Softwr

Communication · head to head

Gupshup vs Mattermost

Gupshup logo

Gupshup

Communication

Conversational messaging and CPaaS with a flat platform fee stacked on top of Meta per-message rates

From
$0.001/message
Rated
-
Mattermost logo

Mattermost

Communication

Channel-centric collaboration for secure workflows

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Gupshup the Gupshup platform fee of about 0.001 dollars per message is negligible next to Meta pass-through rates, so comparing providers on their own fee is misleading, and the country and category mix of your traffic determines almost the entire bill.; Mattermost no published pricing on public website; requires sales contact for all tiers
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 31 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Gupshup and Mattermost actually diverge.

Attributes where Gupshup and Mattermost differ
AttributeGupshupMattermost
Starting price$0.001/messageOn request
Pricing modelPer message sentquote
PlatformsWeb, APIWeb

Identical on both: free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Communication).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Gupshup

  • WhatsApp Business API
  • Flat platform fee
  • RCS messaging
  • SMS and voice
  • Bot Studio
  • Agent inbox
  • Campaign manager
  • Emerging market reach

Only in Mattermost

Nothing recorded that Gupshup does not also cover.

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Gupshup

  • An e-commerce brand sending order and delivery notifications over WhatsApp to customers across India and Southeast Asianot Mattermost
  • A bank or fintech running one-time passcodes and transactional alerts with fallback from WhatsApp to SMSnot Mattermost
  • A company deploying a WhatsApp chatbot for tier one support with handover to human agents for anything it cannot resolvenot Mattermost
  • A marketing team running WhatsApp template campaigns to opted-in lists in markets where email engagement is lownot Mattermost

Mattermost

  • Team messaging and collaborationnot Gupshup
  • Secure enterprise communicationnot Gupshup
  • On-premise or self-hosted deploymentnot Gupshup

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Gupshup

  • The Gupshup platform fee of about 0.001 dollars per message is negligible next to Meta pass-through rates, so comparing providers on their own fee is misleading, and the country and category mix of your traffic determines almost the entire bill.
  • Gupshup publishes no single flat rate for a full send, so accurate cost modelling requires you to build a country by country and category by category forecast before any provider comparison is meaningful.
  • Meta moved from conversation-based to per message billing in July 2025, which materially changed the economics of high-frequency messaging, and any budget or ROI model built on the old conversation pricing is now wrong.
  • Template approval sits with Meta rather than Gupshup, so rejections and category reclassifications can stall a campaign regardless of provider, and support quality on chasing them is a common complaint.
  • The product surface is broad, spanning CPaaS APIs, bot building and campaign tooling, and the non-API tools are less refined than dedicated conversational marketing platforms, so many buyers use Gupshup purely as a pipe.

Mattermost

  • No published pricing on public website; requires sales contact for all tiers
  • Three tiers (Professional, Enterprise, Enterprise Advanced) have feature differences but no cost transparency
  • User scaling caps differ between tiers without public price justification

Pricing, plan by plan

Gupshup

$0.001/message
  • Messaging$0.001/message
    • About 0.001 USD Gupshup platform fee per outgoing template message
    • Same fee on outgoing and incoming session messages
    • Meta per-message charges passed through on top, varying by country and category

Mattermost

On request

No published plan breakdown. See the Mattermost review.

Which should you pick?

Choose Gupshup if

  • You need whatsapp business api.
  • You work on Web, API.
  • You also want flat platform fee.

Choose Mattermost if

Nothing in the data separates Mattermost from Gupshup on the points above - pick on price and on how each one feels to use.

Questions people ask

Is Gupshup or Mattermost better?
Neither clearly leads. Gupshup starts at $0.001/message and Mattermost at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Gupshup or Mattermost?
Gupshup starts at $0.001/message and Mattermost at On request.
Does Gupshup or Mattermost run on more platforms?
Gupshup runs on Web, API. Mattermost runs on Web.
What is Gupshup best used for?
Gupshup is most often used for an e-commerce brand sending order and delivery notifications over whatsapp to customers across india and southeast asia, a bank or fintech running one-time passcodes and transactional alerts with fallback from whatsapp to sms, a company deploying a whatsapp chatbot for tier one support with handover to human agents for anything it cannot resolve, a marketing team running whatsapp template campaigns to opted-in lists in markets where email engagement is low. Of those, an e-commerce brand sending order and delivery notifications over whatsapp to customers across india and southeast asia and a bank or fintech running one-time passcodes and transactional alerts with fallback from whatsapp to sms are not what Mattermost is typically brought in for.
What can Gupshup do that Mattermost cannot?
Gupshup covers WhatsApp Business API, Flat platform fee, RCS messaging, SMS and voice.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Gupshup: What does Gupshup charge?

About 0.001 USD per outgoing template message and per session message in each direction, plus roughly 0.0001 USD per second on voice. Meta per-message charges are passed through on top.

Mattermost: What user limits apply to each Mattermost pricing tier?

Professional tier supports maximum 250 users. Enterprise scales to 50,000 concurrent users. Enterprise Advanced scales to 200,000 concurrent users. Exact per-user costs not stated.

Source
Gupshup: Is Gupshup cheaper than other WhatsApp providers?

On its own platform fee it is competitive, but that fee is a small fraction of the total. Meta pass-through rates dominate, so provider choice rarely changes your bill much.

Mattermost: What support response times are included with each plan?

Professional includes community support plus business hours professional support with next business day response. Enterprise includes 24x7 support with 4-hour response time. Enterprise Advanced includes 24x7 with Premier Support option.

Source
Gupshup: Did WhatsApp pricing change?

Yes. Meta retired per 24-hour conversation pricing on 1 July 2025 and moved to per message billing, and Gupshup followed.

Mattermost: How much does Mattermost cost for teams under 250 users?

Pricing for Professional tier with user counts under 250 is not disclosed publicly. Contact Mattermost sales for specific quotes.

Source
Gupshup: Is it only for India?

No, but its strongest carrier and operator reach is in India, Southeast Asia, the Middle East, Africa and Latin America.

Share

Related pages

Other head to heads