E-Commerce · head to head
Contentful vs Retail Pro
The short version
- Only Contentful has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: Contentful pricing model with content type limits (48) forces full tier upgrades; Retail Pro pricing details not disclosed; requires sales consultation
- They diverge on capability: Contentful covers Content modeling, Retail Pro covers Point of sale.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Contentful and Retail Pro actually diverge.
| Attribute | Contentful | Retail Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free | On request |
| Free tier | Yes | No |
| Platforms | Web, API | iOS, Android, Windows |
| Founded | 2013 | 1988 |
Identical on both: pricing model (Unknown), user rating (Not yet rated), category (E-Commerce).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Contentful
- Content modeling
- RESTful APIs
- GraphQL API
- Webhooks
- Rich text editor
- Asset management
- Multi-language support
- Version control
Only in Retail Pro
- Point of sale
- Inventory management
- Customer database
- Employee management
- Sales analytics
- Promotion management
- Multi-store support
- Reporting tools
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Contentful
- Website content managementnot Retail Pro
- Mobile app contentnot Retail Pro
- E-commerce catalogsnot Retail Pro
- Multi-channel publishingnot Retail Pro
- Digital experiencesnot Retail Pro
Retail Pro
- Multi-location retail POS operations (1 to 250+ stores)not Contentful
- Inventory management with serialized product trackingnot Contentful
- Customer loyalty programs via AppCard integrationnot Contentful
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Contentful
- Pricing model with content type limits (48) forces full tier upgrades
- Limited GraphQL mutations for content management complexity
- Requires significant technical expertise and developer dependency
- Uncertainty following Salesforce acquisition announcement in June 2026
Retail Pro
- Pricing details not disclosed; requires sales consultation
- No published technical requirements or system specifications
- International deployment requires fiscal/tax compliance consultation per region
Pricing, plan by plan
Contentful
Free- FreeFree
- 10 users
- 100K API calls per month
- 1 Space
- Team$489/month
- Higher usage limits
- Additional collaboration features
- Professional support
Retail Pro
On requestNo published plan breakdown. See the Retail Pro review.
Which should you pick?
Choose Contentful if
- You need content modeling.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Web, API.
- You also want restful apis.
Choose Retail Pro if
- You need point of sale.
- You work on iOS, Android, Windows.
- You also want inventory management.
Questions people ask
- Is Contentful or Retail Pro better?
- Neither clearly leads. Contentful starts at Free and Retail Pro at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Contentful or Retail Pro?
- Contentful has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for Contentful and On request for Retail Pro.
- Does Contentful or Retail Pro run on more platforms?
- Contentful runs on Web, API. Retail Pro runs on iOS, Android, Windows.
- Can I use Contentful for free?
- Yes. Contentful has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Retail Pro starts at On request.
- What is Contentful best used for?
- Contentful is most often used for website content management, mobile app content, e-commerce catalogs, multi-channel publishing. Of those, website content management and mobile app content are not what Retail Pro is typically brought in for.
- What can Contentful do that Retail Pro cannot?
- Contentful covers Content modeling, RESTful APIs, GraphQL API, Webhooks. Retail Pro covers Point of sale, Inventory management, Customer database, Employee management.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Contentful: Does Contentful offer a free tier?
Yes, Contentful has a Free tier with 10 users, 100K API calls per month, and support for 1 Space. This is suitable for small projects and proof-of-concept work.
SourceRetail Pro: How much does Retail Pro cost?
Retail Pro does not publish specific pricing on its website. The company describes a 'Pay As You Grow' model but directs interested retailers to request a consultation or brochure to obtain actual pricing quotes customized to their business needs.
SourceContentful: What is the difference between Contentful and traditional CMS platforms?
Contentful is a headless CMS that decouples content from presentation, allowing you to deliver the same content across websites, mobile apps, IoT devices, and voice assistants without duplication.
SourceContentful: How does Contentful handle multi-locale content?
Contentful supports multi-locale content, though multi-locale costs must be negotiated upfront depending on your pricing tier and requirements.
SourceContentful: Does Contentful integrate with e-commerce platforms?
Yes, Contentful partners with Commerce Layer, an API-first commerce platform, to enable enterprise-grade e-commerce experiences alongside headless CMS capabilities.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- Contentful vs Braintree
- Contentful vs Gumroad
- Contentful vs Checkout.com
- Contentful vs eBay
- Contentful vs Authorize.net
- Contentful vs Bluepark
- Contentful vs Loox
- Contentful vs Razorpay
- Contentful vs SamCart
- Contentful vs Stripe
- Contentful vs Algolia
- Contentful vs Swell Commerce
- Contentful vs Wix eCommerce
- Contentful vs WooCommerce
- Contentful vs Zendrop
- Contentful vs Depop
- Contentful vs Mercari
- Contentful vs Poshmark
- Contentful vs Shopkeep
- Contentful vs Square
- Contentful vs BigCommerce
- Contentful vs Magento
- Contentful vs KORONA POS
- Contentful vs Heartland Retail
- Contentful vs Square for Retail
- Contentful vs Oracle Commerce
- Contentful vs Erply
- Contentful vs Inventory Lab
- Contentful vs Toast
- Contentful vs Volusion
- Contentful vs PrestaShop
- Contentful vs Saleor
- Contentful vs Sellfy
- Retail Pro vs Braintree
- Retail Pro vs Gumroad
- Retail Pro vs Checkout.com
- Retail Pro vs eBay
- Retail Pro vs Authorize.net
- Retail Pro vs Bluepark
- Retail Pro vs Loox
- Retail Pro vs Razorpay
- Retail Pro vs SamCart
- Retail Pro vs Stripe
- Retail Pro vs Algolia
- Retail Pro vs Swell Commerce
- Retail Pro vs Wix eCommerce
- Retail Pro vs WooCommerce
- Retail Pro vs Zendrop
- Retail Pro vs Depop
- Retail Pro vs Mercari
- Retail Pro vs Poshmark
- Retail Pro vs Shopkeep
- Retail Pro vs Square
- Retail Pro vs BigCommerce
- Retail Pro vs Magento
- Retail Pro vs KORONA POS
- Retail Pro vs Heartland Retail
- Retail Pro vs Square for Retail
- Retail Pro vs Oracle Commerce
- Retail Pro vs Erply
- Retail Pro vs Inventory Lab
- Retail Pro vs Toast
- Retail Pro vs Volusion
- Retail Pro vs PrestaShop
- Retail Pro vs Saleor
- Retail Pro vs Sellfy


