Healthcare · head to head
Doximity vs OpenClinica

Doximity
Healthcare
Social network and collaboration platform for physicians
- From
- Free
- Rated
- -

OpenClinica
Healthcare
Clinical trial EDC with a genuinely open source community edition alongside a quoted commercial platform
- From
- On request
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Only Doximity has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: Doximity free tier limited to verified US clinicians only; no international access without premium; OpenClinica the free community edition is a different and older product line from the commercial platform, so evaluating the open source build tells you little about what the paid product actually does.
- They diverge on capability: Doximity covers Secure Messaging, OpenClinica covers Open source community edition.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 31 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Doximity and OpenClinica actually diverge.
| Attribute | Doximity | OpenClinica |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free | On request |
| Pricing model | freemium | quote |
| Free tier | Yes | No |
| Platforms | Web, iOS, Android | Web, Self-hosted, iOS, Android |
| Founded | 2010 | Unknown |
Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Healthcare).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Doximity
- Secure Messaging
- Professional Network
- Telehealth
- Job Board
- CME Access
- Collaboration Tools
- EHR Systems
- HIPAA
Only in OpenClinica
- Open source community edition
- Electronic data capture
- eConsent
- eCOA and ePRO
- Randomisation
- EHR-to-EDC
- Audit trail
- Reporting and analytics
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Doximity
- Physician professional network and communicationnot OpenClinica
- AI-powered medical reference and clinical decision supportnot OpenClinica
- Patient outreach and documentation automationnot OpenClinica
OpenClinica
- An academic coordinating centre running investigator-initiated trials that needs Part 11 compliant capture without an enterprise eClinical budgetnot Doximity
- A registry or observational cohort study collecting structured data across many sites over yearsnot Doximity
- A small device sponsor that needs eConsent and ePRO in the same system as its case report formsnot Doximity
- An informatics group that wants to self-host the open source edition for a non-regulated internal studynot Doximity
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Doximity
- Free tier limited to verified US clinicians only; no international access without premium
- AI Scribe and Dialer features accessible only to US-based healthcare professionals
- Premium tier pricing not disclosed on main site
OpenClinica
- The free community edition is a different and older product line from the commercial platform, so evaluating the open source build tells you little about what the paid product actually does.
- The vendor provides no support or services at all for the community edition, which means outages, patching, database upgrades and validation documentation are entirely your problem.
- Commercial pricing is not published, so you cannot benchmark it against alternatives without entering a sales process, and third-party figures around USD 1,000 a month are indicative rather than contractual.
- Study build is skilled work: complex edit checks, randomisation schemes and integrations usually mean paying for vendor or consultant configuration services on top of the licence, which is a frequently underestimated line in the budget.
- As a smaller vendor than the large eClinical suites it has a thinner partner and consultant ecosystem, so finding experienced build staff or a CRO already fluent in the platform is harder than with the market incumbents.
Pricing, plan by plan
Doximity
FreeNo published plan breakdown. See the Doximity review.
OpenClinica
On request- Community Edition$undefined/year
- Free and open source under the LGPL
- Self-hosted, on the older 3.x line
- No vendor support or services of any kind
- OpenClinica Enterprise$undefined/year
- Pricing only through a sales process
- Hosted and validated instance
- EDC, eConsent, eCOA, randomisation and analytics modules
Which should you pick?
Choose Doximity if
- You need secure messaging.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Web, iOS, Android.
- You also want professional network.
Choose OpenClinica if
- You need open source community edition.
- You work on Web, Self-hosted, iOS, Android.
- You also want electronic data capture.
Questions people ask
- Is Doximity or OpenClinica better?
- Neither clearly leads. Doximity starts at Free and OpenClinica at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Doximity or OpenClinica?
- Doximity has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for Doximity and On request for OpenClinica.
- Does Doximity or OpenClinica run on more platforms?
- Doximity runs on Web, iOS, Android. OpenClinica runs on Web, Self-hosted, iOS, Android.
- Can I use Doximity for free?
- Yes. Doximity has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. OpenClinica starts at On request.
