Softwr

Restaurants · head to head

CAKE POS vs Compeat

CAKE POS logo

CAKE POS

Restaurants

Point of sale made for restaurants

From
$69/month
Rated
-
Compeat logo

Compeat

Restaurants

Restaurant back office and accounting

From
$350/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: CAKE POS pricing model based on 'no bill ever' but actual merchant fees, commission rates, or payment processing costs not disclosed; Compeat the Internet Archive's capture of Compeat's homepage on 9 January 2020 confirmed the restaurant management suite is sold only via 'Request Demo', bundling distinct modules named Accounting, Inventory, Intelligence, Logbook, Labor, Schedule, Compeat Pay, Compeat Advantage and Ctuit Radar, with no price figure published for any.
  • They diverge on capability: CAKE POS covers Tableside ordering, Compeat covers Accounting.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which CAKE POS and Compeat actually diverge.

Attributes where CAKE POS and Compeat differ
AttributeCAKE POSCompeat
Starting price$69/month$350/month
PlatformsIos, AndroidWeb
Founded20101998

Identical on both: pricing model (subscription), free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Restaurants).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in CAKE POS

  • Tableside ordering
  • Online ordering
  • Guest management
  • Menu management
  • Reporting
  • Kitchen display
  • DoorDash
  • Grubhub

Only in Compeat

  • Accounting
  • Inventory
  • Recipe costing
  • Labor scheduling
  • AP/AR
  • Financial reporting
  • Major POS systems
  • Payroll providers

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

CAKE POS

  • Point of Sale
  • Order Management
  • Inventory Control
  • Staff Scheduling

Compeat

  • Point of Sale
  • Order Management
  • Inventory Control
  • Staff Scheduling

Both are used for point of sale, order management, inventory control, staff scheduling, on those jobs the choice comes down to price and fit rather than capability.

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

CAKE POS

  • Pricing model based on 'no bill ever' but actual merchant fees, commission rates, or payment processing costs not disclosed
  • Website claims zero upfront cost but does not detail ongoing operational costs
  • Customers must request quote to learn full cost of ownership

Compeat

  • The Internet Archive's capture of Compeat's homepage on 9 January 2020 confirmed the restaurant management suite is sold only via 'Request Demo', bundling distinct modules named Accounting, Inventory, Intelligence, Logbook, Labor, Schedule, Compeat Pay, Compeat Advantage and Ctuit Radar, with no price figure published for any.

Pricing, plan by plan

CAKE POS

$69/month
  • Essentials$69/month
    • POS
    • Online ordering
  • Professional$125/month
    • Guest management
    • Advanced features

Compeat

$350/month
  • Standard$350/month
    • Accounting
    • Inventory
  • EnterpriseFree
    • Custom pricing
    • Full features

Which should you pick?

Choose CAKE POS if

  • You need tableside ordering.
  • You work on Ios, Android.
  • You also want online ordering.

Choose Compeat if

  • You need accounting.
  • You also want inventory.

Questions people ask

Is CAKE POS or Compeat better?
Neither clearly leads. CAKE POS starts at $69/month and Compeat at $350/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, CAKE POS or Compeat?
CAKE POS starts at $69/month and Compeat at $350/month.
Does CAKE POS or Compeat run on more platforms?
CAKE POS runs on Ios, Android. Compeat runs on Web.
What is CAKE POS best used for?
CAKE POS is most often used for point of sale, order management, inventory control, staff scheduling.
What can CAKE POS do that Compeat cannot?
CAKE POS covers Tableside ordering, Online ordering, Guest management, Menu management. Compeat covers Accounting, Inventory, Recipe costing, Labor scheduling.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

CAKE POS: Does CAKE POS have an upfront cost?

CAKE advertises 'no bill ever' and requires no down payment for POS terminals and payment processing. However, specific ongoing merchant fees or transaction costs are not disclosed.

Source
CAKE POS: What is included in CAKE's pricing plans?

CAKE offers three tiers (Core, Growth, Enterprise) where Core includes POS terminal with payment processing and reporting. Growth and Enterprise add features like white-glove installation, business insurance, and partner integrations, but exact pricing is not published.

Source
CAKE POS: How can I find out what CAKE POS actually costs?

CAKE does not publish pricing online. You must request a quote directly through the website to learn specific costs for your restaurant's needs.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads