Softwr

E-Commerce · head to head

commercetools vs Retail Pro

commercetools logo

commercetools

E-Commerce

The Digital Commerce AI Company

From
On request
Rated
-
Retail Pro logo

Retail Pro

E-Commerce

Comprehensive retail management software

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: commercetools no published pricing: customers cannot see costs, tier details, or feature breakdowns before contacting sales; Retail Pro pricing details not disclosed; requires sales consultation
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which commercetools and Retail Pro actually diverge.

Attributes where commercetools and Retail Pro differ
AttributecommercetoolsRetail Pro
Pricing modelquoteUnknown
PlatformsWebiOS, Android, Windows
FoundedUnknown1988

Identical on both: starting price (On request), free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (E-Commerce).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in commercetools

Nothing recorded that Retail Pro does not also cover.

Only in Retail Pro

  • Point of sale
  • Inventory management
  • Customer database
  • Employee management
  • Sales analytics
  • Promotion management
  • Multi-store support
  • Reporting tools

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

commercetools

  • Composable commerce platforms for enterprise retailersnot Retail Pro
  • B2C and B2B commerce API infrastructurenot Retail Pro
  • Multi-region commerce operationsnot Retail Pro

Retail Pro

  • Multi-location retail POS operations (1 to 250+ stores)not commercetools
  • Inventory management with serialized product trackingnot commercetools
  • Customer loyalty programs via AppCard integrationnot commercetools

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

commercetools

  • No published pricing: customers cannot see costs, tier details, or feature breakdowns before contacting sales
  • Order-based pricing opacity: described as 'transparent' but actual fee structure per order is undisclosed
  • Free trial time-gate: 60-day trial does not reveal production pricing for ongoing operations
  • Marketplace distribution unclear: availability on Google Cloud and AWS Marketplaces implies pricing varies by channel without transparency

Retail Pro

  • Pricing details not disclosed; requires sales consultation
  • No published technical requirements or system specifications
  • International deployment requires fiscal/tax compliance consultation per region

Pricing, plan by plan

commercetools

On request

No published plan breakdown. See the commercetools review.

Retail Pro

On request

No published plan breakdown. See the Retail Pro review.

Which should you pick?

Choose commercetools if

Nothing in the data separates commercetools from Retail Pro on the points above - pick on price and on how each one feels to use.

Choose Retail Pro if

  • You need point of sale.
  • You work on iOS, Android, Windows.
  • You also want inventory management.

Questions people ask

Is commercetools or Retail Pro better?
Neither clearly leads. commercetools starts at On request and Retail Pro at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, commercetools or Retail Pro?
commercetools starts at On request and Retail Pro at On request.
Does commercetools or Retail Pro run on more platforms?
commercetools runs on Web. Retail Pro runs on iOS, Android, Windows.
What is commercetools best used for?
commercetools is most often used for composable commerce platforms for enterprise retailers, b2c and b2b commerce api infrastructure, multi-region commerce operations. Of those, composable commerce platforms for enterprise retailers and b2c and b2b commerce api infrastructure are not what Retail Pro is typically brought in for.
What can commercetools do that Retail Pro cannot?
Retail Pro covers Point of sale, Inventory management, Customer database, Employee management.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

commercetools: Does commercetools publish pricing online?

No. Pricing is not published on their website. Customers must contact sales, start a free 60-day trial, or purchase through Google Cloud or AWS Marketplaces to discuss pricing.

Source
Retail Pro: How much does Retail Pro cost?

Retail Pro does not publish specific pricing on its website. The company describes a 'Pay As You Grow' model but directs interested retailers to request a consultation or brochure to obtain actual pricing quotes customized to their business needs.

Source
commercetools: What is the pricing model for commercetools?

commercetools uses order-based pricing (not Gross Merchandise Value dependent) described as 'transparent and growth-friendly' with 'no hidden fees or penalties for scaling,' but exact per-order costs are disclosed only through sales consultation.

Source
commercetools: Does commercetools offer a free trial?

Yes. A 60-day free trial includes full access to production-ready infrastructure, APIs, tools, and preloaded sample B2C/B2B data, with the option to move MVP to production without setup costs.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads