Communication · head to head
Mattermost vs Vowel

Mattermost
Communication
Channel-centric collaboration for secure workflows
- From
- On request
- Rated
- -
Vowel
Communication
AI-powered meetings that make everyone more productive
- From
- Free
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Only Vowel has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: Mattermost no published pricing on public website; requires sales contact for all tiers; Vowel the Internet Archive's capture of Vowel's homepage on 4 January 2021 showed the video conferencing/transcript tool was in a 'Request access' waitlist phase with no pricing figure published.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Mattermost and Vowel actually diverge.
| Attribute | Mattermost | Vowel |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | On request | Free |
| Pricing model | quote | subscription |
| Free tier | No | Yes |
| Platforms | Web | Web, Macos, Windows |
| Founded | Unknown | 2020 |
Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Communication).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Mattermost
Nothing recorded that Vowel does not also cover.
Only in Vowel
- Video conferencing
- Auto transcription
- AI meeting summaries
- Action item detection
- Searchable recordings
- Slack
- Notion
- Asana
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Mattermost
- Team messaging and collaborationnot Vowel
- Secure enterprise communicationnot Vowel
- On-premise or self-hosted deploymentnot Vowel
Vowel
- Team meetingsnot Mattermost
- All-handsnot Mattermost
- Client callsnot Mattermost
- Onboardingnot Mattermost
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Mattermost
- No published pricing on public website; requires sales contact for all tiers
- Three tiers (Professional, Enterprise, Enterprise Advanced) have feature differences but no cost transparency
- User scaling caps differ between tiers without public price justification
Vowel
- The Internet Archive's capture of Vowel's homepage on 4 January 2021 showed the video conferencing/transcript tool was in a 'Request access' waitlist phase with no pricing figure published.
Pricing, plan by plan
Mattermost
On requestNo published plan breakdown. See the Mattermost review.
Vowel
Free- FreeFree
- Unlimited meetings
- Auto transcription
- 40-min group meetings
- Business$16.49/month
- Unlimited AI features
- Unlimited recording storage
- Custom vocabulary
- EnterpriseFree
- SSO/SAML
- Dedicated support
- Custom integrations
Which should you pick?
Choose Mattermost if
Nothing in the data separates Mattermost from Vowel on the points above - pick on price and on how each one feels to use.
Choose Vowel if
- You need video conferencing.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Web, Macos, Windows.
- You also want auto transcription.
Questions people ask
- Is Mattermost or Vowel better?
- Neither clearly leads. Mattermost starts at On request and Vowel at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Mattermost or Vowel?
- Vowel has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at On request for Mattermost and Free for Vowel.
- Does Mattermost or Vowel run on more platforms?
- Mattermost runs on Web. Vowel runs on Web, Macos, Windows.
- Can I use Vowel for free?
- Yes. Vowel has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Mattermost starts at On request.
- What is Mattermost best used for?
- Mattermost is most often used for team messaging and collaboration, secure enterprise communication, on-premise or self-hosted deployment. Of those, team messaging and collaboration and secure enterprise communication are not what Vowel is typically brought in for.
- What can Mattermost do that Vowel cannot?
- Vowel covers Video conferencing, Auto transcription, AI meeting summaries, Action item detection.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Mattermost: What user limits apply to each Mattermost pricing tier?
Professional tier supports maximum 250 users. Enterprise scales to 50,000 concurrent users. Enterprise Advanced scales to 200,000 concurrent users. Exact per-user costs not stated.
SourceMattermost: What support response times are included with each plan?
Professional includes community support plus business hours professional support with next business day response. Enterprise includes 24x7 support with 4-hour response time. Enterprise Advanced includes 24x7 with Premier Support option.
SourceMattermost: How much does Mattermost cost for teams under 250 users?
Pricing for Professional tier with user counts under 250 is not disclosed publicly. Contact Mattermost sales for specific quotes.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- Mattermost vs Zoom
- Mattermost vs RingCentral Video
- Mattermost vs Loom
- Mattermost vs Microsoft Teams
- Mattermost vs Novu
- Mattermost vs Telegram
- Mattermost vs Rocket.Chat
- Mattermost vs Webex by Cisco
- Mattermost vs LINE WORKS
- Mattermost vs Naver Works
- Mattermost vs Slack
- Mattermost vs KakaoTalk
- Mattermost vs Quo
- Mattermost vs Sessions
- Mattermost vs Signal
- Mattermost vs TeamViewer
- Mattermost vs Lark
- Mattermost vs WeChat
- Mattermost vs Chatwork
- Mattermost vs Chanty
- Mattermost vs Disciple
- Mattermost vs Google Chat
- Mattermost vs Messenger
- Mattermost vs Viber
- Vowel vs Zoom
- Vowel vs RingCentral Video
- Vowel vs Loom
- Vowel vs Microsoft Teams
- Vowel vs Novu
- Vowel vs Telegram
- Vowel vs Rocket.Chat
- Vowel vs Webex by Cisco
- Vowel vs LINE WORKS
- Vowel vs Naver Works
- Vowel vs Slack
- Vowel vs KakaoTalk
- Vowel vs Quo
- Vowel vs Sessions
- Vowel vs Signal
- Vowel vs TeamViewer
- Vowel vs Lark
- Vowel vs WeChat
- Vowel vs Chatwork
- Vowel vs Chanty
- Vowel vs Disciple
- Vowel vs Google Chat
- Vowel vs Messenger
- Vowel vs Viber
