Softwr

CAD · head to head

DraftSight vs Shapr3D

DraftSight logo

DraftSight

CAD

Professional 2D CAD drafting

From
$29/month
Rated
-
Shapr3D logo

Shapr3D

CAD

CAD software for iPad and Mac

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Shapr3D has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: DraftSight specific pricing amounts not disclosed on website; Shapr3D the free Basic plan is limited to 2 projects
  • They diverge on capability: DraftSight covers DWG/DXF support, Shapr3D covers Direct modeling.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which DraftSight and Shapr3D actually diverge.

Attributes where DraftSight and Shapr3D differ
AttributeDraftSightShapr3D
Starting price$29/monthFree
Pricing modelsubscriptionfreemium
Free tierNoYes
PlatformsWindows, MacOS, LinuxIPadOS, MacOS, Windows
Founded19812015

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (CAD).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in DraftSight

  • DWG/DXF support
  • 2D drafting
  • 3D modeling
  • Batch printing
  • PDF import
  • Layer management
  • CATIA
  • Dassault account

Only in Shapr3D

  • Direct modeling
  • Parametric history
  • Visualization
  • 2D drawings
  • Apple Pencil support
  • Import/export
  • Annotations
  • Fusion 360

Both cover

  • SolidWorks
  • Windows support
  • MacOS support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

DraftSight

  • 2D drafting and annotation on DWG filesnot Shapr3D
  • Opening and editing DWG drawings without AutoCADnot Shapr3D
  • Architectural and engineering drawing productionnot Shapr3D
  • Working alongside SOLIDWORKS in a Dassault toolchainnot Shapr3D

Shapr3D

  • Direct modelling CAD on iPad with Apple Pencilnot DraftSight
  • Producing manufacturable solid models and technical drawingsnot DraftSight
  • Sharing CAD projects with collaborators on desktop and tabletnot DraftSight

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

DraftSight

  • Specific pricing amounts not disclosed on website
  • Directs customers to contact sales or visit store for pricing
  • Three tiers available but feature differences not fully detailed

Shapr3D

  • The free Basic plan is limited to 2 projects
  • Free plan exports only basic resolution 3MF and STL, so no STEP or IGES output
  • Free plan caps generative renders at 3 per day; Pro raises this to 50 per day and only Enterprise is unlimited
  • Importing SLDPRT and SLDASM SolidWorks files requires Pro
  • Importing NX, JT, CREO, Solid Edge and Rhino files requires Enterprise
  • Exporting ACIS, FBX, Parasolid and PRC requires Enterprise
  • On premises and single tenant data storage is Enterprise only
  • Enterprise pricing is by quote with no published rate

Pricing, plan by plan

DraftSight

$29/month
  • Standard$99/month
    • 2D drafting
  • Professional$199/month
    • 2D + 3D
  • Premium$499/month
    • Advanced features

Shapr3D

Free
  • BasicFree
    • 2 projects
    • cloud storage
    • basic import/export (XT, STEP, IGES, DWG, STL)
  • Pro$299/year
    • unlimited shared team projects
    • up to 2 contributors
    • high-resolution exports
  • Enterprise$null/custom
    • granular access control
    • flexible data storage (single tenant/private cloud/on-premises)
    • unlimited renders

Which should you pick?

Choose DraftSight if

  • You need dwg/dxf support.
  • You work on Windows, MacOS, Linux.
  • You also want 2d drafting.

Choose Shapr3D if

  • You need direct modeling.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on IPadOS, MacOS, Windows.
  • You also want parametric history.

Questions people ask

Is DraftSight or Shapr3D better?
Neither clearly leads. DraftSight starts at $29/month and Shapr3D at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, DraftSight or Shapr3D?
Shapr3D has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $29/month for DraftSight and Free for Shapr3D.
Does DraftSight or Shapr3D run on more platforms?
DraftSight runs on Windows, MacOS, Linux. Shapr3D runs on IPadOS, MacOS, Windows.
Can I use Shapr3D for free?
Yes. Shapr3D has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. DraftSight starts at $29/month.
What is DraftSight best used for?
DraftSight is most often used for 2d drafting and annotation on dwg files, opening and editing dwg drawings without autocad, architectural and engineering drawing production, working alongside solidworks in a dassault toolchain. Of those, 2d drafting and annotation on dwg files and opening and editing dwg drawings without autocad are not what Shapr3D is typically brought in for.
What can DraftSight do that Shapr3D cannot?
DraftSight covers DWG/DXF support, 2D drafting, 3D modeling, Batch printing. Shapr3D covers Direct modeling, Parametric history, Visualization, 2D drawings. Both handle SolidWorks, Windows support, MacOS support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

DraftSight: Is there a free trial for DraftSight?

Yes, DraftSight offers a 30-day full-featured trial available for download. The trial provides complete access to all 2D/3D tools and advanced features.

Source
Shapr3D: How much does Shapr3D cost?

Shapr3D Basic tier is free. Pro tier is $299 per year or available monthly with price not specified on the pricing page. Enterprise pricing is custom and requires contacting sales.

Source
DraftSight: What DraftSight tiers are available?

DraftSight offers three pricing tiers: Professional (core 2D CAD tools), Premium (adds advanced tools, STEP import, and BIM module), and Enterprise (for large organizations with multiple sites).

Source
Shapr3D: Is there a free trial for Shapr3D Pro?

Yes, Shapr3D offers a 14-day free trial for Pro tier that requires a credit card, plus a 14-day money-back guarantee on purchases.

Source
DraftSight: What licensing options does DraftSight provide?

DraftSight offers Named-User Licensing for individuals and dedicated workstations, Network Licensing for shared access across users and locations, Perpetual Licensing for one-time purchase, and Cloud and Remote Access options.

Source
Shapr3D: What is the difference between Shapr3D Pro and Enterprise?

Pro tier includes up to 2 contributors on unlimited shared team projects, 50 renders daily, technical drawings, and AR on iPad. Enterprise provides granular access control, flexible data storage options (single tenant, private cloud, on-premises, or cloud off), unlimited renders, extended import/export formats, and dedicated account management.

Source
Shapr3D: Does Shapr3D offer educational pricing?

Yes, Shapr3D is free for students and educators with annual license renewal through an in-app application form.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads