Softwr

Healthcare · head to head

eClinicalWorks vs Fujifilm Synapse

eClinicalWorks logo

eClinicalWorks

Healthcare

Comprehensive EHR and practice management platform

From
On request
Rated
-
Fujifilm Synapse logo

Fujifilm Synapse

Healthcare

Enterprise imaging platform covering PACS, VNA, cardiology and 3D from Fujifilm Healthcare

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: eClinicalWorks pricing details not disclosed on website; requires sales consultation or demo; Fujifilm Synapse pACS, VNA, Cardiovascular and 3D are separately licensed and separately versioned, so an enterprise deployment means four upgrade cycles and four support relationships under one brand rather than one platform upgrade.
  • They diverge on capability: eClinicalWorks covers Electronic Health Records, Fujifilm Synapse covers Synapse PACS.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 1 September 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which eClinicalWorks and Fujifilm Synapse actually diverge.

Attributes where eClinicalWorks and Fujifilm Synapse differ
AttributeeClinicalWorksFujifilm Synapse
Pricing modelUnknownquote
PlatformsWeb, Cloud-basedWeb, Windows, iOS, Android
Founded1999Unknown

Identical on both: starting price (On request), free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Healthcare).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in eClinicalWorks

  • Electronic Health Records
  • Practice Management
  • Revenue Cycle
  • Patient Portal
  • ePrescribing
  • Telehealth
  • HL7
  • FHIR

Only in Fujifilm Synapse

  • Synapse PACS
  • Synapse VNA
  • Synapse Cardiovascular
  • Synapse 3D
  • Synapse Mobility
  • Deconstructed PACS support
  • Cloud services

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

eClinicalWorks

  • EHR and practice management for multi-specialty medical practicesnot Fujifilm Synapse
  • Patient engagement through telehealth (healow) and secure messagingnot Fujifilm Synapse
  • Revenue cycle management with 98%+ first-pass acceptance ratenot Fujifilm Synapse
  • AI-powered clinical documentation with Sunoh.ai medical scribenot Fujifilm Synapse

Fujifilm Synapse

  • A hospital replacing PACS that wants the archive decoupled from its scanner vendor so future modality purchases stay competitivenot eClinicalWorks
  • A health system consolidating radiology, cardiology, ophthalmology and wound images into one vendor neutral archive with a single retention policynot eClinicalWorks
  • An outpatient imaging chain that needs one worklist across multiple sites and radiologists reading remotelynot eClinicalWorks
  • A site pursuing a deconstructed PACS strategy that wants to replace the viewer later without touching the archivenot eClinicalWorks

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

eClinicalWorks

  • Pricing details not disclosed on website; requires sales consultation or demo
  • No published technical system requirements specified
  • Cloud-based solution requires reliable internet connectivity for clinics

Fujifilm Synapse

  • PACS, VNA, Cardiovascular and 3D are separately licensed and separately versioned, so an enterprise deployment means four upgrade cycles and four support relationships under one brand rather than one platform upgrade.
  • Synapse 3D is licensed by concurrent user and sized from average concurrency, which leaves radiologists queued for advanced visualisation at the morning reading peak and forces an unplanned licence purchase.
  • As an independent informatics vendor Fujifilm has less privileged access to proprietary modality data than Philips or Siemens have on their own scanners, so some vendor specific post processing is not available.
  • The vendor neutral archive absorbs non DICOM object types only after per specialty configuration work, and departments such as ophthalmology and dermatology usually need bespoke ingestion projects that were not in the original scope.
  • Migrating a decade of priors from a legacy archive is a large professional services line that Fujifilm quotes separately, and these migrations regularly run past the contracted go live date.

Pricing, plan by plan

eClinicalWorks

On request

No published plan breakdown. See the eClinicalWorks review.

Fujifilm Synapse

On request
  • Synapse$undefined/year
    • Each module licensed separately: PACS, VNA, Cardiovascular, 3D
    • Priced by annual study volume and concurrent diagnostic users
    • Synapse 3D licensed by concurrent user, separate from PACS

Which should you pick?

Choose eClinicalWorks if

  • You need electronic health records.
  • You work on Web, Cloud-based.
  • You also want practice management.

Choose Fujifilm Synapse if

  • You need synapse pacs.
  • You work on Web, Windows, iOS, Android.
  • You also want synapse vna.

Questions people ask

Is eClinicalWorks or Fujifilm Synapse better?
Neither clearly leads. eClinicalWorks starts at On request and Fujifilm Synapse at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, eClinicalWorks or Fujifilm Synapse?
eClinicalWorks starts at On request and Fujifilm Synapse at On request.
Does eClinicalWorks or Fujifilm Synapse run on more platforms?
eClinicalWorks runs on Web, Cloud-based. Fujifilm Synapse runs on Web, Windows, iOS, Android.
What is eClinicalWorks best used for?
eClinicalWorks is most often used for ehr and practice management for multi-specialty medical practices, patient engagement through telehealth (healow) and secure messaging, revenue cycle management with 98%+ first-pass acceptance rate, ai-powered clinical documentation with sunoh.ai medical scribe. Of those, ehr and practice management for multi-specialty medical practices and patient engagement through telehealth (healow) and secure messaging are not what Fujifilm Synapse is typically brought in for.
What can eClinicalWorks do that Fujifilm Synapse cannot?
eClinicalWorks covers Electronic Health Records, Practice Management, Revenue Cycle, Patient Portal. Fujifilm Synapse covers Synapse PACS, Synapse VNA, Synapse Cardiovascular, Synapse 3D.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

eClinicalWorks: What does eClinicalWorks EHR cost per provider?

eClinicalWorks EHR costs $449/month per provider with no startup costs. This includes the electronic medical record system, mobile access, patient portal, messaging, document management, prescribing, reporting, and 24/7 support with cloud hosting.

Source
Fujifilm Synapse: Is Synapse one product or several?

Several. Synapse PACS, Synapse VNA, Synapse Cardiovascular and Synapse 3D are separately licensed products under one brand. Price and scope each one individually.

eClinicalWorks: What is the cost of eClinicalWorks with Practice Management?

eClinicalWorks EHR with Practice Management costs $599/month per provider with no startup costs. This adds practice management functionality and billing implementation services.

Source
Fujifilm Synapse: Do I have to buy Fujifilm scanners?

No. Fujifilm sells Synapse independently of imaging hardware, which is a large part of why it wins competitive PACS replacements at mixed fleet sites.

eClinicalWorks: What is eClinicalWorks' Revenue Cycle Management pricing?

eClinicalWorks RCM as a Service costs 2.9% of practice collections with no startup costs. It covers claim processing, denial management, appeals, and accounts receivable visibility.

Source
Fujifilm Synapse: Does Synapse publish pricing?

No. Pricing is quoted by study volume, concurrent users, module mix and storage capacity.

eClinicalWorks: Is there a cost for data migration to eClinicalWorks?

No, eClinicalWorks offers free data migration for practices switching from other EHR systems.

Source
Fujifilm Synapse: Can Synapse VNA store non radiology images?

Yes, including visible light, ophthalmology and wound photography, but each specialty typically needs its own ingestion and metadata configuration project.

eClinicalWorks: Are training costs included with eClinicalWorks?

Initial training is included for practices with 1-9 providers. Additional fees apply for larger practices.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads