Softwr

Healthcare · head to head

Doctolib vs Doximity

Doctolib logo

Doctolib

Healthcare

Patient booking and practice management for European healthcare professionals

From
On request
Rated
-
Doximity logo

Doximity

Healthcare

Social network and collaboration platform for physicians

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Doximity has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Doctolib availability is limited to France, Germany and Italy, so a clinic group operating outside those markets cannot use it at all and a multinational provider cannot standardise on one booking system.; Doximity free tier limited to verified US clinicians only; no international access without premium
  • They diverge on capability: Doctolib covers Patient booking marketplace, Doximity covers Secure Messaging.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 31 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Doctolib and Doximity actually diverge.

Attributes where Doctolib and Doximity differ
AttributeDoctolibDoximity
Starting priceOn requestFree
Pricing modelquotefreemium
Free tierNoYes
FoundedUnknown2010

Identical on both: platforms (Web, iOS, Android), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Healthcare).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Doctolib

  • Patient booking marketplace
  • Practice agenda
  • Teleconsultation
  • Automated reminders
  • Electronic patient record
  • Carte Vitale and reimbursement
  • e-Prescription
  • Doctolib Team

Only in Doximity

  • Secure Messaging
  • Professional Network
  • Telehealth
  • Job Board
  • CME Access
  • Collaboration Tools
  • EHR Systems
  • HIPAA

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Doctolib

  • A French general practice that wants new patients to find and book it without a phone call, and needs Carte Vitale billing in the same toolnot Doximity
  • A German physiotherapy clinic replacing a paper diary and cutting no-shows through automated SMS remindersnot Doximity
  • A dental group with several sites that needs one shared agenda and per-site patient routingnot Doximity
  • A specialist starting a new practice in Paris or Berlin who has no existing patient list and needs the directory as a source of referralsnot Doximity

Doximity

  • Physician professional network and communicationnot Doctolib
  • AI-powered medical reference and clinical decision supportnot Doctolib
  • Patient outreach and documentation automationnot Doctolib

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Doctolib

  • Availability is limited to France, Germany and Italy, so a clinic group operating outside those markets cannot use it at all and a multinational provider cannot standardise on one booking system.
  • No pricing is published anywhere on the site; every plan routes to a sales form, so a practice cannot budget or compare against alternatives without giving up contact details and sitting through a call.
  • Contracts run on a twelve month commitment per practitioner, so a practice that hires a locum or loses a partner mid-term keeps paying for the seat.
  • The commercial value is the marketplace listing rather than the software, which means leaving Doctolib costs a practice its inbound patient discovery, not just a data export; that asymmetry weakens the practice in every renewal negotiation.
  • Clinical depth is thinner than a dedicated electronic health record, so practices with complex documentation, coding or research requirements often run Doctolib for scheduling alongside a second clinical system and reconcile the two by hand.

Doximity

  • Free tier limited to verified US clinicians only; no international access without premium
  • AI Scribe and Dialer features accessible only to US-based healthcare professionals
  • Premium tier pricing not disclosed on main site

Pricing, plan by plan

Doctolib

On request
  • Doctolib Pro$undefined/month
    • Marketplace listing and patient booking
    • Practice agenda
    • SMS and email reminders

Doximity

Free

No published plan breakdown. See the Doximity review.

Which should you pick?

Choose Doctolib if

  • You need patient booking marketplace.
  • You work on Web, iOS, Android.
  • You also want practice agenda.

Choose Doximity if

  • You need secure messaging.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Web, iOS, Android.
  • You also want professional network.

Questions people ask

Is Doctolib or Doximity better?
Neither clearly leads. Doctolib starts at On request and Doximity at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Doctolib or Doximity?
Doximity has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at On request for Doctolib and Free for Doximity.
Does Doctolib or Doximity run on more platforms?
Both run on Web, iOS, Android, so platform support will not decide this one for you.
Can I use Doximity for free?
Yes. Doximity has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Doctolib starts at On request.
What is Doctolib best used for?
Doctolib is most often used for a french general practice that wants new patients to find and book it without a phone call, and needs carte vitale billing in the same tool, a german physiotherapy clinic replacing a paper diary and cutting no-shows through automated sms reminders, a dental group with several sites that needs one shared agenda and per-site patient routing, a specialist starting a new practice in paris or berlin who has no existing patient list and needs the directory as a source of referrals. Of those, a french general practice that wants new patients to find and book it without a phone call, and needs carte vitale billing in the same tool and a german physiotherapy clinic replacing a paper diary and cutting no-shows through automated sms reminders are not what Doximity is typically brought in for.
What can Doctolib do that Doximity cannot?
Doctolib covers Patient booking marketplace, Practice agenda, Teleconsultation, Automated reminders. Doximity covers Secure Messaging, Professional Network, Telehealth, Job Board.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Doctolib: Can I use Doctolib in the UK or the US?

No. Doctolib operates in France, Germany and Italy only. There is no English-market offering.

Doximity: Is Doximity free?

Doximity is free for verified US clinicians. Specific subscription tiers and paid plan pricing are not disclosed on their website.

Source
Doctolib: Does Doctolib publish its prices?

No. Every tier on the site routes to a contact form, and quotes are per practitioner per month with a twelve month commitment.

Doctolib: Is Doctolib a full electronic health record?

Not really. It covers consultation notes, documents and prescribing, but practices with heavy clinical documentation needs usually keep a separate EHR.

Doctolib: What happens to my patient bookings if I leave?

You keep your patient data on export, but you lose the public listing, which is where a large share of new bookings originate.

Share

Related pages

Other head to heads