Softwr

Healthcare · head to head

eClinicalWorks vs Updox

eClinicalWorks logo

eClinicalWorks

Healthcare

Comprehensive EHR and practice management platform

From
On request
Rated
-
Updox logo

Updox

Healthcare

Healthcare communications platform for eFax, telehealth and patient reminders

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: eClinicalWorks pricing details not disclosed on website; requires sales consultation or demo; Updox no specific dollar amounts listed on pricing page
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which eClinicalWorks and Updox actually diverge.

Attributes where eClinicalWorks and Updox differ
AttributeeClinicalWorksUpdox
Pricing modelUnknownquote
PlatformsWeb, Cloud-basedWeb
Founded1999Unknown

Identical on both: starting price (On request), free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Healthcare).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in eClinicalWorks

  • Electronic Health Records
  • Practice Management
  • Revenue Cycle
  • Patient Portal
  • ePrescribing
  • Telehealth
  • HL7
  • FHIR

Only in Updox

Nothing recorded that eClinicalWorks does not also cover.

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

eClinicalWorks

  • EHR and practice management for multi-specialty medical practicesnot Updox
  • Patient engagement through telehealth (healow) and secure messagingnot Updox
  • Revenue cycle management with 98%+ first-pass acceptance ratenot Updox
  • AI-powered clinical documentation with Sunoh.ai medical scribenot Updox

Updox

  • Healthcare communication and patient engagementnot eClinicalWorks
  • Medical practice fax, telehealth, and SMS messagingnot eClinicalWorks
  • Charge capture and medical billing workflowsnot eClinicalWorks
  • Multi-location healthcare systemsnot eClinicalWorks

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

eClinicalWorks

  • Pricing details not disclosed on website; requires sales consultation or demo
  • No published technical system requirements specified
  • Cloud-based solution requires reliable internet connectivity for clinics

Updox

  • No specific dollar amounts listed on pricing page
  • Actual costs require contacting sales team or scheduling a demo
  • Standard and Enterprise tier limits shown but no pricing transparency

Pricing, plan by plan

eClinicalWorks

On request

No published plan breakdown. See the eClinicalWorks review.

Updox

On request

No published plan breakdown. See the Updox review.

Which should you pick?

Choose eClinicalWorks if

  • You need electronic health records.
  • You work on Web, Cloud-based.
  • You also want practice management.

Choose Updox if

Nothing in the data separates Updox from eClinicalWorks on the points above - pick on price and on how each one feels to use.

Questions people ask

Is eClinicalWorks or Updox better?
Neither clearly leads. eClinicalWorks starts at On request and Updox at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, eClinicalWorks or Updox?
eClinicalWorks starts at On request and Updox at On request.
Does eClinicalWorks or Updox run on more platforms?
eClinicalWorks runs on Web, Cloud-based. Updox runs on Web.
What is eClinicalWorks best used for?
eClinicalWorks is most often used for ehr and practice management for multi-specialty medical practices, patient engagement through telehealth (healow) and secure messaging, revenue cycle management with 98%+ first-pass acceptance rate, ai-powered clinical documentation with sunoh.ai medical scribe. Of those, ehr and practice management for multi-specialty medical practices and patient engagement through telehealth (healow) and secure messaging are not what Updox is typically brought in for.
What can eClinicalWorks do that Updox cannot?
eClinicalWorks covers Electronic Health Records, Practice Management, Revenue Cycle, Patient Portal.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

eClinicalWorks: What does eClinicalWorks EHR cost per provider?

eClinicalWorks EHR costs $449/month per provider with no startup costs. This includes the electronic medical record system, mobile access, patient portal, messaging, document management, prescribing, reporting, and 24/7 support with cloud hosting.

Source
Updox: How much does Updox cost?

Updox pricing is not published on the pricing page. The vendor offers customizable packages and directs inquiries to schedule a demo or contact the sales team for personalized pricing based on practice size and tool requirements.

Source
eClinicalWorks: What is the cost of eClinicalWorks with Practice Management?

eClinicalWorks EHR with Practice Management costs $599/month per provider with no startup costs. This adds practice management functionality and billing implementation services.

Source
Updox: What is Updox's pricing model?

Updox uses a usage-based pricing model with customizable packages. Costs are tailored based on the tools selected (fax pages, telehealth sessions, patient reminders, text messages, broadcast messages) and can scale with practice benchmark data.

Source
eClinicalWorks: What is eClinicalWorks' Revenue Cycle Management pricing?

eClinicalWorks RCM as a Service costs 2.9% of practice collections with no startup costs. It covers claim processing, denial management, appeals, and accounts receivable visibility.

Source
Updox: What limits are included in Updox's Standard tier?

Updox Standard tier includes up to 1,000 fax pages, 75 telehealth sessions, reminders for 500 appointments, 500 text messages, and 500 broadcast messages monthly, with higher limits available in Enterprise tier.

Source
eClinicalWorks: Is there a cost for data migration to eClinicalWorks?

No, eClinicalWorks offers free data migration for practices switching from other EHR systems.

Source
eClinicalWorks: Are training costs included with eClinicalWorks?

Initial training is included for practices with 1-9 providers. Additional fees apply for larger practices.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads