Softwr

Technology · head to head

Maze vs Storybook

Maze logo

Maze

Technology

The continuous product discovery platform

From
Free
Rated
-
Storybook logo

Storybook

Technology

Build component driven UIs faster

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Maze maze publishes no prices on its pricing page; every plan routes to contact sales, so pricing is by quote only with no published rate or minimum; Storybook requires JavaScript framework knowledge for full utilization
  • They diverge on capability: Maze covers Prototype testing, Storybook covers Component isolation.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Maze and Storybook actually diverge.

Attributes where Maze and Storybook differ
AttributeMazeStorybook
Pricing modelsubscriptionUnknown
PlatformsWeb, Mobile, ApiWeb, React Native, iOS, Android, Flutter
Founded20182017

Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Technology).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Maze

  • Prototype testing
  • Usability testing
  • Card sorting
  • Tree testing
  • Surveys
  • 5-second tests
  • A/B testing
  • Analytics dashboard

Only in Storybook

  • Component isolation
  • Interactive development
  • Visual testing
  • Documentation generation
  • Accessibility testing
  • Interaction testing
  • Addons ecosystem
  • Hot module reloading

Both cover

  • Figma

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Maze

  • User research and testingnot Storybook
  • AI-powered moderation featuresnot Storybook
  • Prototype and website testingnot Storybook
  • User feedback panelsnot Storybook

Storybook

  • Component developmentnot Maze
  • Design system documentationnot Maze
  • Visual regression testingnot Maze
  • UI component showcasenot Maze
  • Team collaborationnot Maze

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Maze

  • Maze publishes no prices on its pricing page; every plan routes to contact sales, so pricing is by quote only with no published rate or minimum
  • The AI study builder, AI moderated interviews and moderated interview studies are Enterprise only
  • Mobile testing and testing through the Maze mobile app are Enterprise only
  • Interview scheduling, card sorting and information architecture testing are Enterprise only
  • Role-based access, SSO and compliance controls are Enterprise only
  • Panel recruitment is available on all plans but with stated limits, and prototype testing carries limits below Enterprise
  • Qualitative analysis of clip recordings, interview transcription and automated theme analysis are Enterprise only

Storybook

  • Requires JavaScript framework knowledge for full utilization
  • Limited native support for non-web platforms compared to specialized tools

Pricing, plan by plan

Maze

Free
  • FreeFree
    • 1 active project
    • Preview link testing
    • Basic analytics
  • Starter$75/month
    • 3 active projects
    • Unlimited responses
    • Advanced analytics
  • Team$150/month
    • Unlimited projects
    • Team collaboration
    • Custom branding
  • Enterprise$undefined/month
    • Everything in Team
    • SSO
    • Dedicated CSM

Storybook

Free

No published plan breakdown. See the Storybook review.

Which should you pick?

Choose Maze if

  • You need prototype testing.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Web, Mobile, Api.
  • You also want usability testing.

Choose Storybook if

  • You need component isolation.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Web, React Native, iOS, Android, Flutter.
  • You also want interactive development.

Questions people ask

Is Maze or Storybook better?
Neither clearly leads. Maze starts at Free and Storybook at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Maze or Storybook?
Maze starts at Free and Storybook at Free.
Does Maze or Storybook run on more platforms?
Maze runs on Web, Mobile, Api. Storybook runs on Web, React Native, iOS, Android, Flutter.
Can I use Maze for free?
Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
What is Maze best used for?
Maze is most often used for user research and testing, ai-powered moderation features, prototype and website testing, user feedback panels. Of those, user research and testing and ai-powered moderation features are not what Storybook is typically brought in for.
What can Maze do that Storybook cannot?
Maze covers Prototype testing, Usability testing, Card sorting, Tree testing. Storybook covers Component isolation, Interactive development, Visual testing, Documentation generation. Both handle Figma.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Maze: Does Maze offer a free trial or freemium tier?

Maze site indicates 'Try Maze for free' option, suggesting free tier or trial availability, but specific terms and limitations not stated on main page.

Source
Storybook: Is Storybook free and open source?

Yes, Storybook is completely free and open source with source code hosted on GitHub. It has 2,282 contributors and approximately 83.58 million monthly installations.

Source
Maze: Can I request a custom demo if standard plans don't fit my needs?

Yes, Maze offers 'Request a demo' option, indicating willingness to discuss custom requirements and potentially custom pricing arrangements.

Source
Storybook: What frameworks does Storybook support?

Storybook integrates with React, Vue, Angular, Svelte, and has been extended to support React Native, Android, iOS, and Flutter for mobile development.

Source
Maze: What testing capabilities does Maze include in paid plans?

Maze features AI Moderator, prototype testing, panel recruitment, and website testing capabilities across plans, but specific feature tiers and pricing not disclosed publicly.

Source
Storybook: What are the main capabilities of Storybook?

Storybook enables component development in isolation, interaction testing, visual testing, documentation, and sharing components with designers and stakeholders.

Source
Storybook: How is Storybook maintained?

Storybook is maintained by a community of 2,282 contributors. It originated from a startup called Kadira, was handed to the community in 2017, and has been community-driven since Storybook 3.0.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads