Softwr

CAD · head to head

DraftSight vs FreeCAD

DraftSight logo

DraftSight

CAD

Professional 2D CAD drafting

From
$29/month
Rated
-
FreeCAD logo

FreeCAD

CAD

Open-source parametric 3D CAD modeler

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only FreeCAD has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: DraftSight specific pricing amounts not disclosed on website; FreeCAD no pricing published; product is completely free and open-source
  • They diverge on capability: DraftSight covers DWG/DXF support, FreeCAD covers Parametric modeling.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which DraftSight and FreeCAD actually diverge.

Attributes where DraftSight and FreeCAD differ
AttributeDraftSightFreeCAD
Starting price$29/monthFree
Pricing modelsubscriptionopen-source
Free tierNoYes
Founded19812002

Identical on both: platforms (Windows, MacOS, Linux), user rating (Not yet rated), category (CAD).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in DraftSight

  • DWG/DXF support
  • 2D drafting
  • 3D modeling
  • Batch printing
  • PDF import
  • Layer management
  • SolidWorks
  • CATIA

Only in FreeCAD

  • Parametric modeling
  • Part design
  • Assembly
  • Drafting
  • FEM simulation
  • Path/CAM
  • Architecture
  • BIM

Both cover

  • Windows support
  • MacOS support
  • Linux support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

DraftSight

  • 2D drafting and annotation on DWG filesnot FreeCAD
  • Opening and editing DWG drawings without AutoCADnot FreeCAD
  • Architectural and engineering drawing productionnot FreeCAD
  • Working alongside SOLIDWORKS in a Dassault toolchainnot FreeCAD

FreeCAD

  • Mechanical engineering designnot DraftSight
  • Architectural modellingnot DraftSight
  • Product design and prototypingnot DraftSight
  • CAM/CNC path generationnot DraftSight

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

DraftSight

  • Specific pricing amounts not disclosed on website
  • Directs customers to contact sales or visit store for pricing
  • Three tiers available but feature differences not fully detailed

FreeCAD

  • No pricing published; product is completely free and open-source
  • Donations are optional and voluntary for project support

Pricing, plan by plan

DraftSight

$29/month
  • Standard$99/month
    • 2D drafting
  • Professional$199/month
    • 2D + 3D
  • Premium$499/month
    • Advanced features

FreeCAD

Free

No published plan breakdown. See the FreeCAD review.

Which should you pick?

Choose DraftSight if

  • You need dwg/dxf support.
  • You work on Windows, MacOS, Linux.
  • You also want 2d drafting.

Choose FreeCAD if

  • You need parametric modeling.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Windows, macOS, Linux.
  • You also want part design.

Questions people ask

Is DraftSight or FreeCAD better?
Neither clearly leads. DraftSight starts at $29/month and FreeCAD at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, DraftSight or FreeCAD?
FreeCAD has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $29/month for DraftSight and Free for FreeCAD.
Does DraftSight or FreeCAD run on more platforms?
DraftSight runs on Windows, MacOS, Linux. FreeCAD runs on Windows, macOS, Linux.
Can I use FreeCAD for free?
Yes. FreeCAD has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. DraftSight starts at $29/month.
What is DraftSight best used for?
DraftSight is most often used for 2d drafting and annotation on dwg files, opening and editing dwg drawings without autocad, architectural and engineering drawing production, working alongside solidworks in a dassault toolchain. Of those, 2d drafting and annotation on dwg files and opening and editing dwg drawings without autocad are not what FreeCAD is typically brought in for.
What can DraftSight do that FreeCAD cannot?
DraftSight covers DWG/DXF support, 2D drafting, 3D modeling, Batch printing. FreeCAD covers Parametric modeling, Part design, Assembly, Drafting. Both handle Windows support, MacOS support, Linux support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

DraftSight: Is there a free trial for DraftSight?

Yes, DraftSight offers a 30-day full-featured trial available for download. The trial provides complete access to all 2D/3D tools and advanced features.

Source
FreeCAD: How much does FreeCAD cost?

FreeCAD is completely free with no licensing fees, vendor lock-in, sign-up requirements, paywalls, or restrictions. The software is open-source and available for anyone to use and adapt.

Source
DraftSight: What DraftSight tiers are available?

DraftSight offers three pricing tiers: Professional (core 2D CAD tools), Premium (adds advanced tools, STEP import, and BIM module), and Enterprise (for large organizations with multiple sites).

Source
FreeCAD: Does FreeCAD offer optional support or sponsorship?

FreeCAD accepts voluntary donations to support the project. Sponsorship tiers range from $1 per month (Normal Sponsor) to $200 per month (Gold Sponsor), with different visibility levels. One-time donations of any amount are also accepted.

Source
DraftSight: What licensing options does DraftSight provide?

DraftSight offers Named-User Licensing for individuals and dedicated workstations, Network Licensing for shared access across users and locations, Perpetual Licensing for one-time purchase, and Cloud and Remote Access options.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads