Healthcare · head to head
BetterHelp vs Doximity

Doximity
Healthcare
Social network and collaboration platform for physicians
- From
- Free
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Only Doximity has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: BetterHelp pricing from $50-$90 per week billed every 4 weeks with location and therapist availability variations; Doximity free tier limited to verified US clinicians only; no international access without premium
- They diverge on capability: BetterHelp covers Video Sessions, Doximity covers Secure Messaging.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which BetterHelp and Doximity actually diverge.
| Attribute | BetterHelp | Doximity |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | $50/week | Free |
| Pricing model | subscription | freemium |
| Free tier | No | Yes |
| Founded | 2013 | 2010 |
Identical on both: platforms (Web, iOS, Android), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Healthcare).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in BetterHelp
- Video Sessions
- Phone Sessions
- Messaging
- Journaling
- Worksheets
Only in Doximity
- Secure Messaging
- Professional Network
- Telehealth
- Job Board
- CME Access
- Collaboration Tools
- EHR Systems
- SOC2
Both cover
- HIPAA
- Cloud deployment
- Web support
- Mobile support
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
BetterHelp
- Online therapy with licensed mental health professionalsnot Doximity
- Flexible scheduling with messaging, video, phone, and live chat optionsnot Doximity
- Access to 150+ worksheets and therapy support modulesnot Doximity
- Weekly free group seminars with expert therapistsnot Doximity
Doximity
- Physician professional network and communicationnot BetterHelp
- AI-powered medical reference and clinical decision supportnot BetterHelp
- Patient outreach and documentation automationnot BetterHelp
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
BetterHelp
- Pricing from $50-$90 per week billed every 4 weeks with location and therapist availability variations
- Not suitable for minors or those under legal guardianship
- Cannot provide official diagnoses, fulfill court orders, or prescribe medication
- Requires reliable internet access; not appropriate for emergency or crisis situations
Doximity
- Free tier limited to verified US clinicians only; no international access without premium
- AI Scribe and Dialer features accessible only to US-based healthcare professionals
- Premium tier pricing not disclosed on main site
Pricing, plan by plan
BetterHelp
$50/week- Standard$50/week
- Messaging, live chat, phone sessions, video conferencing
- 150+ digital worksheets
- Access to 20+ weekly group seminars
Doximity
FreeNo published plan breakdown. See the Doximity review.
Which should you pick?
Choose BetterHelp if
- You need video sessions.
- You work on Web, iOS, Android.
- You also want phone sessions.
Choose Doximity if
- You need secure messaging.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Web, iOS, Android.
- You also want professional network.
Questions people ask
- Is BetterHelp or Doximity better?
- Neither clearly leads. BetterHelp starts at $50/week and Doximity at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, BetterHelp or Doximity?
- Doximity has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $50/week for BetterHelp and Free for Doximity.
- Does BetterHelp or Doximity run on more platforms?
- Both run on Web, iOS, Android, so platform support will not decide this one for you.
- Can I use Doximity for free?
- Yes. Doximity has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. BetterHelp starts at $50/week.
- What is BetterHelp best used for?
- BetterHelp is most often used for online therapy with licensed mental health professionals, flexible scheduling with messaging, video, phone, and live chat options, access to 150+ worksheets and therapy support modules, weekly free group seminars with expert therapists. Of those, online therapy with licensed mental health professionals and flexible scheduling with messaging, video, phone, and live chat options are not what Doximity is typically brought in for.
- What can BetterHelp do that Doximity cannot?
- BetterHelp covers Video Sessions, Phone Sessions, Messaging, Journaling. Doximity covers Secure Messaging, Professional Network, Telehealth, Job Board. Both handle HIPAA, Cloud deployment, Web support, Mobile support.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
BetterHelp: How much does BetterHelp cost per week?
BetterHelp costs between $50 and $90 per week, with the actual price determined by your location, therapist availability, and therapist preference. Charges are billed every 4 weeks rather than weekly despite per-week pricing.
SourceDoximity: Is Doximity free?
Doximity is free for verified US clinicians. Specific subscription tiers and paid plan pricing are not disclosed on their website.
SourceBetterHelp: What does BetterHelp subscription include?
BetterHelp includes access to therapy via messaging, live chat, phone sessions, and video conferencing. Subscribers receive 150+ digital worksheets and free access to 20+ weekly group seminars led by expert therapists on various mental health topics.
SourceBetterHelp: Can you cancel BetterHelp anytime?
Members can cancel their BetterHelp subscription at any time without penalties or restrictions. Cancellation is flexible with no long-term commitment required.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- BetterHelp vs Headspace
- BetterHelp vs Amwell
- BetterHelp vs Epic Systems
- BetterHelp vs Cerner
- BetterHelp vs Athenahealth
- BetterHelp vs GoodRx
- BetterHelp vs Ginger
- BetterHelp vs SimplePractice
- BetterHelp vs TherapyNotes
- BetterHelp vs TheraNest
- BetterHelp vs Lyra Health
- BetterHelp vs Meru Health
- BetterHelp vs ChiroTouch
- BetterHelp vs Doctolib
- BetterHelp vs eClinicalWorks
- BetterHelp vs Cerner PowerWorks
- BetterHelp vs eClinicalWorks Prime
- BetterHelp vs Doctor on Demand
- BetterHelp vs Teladoc Health
- BetterHelp vs MDLive
- BetterHelp vs Doxy.me
- BetterHelp vs Updox
- BetterHelp vs Sectra
- BetterHelp vs Ambra Health
- BetterHelp vs Cerner PowerChart
- Doximity vs Headspace
- Doximity vs Amwell
- Doximity vs Epic Systems
- Doximity vs Cerner
- Doximity vs Athenahealth
- Doximity vs GoodRx
- Doximity vs Ginger
- Doximity vs SimplePractice
- Doximity vs TherapyNotes
- Doximity vs TheraNest
- Doximity vs Lyra Health
- Doximity vs Meru Health
- Doximity vs ChiroTouch
- Doximity vs Doctolib
- Doximity vs eClinicalWorks
- Doximity vs Cerner PowerWorks
- Doximity vs eClinicalWorks Prime
- Doximity vs Doctor on Demand
- Doximity vs Teladoc Health
- Doximity vs MDLive
- Doximity vs Doxy.me
- Doximity vs Updox
- Doximity vs Sectra
- Doximity vs Ambra Health
- Doximity vs Cerner PowerChart