- What is Doximity best used for?
- Doximity is most often used for physician professional network and communication, ai-powered medical reference and clinical decision support, patient outreach and documentation automation. Of those, physician professional network and communication and ai-powered medical reference and clinical decision support are not what OpenClinica is typically brought in for.
- What can Doximity do that OpenClinica cannot?
- Doximity covers Secure Messaging, Professional Network, Telehealth, Job Board. OpenClinica covers Open source community edition, Electronic data capture, eConsent, eCOA and ePRO.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Doximity: Is Doximity free?
Doximity is free for verified US clinicians. Specific subscription tiers and paid plan pricing are not disclosed on their website.
SourceOpenClinica: Is OpenClinica free?
There is a genuinely free, LGPL licensed community edition you host yourself with no vendor support. The commercial platform with eConsent, eCOA and a validated hosted instance is quoted and paid.
OpenClinica: Is the open source version still maintained?
Yes, releases on the 3.x line continued through 2025, but it is a separate and older architecture from the commercial product.
OpenClinica: Does it meet 21 CFR Part 11?
The commercial hosted platform is built for Part 11 and GCP compliance. If you self-host the community edition, compliance and validation are entirely your responsibility.
OpenClinica: What does the commercial version cost?
Not published. Third-party listings suggest enterprise arrangements from around USD 1,000 per month, but real cost depends on study count, subjects, modules and build services.
Related pages
More on OpenClinica
Other head to heads
- Doximity vs Amwell
- Doximity vs Epic Systems
- Doximity vs Cerner
- Doximity vs Athenahealth
- Doximity vs Doctor on Demand
- Doximity vs Teladoc Health
- Doximity vs MDLive
- Doximity vs Doxy.me
- Doximity vs Updox
- Doximity vs Sectra
- Doximity vs Lyra Health
- Doximity vs Ambra Health
- Doximity vs ChiroTouch
- Doximity vs Doctolib
- Doximity vs eClinicalWorks
- Doximity vs Cerner PowerChart
- Doximity vs eClinicalWorks Prime
- Doximity vs Cerner PowerWorks
- Doximity vs GNU Health
- Doximity vs Signant Health
- Doximity vs Oracle Clinical One
- Doximity vs OpenMRS
- Doximity vs DHIS2
- Doximity vs Bahmni
- Doximity vs Open Dental
- Doximity vs Beckman Coulter DxONE
- Doximity vs PioneerRx
- Doximity vs SilverCloud by Amwell
- Doximity vs Epic MyChart
- Doximity vs Flo
- Doximity vs Gleamer
- Doximity vs Ibex Medical Analytics
- Doximity vs Included Health
- Doximity vs Rx30
- OpenClinica vs Amwell
- OpenClinica vs Epic Systems
- OpenClinica vs Cerner
- OpenClinica vs Athenahealth
- OpenClinica vs Doctor on Demand
- OpenClinica vs Teladoc Health
- OpenClinica vs MDLive
- OpenClinica vs Doxy.me
- OpenClinica vs Updox
- OpenClinica vs Sectra
- OpenClinica vs Lyra Health
- OpenClinica vs Ambra Health
- OpenClinica vs ChiroTouch
- OpenClinica vs Doctolib
- OpenClinica vs eClinicalWorks
- OpenClinica vs Cerner PowerChart
- OpenClinica vs eClinicalWorks Prime
- OpenClinica vs Cerner PowerWorks
- OpenClinica vs GNU Health
- OpenClinica vs Signant Health
- OpenClinica vs Oracle Clinical One
- OpenClinica vs OpenMRS
- OpenClinica vs DHIS2
- OpenClinica vs Bahmni
- OpenClinica vs Open Dental
- OpenClinica vs Beckman Coulter DxONE
- OpenClinica vs PioneerRx
- OpenClinica vs SilverCloud by Amwell
- OpenClinica vs Epic MyChart
- OpenClinica vs Flo
- OpenClinica vs Gleamer
- OpenClinica vs Ibex Medical Analytics
- OpenClinica vs Included Health
- OpenClinica vs Rx30
