Communication · head to head
Mattermost vs RingCentral Video

Mattermost
Communication
Channel-centric collaboration for secure workflows
- From
- On request
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Only RingCentral Video has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: Mattermost no published pricing on public website; requires sales contact for all tiers; RingCentral Video unlimited calling is limited to the US and Canada markets; other international calls are charged per minute at the published international rates table
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Mattermost and RingCentral Video actually diverge.
| Attribute | Mattermost | RingCentral Video |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | On request | Free |
| Pricing model | quote | subscription |
| Free tier | No | Yes |
| Platforms | Web | Web, Windows, Macos, Ios, Android |
| Founded | Unknown | 1999 |
Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Communication).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Mattermost
Nothing recorded that RingCentral Video does not also cover.
Only in RingCentral Video
- HD video conferencing
- Voice and video calling
- Screen sharing
- Virtual backgrounds
- Recording and transcription
- Chat and messaging
- Calendar integration
- Meeting attendee controls
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Mattermost
- Team messaging and collaborationnot RingCentral Video
- Secure enterprise communicationnot RingCentral Video
- On-premise or self-hosted deploymentnot RingCentral Video
RingCentral Video
- Cloud business phone system with video meetings and team messagingnot Mattermost
- Replacing on-premise PBX hardware for distributed teamsnot Mattermost
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Mattermost
- No published pricing on public website; requires sales contact for all tiers
- Three tiers (Professional, Enterprise, Enterprise Advanced) have feature differences but no cost transparency
- User scaling caps differ between tiers without public price justification
RingCentral Video
- Unlimited calling is limited to the US and Canada markets; other international calls are charged per minute at the published international rates table
- The free trial is only for new subscribers and is capped at five users and two desktop phones, with SMS unavailable during the trial
- Trial hardware must be returned within 21 days of trial cancellation to avoid hardware charges
- Phone rental is available only with a multi-year contract
- Automated, high volume or marketing SMS costs extra as RingCentral High Volume SMS, and TCR registration is required for SMS and MMS
- A Mobile User extension is free to add but is billed at the same monthly rate as a Digital Line in any month it is used to make or receive a call
- The Webinar 500 discount lasts one year on a one year commitment, after which pricing reverts to $75 per host per month or the then current retail price
- Taxes and recovery fees including the Federal Universal Service Recovery Fee, E911 Service Fee and Compliance and Administrative Cost Recovery Fee are added on top
- The advertised savings of up to 33% require paying annually
Pricing, plan by plan
Mattermost
On requestNo published plan breakdown. See the Mattermost review.
RingCentral Video
Free- AI Receptionist$39/month
- Starts at $39
- Conversational Intelligence$60/month
- Starts at $60
- Call Queues Booster$35/month
- $35 per month
- Business SMS Booster$25/month
- $25 per month
Which should you pick?
Choose Mattermost if
Nothing in the data separates Mattermost from RingCentral Video on the points above - pick on price and on how each one feels to use.
Choose RingCentral Video if
- You need hd video conferencing.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Web, Windows, Macos, Ios, Android.
- You also want voice and video calling.
Questions people ask
- Is Mattermost or RingCentral Video better?
- Neither clearly leads. Mattermost starts at On request and RingCentral Video at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Mattermost or RingCentral Video?
- RingCentral Video has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at On request for Mattermost and Free for RingCentral Video.
- Does Mattermost or RingCentral Video run on more platforms?
- Mattermost runs on Web. RingCentral Video runs on Web, Windows, Macos, Ios, Android.
- Can I use RingCentral Video for free?
- Yes. RingCentral Video has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Mattermost starts at On request.
- What is Mattermost best used for?
- Mattermost is most often used for team messaging and collaboration, secure enterprise communication, on-premise or self-hosted deployment. Of those, team messaging and collaboration and secure enterprise communication are not what RingCentral Video is typically brought in for.
- What can Mattermost do that RingCentral Video cannot?
- RingCentral Video covers HD video conferencing, Voice and video calling, Screen sharing, Virtual backgrounds.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Mattermost: What user limits apply to each Mattermost pricing tier?
Professional tier supports maximum 250 users. Enterprise scales to 50,000 concurrent users. Enterprise Advanced scales to 200,000 concurrent users. Exact per-user costs not stated.
SourceRingCentral Video: How much does RingCentral Video cost?
AI Receptionist starts at $39 per month, Conversational Intelligence starts at $60 per month. Main video plan pricing requires entering your user count on the website for personalized quotes.
SourceMattermost: What support response times are included with each plan?
Professional includes community support plus business hours professional support with next business day response. Enterprise includes 24x7 support with 4-hour response time. Enterprise Advanced includes 24x7 with Premier Support option.
SourceRingCentral Video: Does RingCentral offer discounts?
Yes, save up to 33% by paying annually instead of monthly. A 14-day free trial is available for new subscribers with up to 20 phone lines.
SourceMattermost: How much does Mattermost cost for teams under 250 users?
Pricing for Professional tier with user counts under 250 is not disclosed publicly. Contact Mattermost sales for specific quotes.
SourceRelated pages
More on RingCentral Video
Other head to heads
- Mattermost vs Zoom
- Mattermost vs Loom
- Mattermost vs Microsoft Teams
- Mattermost vs Novu
- Mattermost vs Telegram
- Mattermost vs Rocket.Chat
- Mattermost vs Webex by Cisco
- Mattermost vs LINE WORKS
- Mattermost vs Naver Works
- Mattermost vs Slack
- Mattermost vs KakaoTalk
- Mattermost vs Quo
- Mattermost vs Sessions
- Mattermost vs Signal
- Mattermost vs TeamViewer
- Mattermost vs Vowel
- Mattermost vs Lark
- Mattermost vs Twist
- Mattermost vs WhatsApp
- Mattermost vs Flock
- Mattermost vs Google Chat
- Mattermost vs Textline
- RingCentral Video vs Zoom
- RingCentral Video vs Loom
- RingCentral Video vs Microsoft Teams
- RingCentral Video vs Novu
- RingCentral Video vs Telegram
- RingCentral Video vs Rocket.Chat
- RingCentral Video vs Webex by Cisco
- RingCentral Video vs LINE WORKS
- RingCentral Video vs Naver Works
- RingCentral Video vs Slack
- RingCentral Video vs KakaoTalk
- RingCentral Video vs Quo
- RingCentral Video vs Sessions
- RingCentral Video vs Signal
- RingCentral Video vs TeamViewer
- RingCentral Video vs Vowel
- RingCentral Video vs Lark
- RingCentral Video vs Twist
- RingCentral Video vs WhatsApp
- RingCentral Video vs Flock
- RingCentral Video vs Google Chat
- RingCentral Video vs Textline

