Technology · head to head
Lovable vs Maze
The short version
- Each has a real cost: Lovable credit-metered rather than unlimited: Free plan gets 5 build credits/day capped at 30/month, plus 20 cloud-hosting credits/month and 4 AI-feature credits/month; Maze maze publishes no prices on its pricing page; every plan routes to contact sales, so pricing is by quote only with no published rate or minimum
- They diverge on capability: Lovable covers Natural language programming, Maze covers Prototype testing.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Lovable and Maze actually diverge.
Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Technology).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Lovable
- Natural language programming
- Full application generation
- Real-time development
- AI pair programming
- Multi-technology support
- Automated testing
- Deployment assistance
- Code optimization
Only in Maze
- Prototype testing
- Usability testing
- Card sorting
- Tree testing
- Surveys
- 5-second tests
- A/B testing
- Analytics dashboard
Both cover
- Cloud deployment
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Lovable
- SaaS and business apps: subscription products, customer dashboards, admin panelsnot Maze
- Consumer community and content platformsnot Maze
- Marketplaces: booking tools and storefrontsnot Maze
- Internal tools: workflow tools and operational dashboardsnot Maze
- Marketing landing pages and campaign sitesnot Maze
Maze
- User research and testingnot Lovable
- AI-powered moderation featuresnot Lovable
- Prototype and website testingnot Lovable
- User feedback panelsnot Lovable
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Lovable
- Credit-metered rather than unlimited: Free plan gets 5 build credits/day capped at 30/month, plus 20 cloud-hosting credits/month and 4 AI-feature credits/month
- Credits expire: monthly plan credits expire after 2 months unused, annual-plan credits expire 1 month after the annual period ends, and all credits are non-refundable
- Not open source; only the legacy precursor CLI gpt-engineer is open source (MIT), and that repo was archived read-only on 2026-04-22
- Hosting is free only for smaller apps; significant traffic or size draws additional charges from the credit balance
Maze
- Maze publishes no prices on its pricing page; every plan routes to contact sales, so pricing is by quote only with no published rate or minimum
- The AI study builder, AI moderated interviews and moderated interview studies are Enterprise only
- Mobile testing and testing through the Maze mobile app are Enterprise only
- Interview scheduling, card sorting and information architecture testing are Enterprise only
- Role-based access, SSO and compliance controls are Enterprise only
- Panel recruitment is available on all plans but with stated limits, and prototype testing carries limits below Enterprise
- Qualitative analysis of clip recordings, interview transcription and automated theme analysis are Enterprise only
Pricing, plan by plan
Lovable
FreeNo published plan breakdown. See the Lovable review.
Maze
Free- FreeFree
- 1 active project
- Preview link testing
- Basic analytics
- Starter$75/month
- 3 active projects
- Unlimited responses
- Advanced analytics
- Team$150/month
- Unlimited projects
- Team collaboration
- Custom branding
- Enterprise$undefined/month
- Everything in Team
- SSO
- Dedicated CSM
Which should you pick?
Choose Lovable if
- You need natural language programming.
- You want to start without paying.
- You also want full application generation.
Choose Maze if
- You need prototype testing.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Web, Mobile, Api.
- You also want usability testing.
Questions people ask
- Is Lovable or Maze better?
- Neither clearly leads. Lovable starts at Free and Maze at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Lovable or Maze?
- Lovable starts at Free and Maze at Free.
- Does Lovable or Maze run on more platforms?
- Lovable runs on Web. Maze runs on Web, Mobile, Api.
- Can I use Lovable for free?
- Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
- What is Lovable best used for?
- Lovable is most often used for saas and business apps: subscription products, customer dashboards, admin panels, consumer community and content platforms, marketplaces: booking tools and storefronts, internal tools: workflow tools and operational dashboards. Of those, saas and business apps: subscription products, customer dashboards, admin panels and consumer community and content platforms are not what Maze is typically brought in for.
- What can Lovable do that Maze cannot?
- Lovable covers Natural language programming, Full application generation, Real-time development, AI pair programming. Maze covers Prototype testing, Usability testing, Card sorting, Tree testing. Both handle Cloud deployment.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Lovable: What is included in Lovable's free plan?
The free plan includes 5 build credits per day (up to 30 per month), 20 Cloud credits per month, and 4 AI feature credits for trying features in apps. All plan members can access unlimited workspace members.
SourceMaze: Does Maze offer a free trial or freemium tier?
Maze site indicates 'Try Maze for free' option, suggesting free tier or trial availability, but specific terms and limitations not stated on main page.
SourceLovable: How do credits work in Lovable's paid plans?
Lovable uses a credit-based model where costs depend on monthly credit allocation rather than per-seat pricing. Build tasks consume variable credits ranging from 0.50 to 1.70 credits depending on complexity, or 1 credit per message in Plan Mode.
SourceMaze: Can I request a custom demo if standard plans don't fit my needs?
Yes, Maze offers 'Request a demo' option, indicating willingness to discuss custom requirements and potentially custom pricing arrangements.
SourceLovable: Do credits expire in Lovable?
Yes, credit expiration depends on the plan: monthly plan credits expire 2 months after issuance, annual plan credits expire 1 month after the annual period ends, and top-up credits expire 12 months from purchase. Daily grants expire daily with no rollover.
SourceMaze: What testing capabilities does Maze include in paid plans?
Maze features AI Moderator, prototype testing, panel recruitment, and website testing capabilities across plans, but specific feature tiers and pricing not disclosed publicly.
SourceLovable: Are there additional costs for app hosting on Lovable?
Most small and new apps run free under included grants, but larger apps with significant traffic incur charges against the credit balance.
SourceLovable: Does Lovable offer educational discounts?
Yes, a student discount is available with a valid university email.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- Lovable vs Figma
- Lovable vs Asana
- Lovable vs ClickUp
- Lovable vs Linear
- Lovable vs GitHub
- Lovable vs Heap
- Lovable vs Jira
- Lovable vs PyCharm
- Lovable vs Sketch
- Lovable vs Coda
- Lovable vs Drift
- Lovable vs PostHog
- Lovable vs Google Chrome
- Lovable vs Mozilla Firefox
- Lovable vs Redis
- Lovable vs Segment
- Lovable vs Storybook
- Lovable vs Postman
- Lovable vs Canny
- Lovable vs LaunchDarkly
- Lovable vs Mixpanel
- Lovable vs Pendo
- Lovable vs Supabase
- Lovable vs Safari
- Maze vs Figma
- Maze vs Asana
- Maze vs ClickUp
- Maze vs Linear
- Maze vs GitHub
- Maze vs Heap
- Maze vs Jira
- Maze vs PyCharm
- Maze vs Sketch
- Maze vs Coda
- Maze vs Drift
- Maze vs PostHog
- Maze vs Google Chrome
- Maze vs Mozilla Firefox
- Maze vs Redis
- Maze vs Segment
- Maze vs Storybook
- Maze vs Postman
- Maze vs Canny
- Maze vs LaunchDarkly
- Maze vs Mixpanel
- Maze vs Pendo
- Maze vs Supabase
- Maze vs Safari


