Softwr

E-Commerce · head to head

Retail Pro vs Swell Commerce

Retail Pro logo

Retail Pro

E-Commerce

Comprehensive retail management software

From
On request
Rated
-
Swell Commerce logo

Swell Commerce

E-Commerce

Headless ecommerce for modern brands

From
$29/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Retail Pro pricing details not disclosed; requires sales consultation; Swell Commerce each plan carries an annual revenue ceiling, and exceeding it is charged as a percentage of the excess: 2 percent on Starter down to 0.4 percent on Unlimited
  • They diverge on capability: Retail Pro covers Point of sale, Swell Commerce covers Headless architecture.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Retail Pro and Swell Commerce actually diverge.

Attributes where Retail Pro and Swell Commerce differ
AttributeRetail ProSwell Commerce
Starting priceOn request$29/month
Pricing modelUnknownsubscription
PlatformsiOS, Android, WindowsWeb
Founded19882019

Identical on both: free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (E-Commerce).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Retail Pro

  • Point of sale
  • Customer database
  • Employee management
  • Sales analytics
  • Promotion management
  • Multi-store support
  • Reporting tools

Only in Swell Commerce

  • Headless architecture
  • GraphQL & REST APIs
  • Subscription commerce
  • Multi-currency support
  • Custom checkout
  • Webhook integrations
  • Developer-friendly SDK

Both cover

  • Inventory management

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Retail Pro

  • Multi-location retail POS operations (1 to 250+ stores)not Swell Commerce
  • Inventory management with serialized product trackingnot Swell Commerce
  • Customer loyalty programs via AppCard integrationnot Swell Commerce

Swell Commerce

  • Running a headless commerce backend with APIs for a custom storefrontnot Retail Pro
  • Selling subscription products alongside one off purchasesnot Retail Pro
  • Operating multi currency stores from one commerce backendnot Retail Pro

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Retail Pro

  • Pricing details not disclosed; requires sales consultation
  • No published technical requirements or system specifications
  • International deployment requires fiscal/tax compliance consultation per region

Swell Commerce

  • Each plan carries an annual revenue ceiling, and exceeding it is charged as a percentage of the excess: 2 percent on Starter down to 0.4 percent on Unlimited
  • Starter at $29 a month allows 2 admin users and includes only 100,000 API requests and 1GB of storage per month
  • Additional API requests cost $5 per 100,000 and extra storage $5 per GB
  • Role based permissions and developer support are restricted to the Unlimited plan at $2,250 a month
  • Advanced reports and priced currencies require the Standard plan or higher
  • Published prices are the billed yearly rates, so monthly billing costs more

Pricing, plan by plan

Retail Pro

On request

No published plan breakdown. See the Retail Pro review.

Swell Commerce

$29/month
  • Starter$29/month
    • Up to $50K annual revenue
    • Basic reports
    • Up to 5 admin users
  • Basic$79/month
    • Up to $250K annual revenue
    • Most popular plan
    • Basic reports
  • Standard$299/month
    • Up to $1M annual revenue
    • Advanced reports
    • Up to 15 admin users
  • Unlimited$2250/month
    • Up to $5M annual revenue
    • Unlimited scalability and granular control
    • Unlimited admin users

Which should you pick?

Choose Retail Pro if

  • You need point of sale.
  • You work on iOS, Android, Windows.
  • You also want customer database.

Choose Swell Commerce if

  • You need headless architecture.
  • You also want graphql & rest apis.

Questions people ask

Is Retail Pro or Swell Commerce better?
Neither clearly leads. Retail Pro starts at On request and Swell Commerce at $29/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Retail Pro or Swell Commerce?
Retail Pro starts at On request and Swell Commerce at $29/month.
Does Retail Pro or Swell Commerce run on more platforms?
Retail Pro runs on iOS, Android, Windows. Swell Commerce runs on Web.
What is Retail Pro best used for?
Retail Pro is most often used for multi-location retail pos operations (1 to 250+ stores), inventory management with serialized product tracking, customer loyalty programs via appcard integration. Of those, multi-location retail pos operations (1 to 250+ stores) and inventory management with serialized product tracking are not what Swell Commerce is typically brought in for.
What can Retail Pro do that Swell Commerce cannot?
Retail Pro covers Point of sale, Customer database, Employee management, Sales analytics. Swell Commerce covers Headless architecture, GraphQL & REST APIs, Subscription commerce, Multi-currency support. Both handle Inventory management.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Retail Pro: How much does Retail Pro cost?

Retail Pro does not publish specific pricing on its website. The company describes a 'Pay As You Grow' model but directs interested retailers to request a consultation or brochure to obtain actual pricing quotes customized to their business needs.

Source
Swell Commerce: How much does Swell Commerce cost?

Swell offers four tiers starting at $29 per month for Starter and going up to $2,250 per month for Unlimited. Annual billing provides a 25% discount compared to monthly billing. All prices are in USD.

Source
Swell Commerce: What are Swell's revenue tier overages?

Each plan includes a revenue ceiling based on 12-month trailing sales. Starter allows up to $50K with 2% overage, Basic allows $250K with 1.5% overage, Standard allows $1M with 1% overage, and Unlimited allows $5M with 0.4% overage. Custom plans are available for merchants exceeding $10M annually.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads