Softwr

Communication · head to head

Mattermost vs Sessions

Mattermost logo

Mattermost

Communication

Channel-centric collaboration for secure workflows

From
On request
Rated
-
S

Sessions

Communication

Meetings and webinars with a prepared agenda, interactive blocks and a recorded outcome

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Sessions has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Mattermost no published pricing on public website; requires sales contact for all tiers; Sessions it will not replace Microsoft Teams or Google Meet for everyday internal calls, so most buyers end up paying for two conferencing tools and asking staff to know which one to open.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 1 September 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Mattermost and Sessions actually diverge.

Attributes where Mattermost and Sessions differ
AttributeMattermostSessions
Starting priceOn requestFree
Pricing modelquotePer user per month
Free tierNoYes

Identical on both: platforms (Web), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Communication).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Mattermost

Nothing recorded that Sessions does not also cover.

Only in Sessions

  • Agenda blocks
  • Embedded apps
  • Webinars and registration
  • Recording and transcript
  • Resource library
  • Breakout rooms
  • Scheduling links
  • Browser-based

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Mattermost

  • Team messaging and collaborationnot Sessions
  • Secure enterprise communicationnot Sessions
  • On-premise or self-hosted deploymentnot Sessions

Sessions

  • A sales team running the same product demo dozens of times a month that wants the agenda, the deck, the poll and the follow-up questions to be one reusable object rather than rebuilt each time.not Mattermost
  • A trainer delivering a recurring workshop where breakouts, exercises and materials need to run in a fixed order without the host juggling tabs live.not Mattermost
  • A customer success team running onboarding sessions that must produce a consistent record of what was covered and what the customer asked.not Mattermost
  • A small company running public webinars that needs registration, reminders, attendance data and a recording without buying a separate webinar platform alongside its meeting tool.not Mattermost

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Mattermost

  • No published pricing on public website; requires sales contact for all tiers
  • Three tiers (Professional, Enterprise, Enterprise Advanced) have feature differences but no cost transparency
  • User scaling caps differ between tiers without public price justification

Sessions

  • It will not replace Microsoft Teams or Google Meet for everyday internal calls, so most buyers end up paying for two conferencing tools and asking staff to know which one to open.
  • The vendor is small and European, competing directly against Zoom and Microsoft, so any team standardising a customer-facing process on it should keep an exit plan and export recordings regularly.
  • The preparation model that makes it good is also overhead; a meeting nobody had time to structure runs no better in Sessions than anywhere else, and teams that will not prepare get no benefit from the licence.
  • Lifetime deals sold through AppSumo mean a segment of the user base pays nothing recurring, which shapes support priorities and has previously produced friction when plan terms changed.
  • It is browser-only, which keeps participation frictionless but leaves it more exposed to browser and network conditions than a native client, and there is no desktop application to fall back on when a call misbehaves.

Pricing, plan by plan

Mattermost

On request

No published plan breakdown. See the Mattermost review.

Sessions

Free
  • FreeFree
    • Meetings with agenda blocks
    • Limited participants and storage
    • Basic recording
  • Solo$undefined/month
    • For a single host
    • Longer meetings and higher attendee limits
    • Registration pages
  • Business$undefined/month
    • Multiple hosts and shared resource library
    • Higher attendee limits
    • Branding and custom registration
  • Enterprise$undefined/month
    • Unlimited participants
    • Custom integrations
    • White labelling

Which should you pick?

Choose Mattermost if

Nothing in the data separates Mattermost from Sessions on the points above - pick on price and on how each one feels to use.

Choose Sessions if

  • You need agenda blocks.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You also want embedded apps.

Questions people ask

Is Mattermost or Sessions better?
Neither clearly leads. Mattermost starts at On request and Sessions at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Mattermost or Sessions?
Sessions has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at On request for Mattermost and Free for Sessions.
Does Mattermost or Sessions run on more platforms?
Both run on Web, so platform support will not decide this one for you.
Can I use Sessions for free?
Yes. Sessions has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Mattermost starts at On request.
What is Mattermost best used for?
Mattermost is most often used for team messaging and collaboration, secure enterprise communication, on-premise or self-hosted deployment. Of those, team messaging and collaboration and secure enterprise communication are not what Sessions is typically brought in for.
What can Mattermost do that Sessions cannot?
Sessions covers Agenda blocks, Embedded apps, Webinars and registration, Recording and transcript.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Mattermost: What user limits apply to each Mattermost pricing tier?

Professional tier supports maximum 250 users. Enterprise scales to 50,000 concurrent users. Enterprise Advanced scales to 200,000 concurrent users. Exact per-user costs not stated.

Source
Sessions: Is Sessions still operating?

Yes. It is an active Bucharest-based company with a New York presence, founded in 2020, still shipping product in 2026.

Mattermost: What support response times are included with each plan?

Professional includes community support plus business hours professional support with next business day response. Enterprise includes 24x7 support with 4-hour response time. Enterprise Advanced includes 24x7 with Premier Support option.

Source
Sessions: Does it replace Zoom?

For structured external calls, demos, workshops and webinars, yes. For everyday internal meetings most teams keep Teams or Meet alongside it.

Mattermost: How much does Mattermost cost for teams under 250 users?

Pricing for Professional tier with user counts under 250 is not disclosed publicly. Contact Mattermost sales for specific quotes.

Source
Sessions: Is there a free plan?

Yes, with limits on participants, meeting length and storage. Paid plans are published on the vendor site and billed annually.

Sessions: Who funded it?

Roughly 9 million euros in total, about half from the founder personally, with EarlyBird, LAUNCHub and Stride making up the rest.

Sessions: Can participants join without installing anything?

Yes, it runs in the browser with no client install for attendees.

Share

Related pages

Other head to heads