Softwr

E-Commerce · head to head

Retail Pro vs Shopware

Retail Pro logo

Retail Pro

E-Commerce

Comprehensive retail management software

From
On request
Rated
-
Shopware logo

Shopware

E-Commerce

Explore the open-source commerce platform, backed by our global community

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Shopware has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Retail Pro pricing details not disclosed; requires sales consultation; Shopware rise tier starts at 600 euro per month and Evolve at 2,400 euro per month, both excluding VAT, so pricing is published in euros only and not converted for other regions
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Retail Pro and Shopware actually diverge.

Attributes where Retail Pro and Shopware differ
AttributeRetail ProShopware
Starting priceOn requestFree
Pricing modelUnknownopen-source
Free tierNoYes
PlatformsiOS, Android, WindowsWeb
Founded1988Unknown

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (E-Commerce).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Retail Pro

  • Point of sale
  • Inventory management
  • Customer database
  • Employee management
  • Sales analytics
  • Promotion management
  • Multi-store support
  • Reporting tools

Only in Shopware

Nothing recorded that Retail Pro does not also cover.

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Retail Pro

  • Multi-location retail POS operations (1 to 250+ stores)not Shopware
  • Inventory management with serialized product trackingnot Shopware
  • Customer loyalty programs via AppCard integrationnot Shopware

Shopware

  • Managing unlimited sales channels across online, POS, marketplacesnot Retail Pro
  • Setting customer-specific pricing for B2B customersnot Retail Pro
  • Automating complex workflows with Flow Builder without codingnot Retail Pro
  • Segmenting customers automatically with behavioral tagsnot Retail Pro
  • Managing multi-language, multi-currency, multi-tax for global expansionnot Retail Pro

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Retail Pro

  • Pricing details not disclosed; requires sales consultation
  • No published technical requirements or system specifications
  • International deployment requires fiscal/tax compliance consultation per region

Shopware

  • Rise tier starts at 600 euro per month and Evolve at 2,400 euro per month, both excluding VAT, so pricing is published in euros only and not converted for other regions
  • Beyond, the top tier with digital sales rooms, multi-inventory and customer-specific pricing, is custom priced and requires contacting sales
  • The Shopware Intelligence+ AI add-on is billed separately at 29 euro per month on Community Edition or 19 euro per month on paid tiers, on top of the plan price

Pricing, plan by plan

Retail Pro

On request

No published plan breakdown. See the Retail Pro review.

Shopware

Free
  • Community EditionFree
    • free open-source platform
    • global developer community access
    • Shopware Intelligence+ add-on at 29/month
  • Rise$600/month
    • subscription model
    • Shopware Intelligence+ add-on at 19/month
  • Evolve$2400/month
    • subscription model
    • Shopware Intelligence+ add-on at 19/month
  • Beyond$null/custom
    • custom pricing
    • contact sales required

Which should you pick?

Choose Retail Pro if

  • You need point of sale.
  • You work on iOS, Android, Windows.
  • You also want inventory management.

Choose Shopware if

  • You want to start without paying.

Questions people ask

Is Retail Pro or Shopware better?
Neither clearly leads. Retail Pro starts at On request and Shopware at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Retail Pro or Shopware?
Shopware has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at On request for Retail Pro and Free for Shopware.
Does Retail Pro or Shopware run on more platforms?
Retail Pro runs on iOS, Android, Windows. Shopware runs on Web.
Can I use Shopware for free?
Yes. Shopware has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Retail Pro starts at On request.
What is Retail Pro best used for?
Retail Pro is most often used for multi-location retail pos operations (1 to 250+ stores), inventory management with serialized product tracking, customer loyalty programs via appcard integration. Of those, multi-location retail pos operations (1 to 250+ stores) and inventory management with serialized product tracking are not what Shopware is typically brought in for.
What can Retail Pro do that Shopware cannot?
Retail Pro covers Point of sale, Inventory management, Customer database, Employee management.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Retail Pro: How much does Retail Pro cost?

Retail Pro does not publish specific pricing on its website. The company describes a 'Pay As You Grow' model but directs interested retailers to request a consultation or brochure to obtain actual pricing quotes customized to their business needs.

Source
Shopware: How much does Shopware cost?

Shopware offers Community Edition free (open-source), Rise at 600/month, Evolve at 2,400/month (all in EUR), and Beyond at custom pricing requiring sales contact.

Source
Shopware: What is the difference between Shopware Community and Rise editions?

Shopware Community Edition is a free open-source platform with global developer community access. Rise is a subscription tier starting at 600/month (EUR) with included features and support.

Source
Shopware: What add-on services does Shopware offer?

Shopware offers Shopware Intelligence+ at 29/month (Community Edition) or 19/month (Rise, Evolve, and Beyond tiers). Shopware Nexus is in a free introductory phase through September 1, 2026.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads