free version limited to 40K triangles on export
  • Requires contacting sales or visiting store for pricing details

MoI (Moment of Inspiration)

  • It is developed by one person, so releases are years apart and there is no support organisation to escalate to when something blocks your work.
  • There is no parametric history and no assembly structure, so a late design change means remodelling rather than editing a feature.
  • It produces no dimensioned drawings or manufacturing documentation, so anything heading for production needs a second package for the paperwork.
  • Exchange is limited to surface formats such as STEP and IGES with no native interoperability with mainstream MCAD systems, so it sits at the edge of an engineering pipeline rather than inside it.
  • Each major version is a fresh purchase, and the long gaps between versions mean a fix or a feature you need can be several years away with no interim release.

Pricing, plan by plan

3D-Coat

$29/month
  • Amateur$99/month
    • Non-commercial use
  • Professional$379/month
    • Full commercial license
  • Floating$568/month
    • Network licensing

MoI (Moment of Inspiration)

On request
  • MoI$undefined/year
    • Perpetual licence for one major version
    • Windows and macOS
    • Paid upgrade for each subsequent major version

Which should you pick?

Choose 3D-Coat if

  • You need voxel sculpting.
  • You work on Windows, MacOS, Linux.
  • You also want surface sculpting.

Choose MoI (Moment of Inspiration) if

  • You need direct nurbs modelling.
  • You work on Windows, macOS.
  • You also want clean mesh export.

Questions people ask

Is 3D-Coat or MoI (Moment of Inspiration) better?
Neither clearly leads. 3D-Coat starts at $29/month and MoI (Moment of Inspiration) at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, 3D-Coat or MoI (Moment of Inspiration)?
3D-Coat starts at $29/month and MoI (Moment of Inspiration) at On request.
Does 3D-Coat or MoI (Moment of Inspiration) run on more platforms?
3D-Coat runs on Windows, MacOS, Linux. MoI (Moment of Inspiration) runs on Windows, macOS.
What is 3D-Coat best used for?
3D-Coat is most often used for voxel sculpting from a digital clay block, retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshes, uv mapping and pbr texturing, preparing print-ready models for 3d printing. Of those, voxel sculpting from a digital clay block and retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshes are not what MoI (Moment of Inspiration) is typically brought in for.
What can 3D-Coat do that MoI (Moment of Inspiration) cannot?
3D-Coat covers Voxel sculpting, Surface sculpting, Retopology, UV mapping. MoI (Moment of Inspiration) covers Direct NURBS modelling, Clean mesh export, Pen-oriented interface, Boolean toolset.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

3D-Coat: Is there a free version of 3D Coat?

Yes, 3D Coat offers multiple free options. 3DCoatPrint is a special free version designed for 3D print-ready models, limited to 40K triangles on export. Additionally, a 30-day unlimited trial is available for the full version.

Source
MoI (Moment of Inspiration): Is it a subscription?

No. It is bought outright per major version, and each new major version is a separate paid upgrade.

3D-Coat: What is the 30-day trial period for 3D Coat?

3D Coat provides a 30-day trial with unlimited learning resources. The trial grants full access to all tools needed to create production-ready, fully textured 3D models.

Source
MoI (Moment of Inspiration): Can it replace Rhino?

For direct form modelling, often yes. For anything needing Grasshopper, drawings, plugins or engineering interoperability, no.

3D-Coat: Does 3D Coat offer specialized versions?

Yes, 3D Coat offers 3DCoatTextura as a specialized version focused on texturing and rendering at a more affordable price than the full 3DCoat version.

Source
MoI (Moment of Inspiration): Why do 3D artists use it alongside other tools?

Its NURBS to polygon conversion produces cleaner meshes than most CAD exporters, which saves retopology work downstream.

Share

Related pages

Other head to heads