Softwr

CAD · head to head

3D-Coat vs DraftSight

3D-Coat logo

3D-Coat

CAD

Digital sculpting for game artists

From
$29/month
Rated
-
DraftSight logo

DraftSight

CAD

Professional 2D CAD drafting

From
$29/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: 3D-Coat specific pricing not disclosed on website; DraftSight specific pricing amounts not disclosed on website
  • They diverge on capability: 3D-Coat covers Voxel sculpting, DraftSight covers DWG/DXF support.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which 3D-Coat and DraftSight actually diverge.

Attributes where 3D-Coat and DraftSight differ
Attribute3D-CoatDraftSight
Pricing modelone-timesubscription
Founded20071981

Identical on both: starting price ($29/month), free tier (No), platforms (Windows, MacOS, Linux), user rating (Not yet rated), category (CAD).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in 3D-Coat

  • Voxel sculpting
  • Surface sculpting
  • Retopology
  • UV mapping
  • Texture painting
  • PBR materials
  • Smart materials
  • Baking

Only in DraftSight

  • DWG/DXF support
  • 2D drafting
  • 3D modeling
  • Batch printing
  • PDF import
  • Layer management
  • SolidWorks
  • CATIA

Both cover

  • Windows support
  • MacOS support
  • Linux support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

3D-Coat

  • Voxel sculpting from a digital clay blocknot DraftSight
  • Retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshesnot DraftSight
  • UV mapping and PBR texturingnot DraftSight
  • Preparing print-ready models for 3D printingnot DraftSight
  • Node-based material authoring on the GPUnot DraftSight

DraftSight

  • 2D drafting and annotation on DWG filesnot 3D-Coat
  • Opening and editing DWG drawings without AutoCADnot 3D-Coat
  • Architectural and engineering drawing productionnot 3D-Coat
  • Working alongside SOLIDWORKS in a Dassault toolchainnot 3D-Coat

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

3D-Coat

  • Specific pricing not disclosed on website
  • 3DCoatPrint free version limited to 40K triangles on export
  • Requires contacting sales or visiting store for pricing details

DraftSight

  • Specific pricing amounts not disclosed on website
  • Directs customers to contact sales or visit store for pricing
  • Three tiers available but feature differences not fully detailed

Pricing, plan by plan

3D-Coat

$29/month
  • Amateur$99/month
    • Non-commercial use
  • Professional$379/month
    • Full commercial license
  • Floating$568/month
    • Network licensing

DraftSight

$29/month
  • Standard$99/month
    • 2D drafting
  • Professional$199/month
    • 2D + 3D
  • Premium$499/month
    • Advanced features

Which should you pick?

Choose 3D-Coat if

  • You need voxel sculpting.
  • You work on Windows, MacOS, Linux.
  • You also want surface sculpting.

Choose DraftSight if

  • You need dwg/dxf support.
  • You work on Windows, MacOS, Linux.
  • You also want 2d drafting.

Questions people ask

Is 3D-Coat or DraftSight better?
Neither clearly leads. 3D-Coat starts at $29/month and DraftSight at $29/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, 3D-Coat or DraftSight?
3D-Coat starts at $29/month and DraftSight at $29/month.
Does 3D-Coat or DraftSight run on more platforms?
Both run on Windows, MacOS, Linux, so platform support will not decide this one for you.
What is 3D-Coat best used for?
3D-Coat is most often used for voxel sculpting from a digital clay block, retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshes, uv mapping and pbr texturing, preparing print-ready models for 3d printing. Of those, voxel sculpting from a digital clay block and retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshes are not what DraftSight is typically brought in for.
What can 3D-Coat do that DraftSight cannot?
3D-Coat covers Voxel sculpting, Surface sculpting, Retopology, UV mapping. DraftSight covers DWG/DXF support, 2D drafting, 3D modeling, Batch printing. Both handle Windows support, MacOS support, Linux support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

3D-Coat: Is there a free version of 3D Coat?

Yes, 3D Coat offers multiple free options. 3DCoatPrint is a special free version designed for 3D print-ready models, limited to 40K triangles on export. Additionally, a 30-day unlimited trial is available for the full version.

Source
DraftSight: Is there a free trial for DraftSight?

Yes, DraftSight offers a 30-day full-featured trial available for download. The trial provides complete access to all 2D/3D tools and advanced features.

Source
3D-Coat: What is the 30-day trial period for 3D Coat?

3D Coat provides a 30-day trial with unlimited learning resources. The trial grants full access to all tools needed to create production-ready, fully textured 3D models.

Source
DraftSight: What DraftSight tiers are available?

DraftSight offers three pricing tiers: Professional (core 2D CAD tools), Premium (adds advanced tools, STEP import, and BIM module), and Enterprise (for large organizations with multiple sites).

Source
3D-Coat: Does 3D Coat offer specialized versions?

Yes, 3D Coat offers 3DCoatTextura as a specialized version focused on texturing and rendering at a more affordable price than the full 3DCoat version.

Source
DraftSight: What licensing options does DraftSight provide?

DraftSight offers Named-User Licensing for individuals and dedicated workstations, Network Licensing for shared access across users and locations, Perpetual Licensing for one-time purchase, and Cloud and Remote Access options.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads