Softwr

Communication · head to head

Mattermost vs Textline

Mattermost logo

Mattermost

Communication

Channel-centric collaboration for secure workflows

From
On request
Rated
-
Textline logo

Textline

Communication

Business texting for teams

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Textline has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Mattermost no published pricing on public website; requires sales contact for all tiers; Textline enterprise plan requires custom quote and demo booking
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 29 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Mattermost and Textline actually diverge.

Attributes where Mattermost and Textline differ
AttributeMattermostTextline
Starting priceOn requestFree
Pricing modelquotefreemium
Free tierNoYes

Identical on both: platforms (Web), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Communication).

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Mattermost

  • Team messaging and collaborationnot Textline
  • Secure enterprise communicationnot Textline
  • On-premise or self-hosted deploymentnot Textline

Textline

  • Responding to customer support tickets via SMS from a unified inboxnot Mattermost
  • Sending appointment reminders and conducting follow-ups via text messagenot Mattermost
  • Coordinating field teams across job sites with time-sensitive text updatesnot Mattermost
  • Running SMS campaigns to promote sales and capture leads with high engagementnot Mattermost
  • Managing HIPAA-compliant texting for healthcare patient communicationsnot Mattermost

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Mattermost

  • No published pricing on public website; requires sales contact for all tiers
  • Three tiers (Professional, Enterprise, Enterprise Advanced) have feature differences but no cost transparency
  • User scaling caps differ between tiers without public price justification

Textline

  • Enterprise plan requires custom quote and demo booking
  • Additional message credits cost $0.03 each (purchased in advance)
  • Backup credits cost $0.04 each with minimum 250-credit purchase

Pricing, plan by plan

Mattermost

On request

No published plan breakdown. See the Mattermost review.

Textline

Free
  • EssentialsFree
    • 600 message credits per month
    • 3 agents included
    • 3 years conversation history
  • ProFree
    • 2000 message credits per month
    • 5 agents included
    • Unlimited conversation history
  • Enterprise$null/month
    • Custom pricing
    • All Pro features
    • Flexible implementation

Which should you pick?

Choose Mattermost if

Nothing in the data separates Mattermost from Textline on the points above - pick on price and on how each one feels to use.

Choose Textline if

  • You want to start without paying.

Questions people ask

Is Mattermost or Textline better?
Neither clearly leads. Mattermost starts at On request and Textline at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Mattermost or Textline?
Textline has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at On request for Mattermost and Free for Textline.
Does Mattermost or Textline run on more platforms?
Both run on Web, so platform support will not decide this one for you.
Can I use Textline for free?
Yes. Textline has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Mattermost starts at On request.
What is Mattermost best used for?
Mattermost is most often used for team messaging and collaboration, secure enterprise communication, on-premise or self-hosted deployment. Of those, team messaging and collaboration and secure enterprise communication are not what Textline is typically brought in for.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Mattermost: What user limits apply to each Mattermost pricing tier?

Professional tier supports maximum 250 users. Enterprise scales to 50,000 concurrent users. Enterprise Advanced scales to 200,000 concurrent users. Exact per-user costs not stated.

Source
Textline: Can I use Textline for free?

Yes, Essentials and Pro tiers are free to get started, with no credit card required. Essentials includes 600 message credits and 3 agents monthly. Pro includes 2000 credits and 5 agents. Enterprise requires a custom quote.

Source
Mattermost: What support response times are included with each plan?

Professional includes community support plus business hours professional support with next business day response. Enterprise includes 24x7 support with 4-hour response time. Enterprise Advanced includes 24x7 with Premier Support option.

Source
Textline: How much do extra message credits cost?

Additional message credits cost $0.03 per credit. Backup credits are available at $0.04 each with a minimum purchase of 250 credits.

Source
Mattermost: How much does Mattermost cost for teams under 250 users?

Pricing for Professional tier with user counts under 250 is not disclosed publicly. Contact Mattermost sales for specific quotes.

Source
Textline: What are the costs for phone number registration?

10DLC registration costs $15 per campaign per month via The Campaign Registry. Toll-free numbers do not have a monthly registration fee.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads