Softwr

Restaurants · head to head

CAKE POS vs Zomato

CAKE POS logo

CAKE POS

Restaurants

Point of sale made for restaurants

From
$69/month
Rated
-
Zomato logo

Zomato

Restaurants

Indian food delivery and restaurant discovery app, now operating under parent brand Eternal

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Zomato has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: CAKE POS pricing model based on 'no bill ever' but actual merchant fees, commission rates, or payment processing costs not disclosed; Zomato restaurant commission of roughly 15 to 25 percent is commonly passed through as higher in-app menu prices, so the delivered price is not simply the counter price plus a fee.
  • They diverge on capability: CAKE POS covers Tableside ordering, Zomato covers Food delivery marketplace.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 1 September 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which CAKE POS and Zomato actually diverge.

Attributes where CAKE POS and Zomato differ
AttributeCAKE POSZomato
Starting price$69/monthFree
Pricing modelsubscriptionFree to download; delivery and platform fees per order, optional paid membership
Free tierNoYes
PlatformsIos, AndroidiOS, Android, Web
Founded2010Unknown

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Restaurants).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in CAKE POS

  • Tableside ordering
  • Online ordering
  • Guest management
  • Menu management
  • Reporting
  • Kitchen display
  • DoorDash
  • Grubhub

Only in Zomato

  • Food delivery marketplace
  • Zomato Gold membership
  • Dine-out table booking
  • Restaurant reviews and ratings
  • Blinkit quick commerce
  • Zomato for Business

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

CAKE POS

  • Point of Salenot Zomato
  • Order Managementnot Zomato
  • Inventory Controlnot Zomato
  • Staff Schedulingnot Zomato

Zomato

  • A diner in an Indian city ordering food delivery or comparing restaurants before eating outnot CAKE POS
  • A frequent orderer weighing whether Zomato Gold discounts outweigh its subscription costnot CAKE POS
  • Someone booking a table at a partner restaurant through the dine-out featurenot CAKE POS
  • A restaurant owner using Zomato for Business to manage online orders and view sales analyticsnot CAKE POS

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

CAKE POS

  • Pricing model based on 'no bill ever' but actual merchant fees, commission rates, or payment processing costs not disclosed
  • Website claims zero upfront cost but does not detail ongoing operational costs
  • Customers must request quote to learn full cost of ownership

Zomato

  • Restaurant commission of roughly 15 to 25 percent is commonly passed through as higher in-app menu prices, so the delivered price is not simply the counter price plus a fee.
  • The company exited most markets outside India in 2019, so international coverage is far narrower than the brand recognition suggests.
  • Zomato Gold benefits and discount depth vary by city and restaurant partner, and heavy users report the value of the membership eroding over time as terms are revised.
  • Delivery riders are engaged on a gig basis with pay tied to order volume and distance, a model that has drawn wage and working-condition criticism in India.
  • The 2024 rebrand of the parent company to Eternal, alongside the Blinkit and Hyperpure businesses, means Zomato the consumer app is now one product line inside a multi-business group rather than a standalone company, which affects how disclosures and strategy are reported.

Pricing, plan by plan

CAKE POS

$69/month
  • Essentials$69/month
    • POS
    • Online ordering
  • Professional$125/month
    • Guest management
    • Advanced features

Zomato

Free
  • Pay per orderFree
    • Delivery fee scaling with distance and demand
    • Platform fee on order total
    • Restaurant menu prices often marked up versus dine-in
  • Zomato Gold$299/month
    • Discounts and free-item offers at partner restaurants
    • Priority service and reduced wait times at partner dine-in venues
    • Delivery perks vary by plan tier and market

Which should you pick?

Choose CAKE POS if

  • You need tableside ordering.
  • You work on Ios, Android.
  • You also want online ordering.

Choose Zomato if

  • You need food delivery marketplace.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on iOS, Android, Web.
  • You also want zomato gold membership.

Questions people ask

Is CAKE POS or Zomato better?
Neither clearly leads. CAKE POS starts at $69/month and Zomato at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, CAKE POS or Zomato?
Zomato has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $69/month for CAKE POS and Free for Zomato.
Does CAKE POS or Zomato run on more platforms?
CAKE POS runs on Ios, Android. Zomato runs on iOS, Android, Web.
Can I use Zomato for free?
Yes. Zomato has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. CAKE POS starts at $69/month.
What is CAKE POS best used for?
CAKE POS is most often used for point of sale, order management, inventory control, staff scheduling. Of those, point of sale and order management are not what Zomato is typically brought in for.
What can CAKE POS do that Zomato cannot?
CAKE POS covers Tableside ordering, Online ordering, Guest management, Menu management. Zomato covers Food delivery marketplace, Zomato Gold membership, Dine-out table booking, Restaurant reviews and ratings.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

CAKE POS: Does CAKE POS have an upfront cost?

CAKE advertises 'no bill ever' and requires no down payment for POS terminals and payment processing. However, specific ongoing merchant fees or transaction costs are not disclosed.

Source
Zomato: Is Zomato only available in India?

Its core market is India; it exited most other countries in 2019 and has minimal presence elsewhere.

CAKE POS: What is included in CAKE's pricing plans?

CAKE offers three tiers (Core, Growth, Enterprise) where Core includes POS terminal with payment processing and reporting. Growth and Enterprise add features like white-glove installation, business insurance, and partner integrations, but exact pricing is not published.

Source
Zomato: What did Zomato rename to?

The parent company renamed itself Eternal Limited in 2024; the Zomato consumer app kept its own name.

CAKE POS: How can I find out what CAKE POS actually costs?

CAKE does not publish pricing online. You must request a quote directly through the website to learn specific costs for your restaurant's needs.

Source
Zomato: Does Zomato Gold apply to delivery or dine-in or both?

Both, though the specific discounts and which restaurants participate vary by plan tier and city.

Share

Related pages

Other head to heads