Softwr

Technology · head to head

Maze vs StatusCake

Maze logo

Maze

Technology

The continuous product discovery platform

From
Free
Rated
-
StatusCake logo

StatusCake

Technology

Website monitoring that just works

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Maze maze publishes no prices on its pricing page; every plan routes to contact sales, so pricing is by quote only with no published rate or minimum; StatusCake free plan is limited to a 5 minute check interval and only 10 uptime monitors, 1 page speed monitor and 1 SSL monitor
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Maze and StatusCake actually diverge.

Attributes where Maze and StatusCake differ
AttributeMazeStatusCake
Pricing modelsubscriptionfreemium
PlatformsWeb, Mobile, ApiWeb
Founded2018Unknown

Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Technology).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Maze

  • Prototype testing
  • Usability testing
  • Card sorting
  • Tree testing
  • Surveys
  • 5-second tests
  • A/B testing
  • Analytics dashboard

Only in StatusCake

Nothing recorded that Maze does not also cover.

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Maze

  • User research and testingnot StatusCake
  • AI-powered moderation featuresnot StatusCake
  • Prototype and website testingnot StatusCake
  • User feedback panelsnot StatusCake

StatusCake

  • Website uptime monitoring and alert managementnot Maze
  • SSL certificate expiration trackingnot Maze
  • Domain expiration alerts and monitoringnot Maze
  • Page performance analysis and reportingnot Maze
  • Server health monitoring and incidentsnot Maze
  • Team-based incident response coordinationnot Maze

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Maze

  • Maze publishes no prices on its pricing page; every plan routes to contact sales, so pricing is by quote only with no published rate or minimum
  • The AI study builder, AI moderated interviews and moderated interview studies are Enterprise only
  • Mobile testing and testing through the Maze mobile app are Enterprise only
  • Interview scheduling, card sorting and information architecture testing are Enterprise only
  • Role-based access, SSO and compliance controls are Enterprise only
  • Panel recruitment is available on all plans but with stated limits, and prototype testing carries limits below Enterprise
  • Qualitative analysis of clip recordings, interview transcription and automated theme analysis are Enterprise only

StatusCake

  • Free plan is limited to a 5 minute check interval and only 10 uptime monitors, 1 page speed monitor and 1 SSL monitor
  • Sub-minute checking (30 seconds) requires the Business plan at $66.66/month billed annually, or $79.99/month billed monthly
  • Enterprise, the only tier with unlimited monitors, has no published price and requires a custom quote

Pricing, plan by plan

Maze

Free
  • FreeFree
    • 1 active project
    • Preview link testing
    • Basic analytics
  • Starter$75/month
    • 3 active projects
    • Unlimited responses
    • Advanced analytics
  • Team$150/month
    • Unlimited projects
    • Team collaboration
    • Custom branding
  • Enterprise$undefined/month
    • Everything in Team
    • SSO
    • Dedicated CSM

StatusCake

Free
  • FreeFree
    • 10 uptime tests
    • 5 min test intervals
    • 1 page speed test
  • Superior$20.41/month
    • 100 uptime tests
    • 1 min test intervals
    • 15 page speed tests
  • Business$66.66/month
    • 300 uptime tests
    • 30 sec test intervals
    • 30 page speed tests
  • Enterprise$null/mo

Which should you pick?

Choose Maze if

  • You need prototype testing.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Web, Mobile, Api.
  • You also want usability testing.

Choose StatusCake if

  • You want to start without paying.

Questions people ask

Is Maze or StatusCake better?
Neither clearly leads. Maze starts at Free and StatusCake at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Maze or StatusCake?
Maze starts at Free and StatusCake at Free.
Does Maze or StatusCake run on more platforms?
Maze runs on Web, Mobile, Api. StatusCake runs on Web.
Can I use Maze for free?
Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
What is Maze best used for?
Maze is most often used for user research and testing, ai-powered moderation features, prototype and website testing, user feedback panels. Of those, user research and testing and ai-powered moderation features are not what StatusCake is typically brought in for.
What can Maze do that StatusCake cannot?
Maze covers Prototype testing, Usability testing, Card sorting, Tree testing.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Maze: Does Maze offer a free trial or freemium tier?

Maze site indicates 'Try Maze for free' option, suggesting free tier or trial availability, but specific terms and limitations not stated on main page.

Source
StatusCake: How much does StatusCake cost?

StatusCake offers a free plan at $0/month, with paid plans starting at $20.41/month (annual) for the Superior tier, $66.66/month (annual) for Business, and custom pricing for Enterprise.

Source
Maze: Can I request a custom demo if standard plans don't fit my needs?

Yes, Maze offers 'Request a demo' option, indicating willingness to discuss custom requirements and potentially custom pricing arrangements.

Source
StatusCake: Is there a free version of StatusCake?

Yes, StatusCake offers a free plan with 10 uptime tests, 5 minute test intervals, 1 page speed test, 1 SSL monitor, and 1 domain monitor. A 7-day free trial of all plans is available with no credit card required.

Source
Maze: What testing capabilities does Maze include in paid plans?

Maze features AI Moderator, prototype testing, panel recruitment, and website testing capabilities across plans, but specific feature tiers and pricing not disclosed publicly.

Source
StatusCake: What billing and payment options does StatusCake offer?

StatusCake accepts payment via credit card on all tiers and invoices on Business Yearly and higher plans. Multi-year discounts are available: 12.5% for 2-year, 25% for 3-year, and 40% for 5-year commitments. Currencies supported include USD, GBP, EUR, AUD, NZD, SGD, and CAD.

Source
StatusCake: What is the minimum test interval for uptime monitoring?

The Free plan allows 5-minute test intervals minimum. Superior plan allows 1-minute intervals, and Business plan allows 30-second intervals.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads