Proposals · head to head
Indy vs RFPIO

Indy
Proposals
Freelance workflow suite covering proposals, contracts, invoices and time tracking with a usable free tier
- From
- Free
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Only Indy has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: Indy the free tier caps documents per month, and an active freelancer passes those caps quickly enough that the free plan is a trial in practice rather than a permanent option.; RFPIO pricing not publicly disclosed; three tiers (Emerging, Growth, Enterprise) but no published costs
- They diverge on capability: Indy covers Contract library, RFPIO covers Answer library.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 31 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Indy and RFPIO actually diverge.
Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Proposals).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Indy
- Contract library
- Proposals
- Invoicing
- Time tracking
- Task and calendar
- Client portal
- Free tier
Only in RFPIO
- Answer library
- AI automation
- Import/export tools
- Collaboration
- Analytics
- Salesforce
- Slack
- Microsoft Teams
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Indy
- A new freelancer who needs a real signed contract before there is revenue to fund a subscriptionnot RFPIO
- Testing whether an all in one freelance bundle suits your workflow before committing money to onenot RFPIO
- Part time or side project freelancing with low monthly document volume that stays inside the free capsnot RFPIO
- Replacing an unsigned emailed quote with a proposal that converts into a contract and an invoicenot RFPIO
RFPIO
- RFP response automation with AI-powered content matchingnot Indy
- Security questionnaire and DDQ managementnot Indy
- Proposal and bid management for enterprise sales teamsnot Indy
- Content discovery and knowledge management across 8.7M+ Q&A pairsnot Indy
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Indy
- The free tier caps documents per month, and an active freelancer passes those caps quickly enough that the free plan is a trial in practice rather than a permanent option.
- Project management and task tracking are shallow, so anyone running several concurrent projects will keep a separate tool and lose the single system benefit.
- Reporting on income, utilisation and profitability is thin next to a dedicated accounting or time tracking product.
- Payments are processed by a third party gateway, so the card fee applies on top of the subscription and materially changes the cost per invoice on small jobs.
- As with every bundle, leaving means separating proposals, contracts, time and invoices out of one export, which is harder than replacing a single purpose tool.
RFPIO
- Pricing not publicly disclosed; three tiers (Emerging, Growth, Enterprise) but no published costs
- Website redirect from rfpio.com to Responsive.io indicates company rebranding or acquisition
- Advanced features like eSignature and LookUp only available in Growth tier and above
Pricing, plan by plan
Indy
Free- Indy$undefined/year
- Free tier with monthly document limits
- Proposals, contracts and invoices
- Time tracking and tasks
RFPIO
$10000/year- Emerging Edition$10000/year
- Unlimited projects
- Unlimited responses
- Growth Edition$null/year
- Custom pricing
- Contact sales required
- Enterprise Edition$null/year
- Custom pricing
- Contact sales required
Which should you pick?
Choose Indy if
- You need contract library.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Web, iOS, Android.
- You also want proposals.
Questions people ask
- Is Indy or RFPIO better?
- Neither clearly leads. Indy starts at Free and RFPIO at $10000/year, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Indy or RFPIO?
- Indy has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for Indy and $10000/year for RFPIO.
- Does Indy or RFPIO run on more platforms?
- Indy runs on Web, iOS, Android. RFPIO runs on Web.
- Can I use Indy for free?
- Yes. Indy has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. RFPIO starts at $10000/year.
- What is Indy best used for?
- Indy is most often used for a new freelancer who needs a real signed contract before there is revenue to fund a subscription, testing whether an all in one freelance bundle suits your workflow before committing money to one, part time or side project freelancing with low monthly document volume that stays inside the free caps, replacing an unsigned emailed quote with a proposal that converts into a contract and an invoice. Of those, a new freelancer who needs a real signed contract before there is revenue to fund a subscription and testing whether an all in one freelance bundle suits your workflow before committing money to one are not what RFPIO is typically brought in for.
- What can Indy do that RFPIO cannot?
- Indy covers Contract library, Proposals, Invoicing, Time tracking. RFPIO covers Answer library, AI automation, Import/export tools, Collaboration.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Indy: Is the free tier actually usable?
Yes, for real signed contracts and invoices, but it caps documents per month and active freelancers hit that fairly quickly.
RFPIO: How much does Rfpio cost?
Emerging Edition starts at $10,000 per year. Growth and Enterprise editions require contacting sales for custom quotes based on organizational usage.
SourceIndy: Does it take a percentage of invoices?
The payment gateway charges its standard card fee. That is separate from the subscription and should be modelled per invoice.
RFPIO: Is there a free trial or freemium option?
No freemium plan is mentioned. Pricing begins at the Emerging Edition tier with annual billing.
SourceIndy: Can it manage several concurrent projects?
Only lightly. The task and project features are the weakest part of the product.
RFPIO: What does Rfpio's pricing structure include?
Pricing includes a platform fee, user licenses as add-ons, and optional add-on services. Contracts are annual with mid-contract upgrades available.
SourceIndy: Are the contracts legally sound?
They are standard freelance templates with editable clauses. They are a starting point, not legal advice for your jurisdiction.
Indy: Who is it wrong for?
Agencies, anyone with subcontractors, and freelancers who need real project management or detailed profitability reporting.
Related pages
Other head to heads
- Indy vs Dubsado
- Indy vs Moxie
- Indy vs 17hats
- Indy vs HoneyBook
- Indy vs Paperbell
- Indy vs Nusii
- Indy vs Bidsketch
- Indy vs Prospero
- Indy vs GetAccept
- Indy vs HelloSign
- Indy vs Microsoft Dynamics 365
- Indy vs Responsive
- Indy vs Quoter
- Indy vs Subskribe
- Indy vs Prospect
- Indy vs Loopio
- Indy vs Nutshell
- Indy vs Cone
- RFPIO vs Dubsado
- RFPIO vs Moxie
- RFPIO vs 17hats
- RFPIO vs HoneyBook
- RFPIO vs Paperbell
- RFPIO vs Nusii
- RFPIO vs Bidsketch
- RFPIO vs Prospero
- RFPIO vs GetAccept
- RFPIO vs HelloSign
- RFPIO vs Microsoft Dynamics 365
- RFPIO vs Responsive
- RFPIO vs Quoter
- RFPIO vs Subskribe
- RFPIO vs Prospect
- RFPIO vs Loopio
- RFPIO vs Nutshell
- RFPIO vs Cone

