Softwr

Healthcare · head to head

Doximity vs MDLive

Doximity logo

Doximity

Healthcare

Social network and collaboration platform for physicians

From
Free
Rated
-
MDLive logo

MDLive

Healthcare

On-demand telehealth and virtual doctor visits

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Doximity free tier limited to verified US clinicians only; no international access without premium; MDLive wide price ranges ($0-89, $0-179, $0-299) indicate insurance-dependent costs with minimal baseline transparency
  • They diverge on capability: Doximity covers Secure Messaging, MDLive covers Video Consultations.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Doximity and MDLive actually diverge.

Attributes where Doximity and MDLive differ
AttributeDoximityMDLive
Pricing modelfreemiumusage-based
PlatformsWeb, iOS, AndroidWeb, Mobile
Founded20102002

Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Healthcare).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Doximity

  • Secure Messaging
  • Professional Network
  • Telehealth
  • Job Board
  • CME Access
  • Collaboration Tools
  • SOC2

Only in MDLive

  • Video Consultations
  • Mental Health Services
  • Psychiatry
  • Prescription Services
  • Urgent Care
  • Insurance

Both cover

  • EHR Systems
  • HIPAA
  • Cloud deployment
  • Web support
  • Mobile support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Doximity

  • Physician professional network and communicationnot MDLive
  • AI-powered medical reference and clinical decision supportnot MDLive
  • Patient outreach and documentation automationnot MDLive

MDLive

  • Telemedicine urgent care visitsnot Doximity
  • Mental health counseling and psychiatrynot Doximity
  • Dermatology consultationsnot Doximity
  • Primary care wellness screeningsnot Doximity

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Doximity

  • Free tier limited to verified US clinicians only; no international access without premium
  • AI Scribe and Dialer features accessible only to US-based healthcare professionals
  • Premium tier pricing not disclosed on main site

MDLive

  • Wide price ranges ($0-89, $0-179, $0-299) indicate insurance-dependent costs with minimal baseline transparency
  • Cancellation fees up to $50 for mental health appointments apply within 24 hours
  • Pricing varies substantially based on insurance coverage with no guaranteed maximum out-of-pocket

Pricing, plan by plan

Doximity

Free

No published plan breakdown. See the Doximity review.

MDLive

Free
  • Urgent Care$null/visit
    • $0-89 per visit with insurance
    • Immediate care access
  • Primary CareFree
    • $0 wellness screenings for eligible insurance plans
    • Upfront pricing shown before appointment
  • Mental Health Talk Therapy$null/visit
    • $0-179 initial appointments
    • $140 follow-up sessions before insurance
  • Mental Health Psychiatry$null/visit
    • $0-299 initial appointments
    • $159 follow-up sessions before insurance

Which should you pick?

Choose Doximity if

  • You need secure messaging.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Web, iOS, Android.
  • You also want professional network.

Choose MDLive if

  • You need video consultations.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Web, Mobile.
  • You also want mental health services.

Questions people ask

Is Doximity or MDLive better?
Neither clearly leads. Doximity starts at Free and MDLive at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Doximity or MDLive?
Doximity starts at Free and MDLive at Free.
Does Doximity or MDLive run on more platforms?
Doximity runs on Web, iOS, Android. MDLive runs on Web, Mobile.
Can I use Doximity for free?
Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
What is Doximity best used for?
Doximity is most often used for physician professional network and communication, ai-powered medical reference and clinical decision support, patient outreach and documentation automation. Of those, physician professional network and communication and ai-powered medical reference and clinical decision support are not what MDLive is typically brought in for.
What can Doximity do that MDLive cannot?
Doximity covers Secure Messaging, Professional Network, Telehealth, Job Board. MDLive covers Video Consultations, Mental Health Services, Psychiatry, Prescription Services. Both handle EHR Systems, HIPAA, Cloud deployment, Web support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Doximity: Is Doximity free?

Doximity is free for verified US clinicians. Specific subscription tiers and paid plan pricing are not disclosed on their website.

Source
MDLive: What is the cost of an urgent care visit through MD Live?

Urgent care visits cost $0-89 per visit depending on insurance coverage. Pricing is shown upfront before confirming appointment. Most major credit and debit cards accepted for uninsured patients.

Source
MDLive: What cancellation fees apply if I need to reschedule?

Wellness visits incur $25 cancellation fee if cancelled within 24 hours. Routine care $25 if cancelled within 2 hours. Mental health $50 if cancelled within 24 hours. Medicaid and Medicare members exempt from fees.

Source
MDLive: Are follow-up mental health sessions cheaper than initial appointments?

Talk therapy follow-ups are $140 before insurance (versus $0-179 for initial). Psychiatry follow-ups are $159 before insurance (versus $0-299 for initial). Insurance copays may apply on top of these base rates.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads