Softwr

E-Commerce · head to head

Retail Pro vs SamCart

Retail Pro logo

Retail Pro

E-Commerce

Comprehensive retail management software

From
On request
Rated
-
SamCart logo

SamCart

E-Commerce

The number one checkout platform

From
$79/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Retail Pro pricing details not disclosed; requires sales consultation; SamCart no feature differentiation between CORE and PRO tiers, pricing tier based on expected transaction volume only
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Retail Pro and SamCart actually diverge.

Attributes where Retail Pro and SamCart differ
AttributeRetail ProSamCart
Starting priceOn request$79/month
Pricing modelUnknownsubscription
PlatformsiOS, Android, WindowsWeb
Founded1988Unknown

Identical on both: free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (E-Commerce).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Retail Pro

  • Point of sale
  • Inventory management
  • Customer database
  • Employee management
  • Sales analytics
  • Promotion management
  • Multi-store support
  • Reporting tools

Only in SamCart

Nothing recorded that Retail Pro does not also cover.

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Retail Pro

  • Multi-location retail POS operations (1 to 250+ stores)not SamCart
  • Inventory management with serialized product trackingnot SamCart
  • Customer loyalty programs via AppCard integrationnot SamCart

SamCart

  • Increasing average order value through automated order bumps and upsellsnot Retail Pro
  • Recovering failed subscription payments with retry logic and dunning managementnot Retail Pro
  • Generating sales pages, emails, and ads with AI from product descriptionsnot Retail Pro
  • Sending cart abandonment recovery emails without customer re-entrynot Retail Pro
  • Migrating existing customer bases from competing platforms without data lossnot Retail Pro

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Retail Pro

  • Pricing details not disclosed; requires sales consultation
  • No published technical requirements or system specifications
  • International deployment requires fiscal/tax compliance consultation per region

SamCart

  • No feature differentiation between CORE and PRO tiers, pricing tier based on expected transaction volume only
  • Transaction fees of 2.9% plus $0.30 apply to all plans

Pricing, plan by plan

Retail Pro

On request

No published plan breakdown. See the Retail Pro review.

SamCart

$79/month
  • CORE$79/month
    • All features included
  • PRO$199/month
    • All features included

Which should you pick?

Choose Retail Pro if

  • You need point of sale.
  • You work on iOS, Android, Windows.
  • You also want inventory management.

Choose SamCart if

Nothing in the data separates SamCart from Retail Pro on the points above - pick on price and on how each one feels to use.

Questions people ask

Is Retail Pro or SamCart better?
Neither clearly leads. Retail Pro starts at On request and SamCart at $79/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Retail Pro or SamCart?
Retail Pro starts at On request and SamCart at $79/month.
Does Retail Pro or SamCart run on more platforms?
Retail Pro runs on iOS, Android, Windows. SamCart runs on Web.
What is Retail Pro best used for?
Retail Pro is most often used for multi-location retail pos operations (1 to 250+ stores), inventory management with serialized product tracking, customer loyalty programs via appcard integration. Of those, multi-location retail pos operations (1 to 250+ stores) and inventory management with serialized product tracking are not what SamCart is typically brought in for.
What can Retail Pro do that SamCart cannot?
Retail Pro covers Point of sale, Inventory management, Customer database, Employee management.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Retail Pro: How much does Retail Pro cost?

Retail Pro does not publish specific pricing on its website. The company describes a 'Pay As You Grow' model but directs interested retailers to request a consultation or brochure to obtain actual pricing quotes customized to their business needs.

Source
SamCart: How much does SamCart cost?

SamCart offers two subscription tiers: CORE at $79/month and PRO at $199/month. Both plans include all features with no restrictions between tiers.

Source
SamCart: What are SamCart's transaction fees?

SamCart charges a transaction fee of 2.9% plus $0.30 per transaction on all payments processed through the platform.

Source
SamCart: Does SamCart offer a free trial?

Yes, SamCart offers a 7-day free trial available for both the CORE and PRO plans, allowing customers to test the platform before committing to a subscription.

Source
SamCart: Does SamCart offer migration services from other platforms?

Yes, SamCart offers done-for-you migration services for customers switching from Kajabi, ThriveCart, ClickFunnels, Shopify, and Teachable. Specific pricing for migration services is not listed on the main page.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads