CAD · head to head
3D-Coat vs IronCAD

IronCAD
CAD
Innovative 3D design software with drag-and-drop simplicity
- From
- $3500/one-time
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Each has a real cost: 3D-Coat specific pricing not disclosed on website; IronCAD pricing page not found
- They diverge on capability: 3D-Coat covers Voxel sculpting, IronCAD covers Hybrid parametric/direct modeling.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which 3D-Coat and IronCAD actually diverge.
Identical on both: pricing model (one-time), free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (CAD).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in 3D-Coat
- Voxel sculpting
- Surface sculpting
- Retopology
- UV mapping
- Texture painting
- PBR materials
- Smart materials
- Baking
Only in IronCAD
- Hybrid parametric/direct modeling
- Drag-and-drop design
- Multi-body assemblies
- Sheet metal tools
- 2D drafting
- STEP
- IGES
- Parasolid
Both cover
- Windows support
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
3D-Coat
- Voxel sculpting from a digital clay blocknot IronCAD
- Retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshesnot IronCAD
- UV mapping and PBR texturingnot IronCAD
- Preparing print-ready models for 3D printingnot IronCAD
- Node-based material authoring on the GPUnot IronCAD
IronCAD
- Product developmentnot 3D-Coat
- Machine designnot 3D-Coat
- Tooling designnot 3D-Coat
- Rapid prototypingnot 3D-Coat
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
3D-Coat
- Specific pricing not disclosed on website
- 3DCoatPrint free version limited to 40K triangles on export
- Requires contacting sales or visiting store for pricing details
IronCAD
- pricing page not found
Pricing, plan by plan
3D-Coat
$29/month- Amateur$99/month
- Non-commercial use
- Professional$379/month
- Full commercial license
- Floating$568/month
- Network licensing
IronCAD
$3500/one-time- IronCAD Design Collaboration Suite$3500/one-time
- Full parametric and direct modeling
- Drag-and-drop design
- Multi-format CAD import/export
- IronCAD Ultimate$6000/one-time
- All Design Suite features
- Advanced simulation
- Rendering tools
Which should you pick?
Choose 3D-Coat if
- You need voxel sculpting.
- You work on Windows, MacOS, Linux.
- You also want surface sculpting.
Choose IronCAD if
- You need hybrid parametric/direct modeling.
- You work on Windows.
- You also want drag-and-drop design.
Questions people ask
- Is 3D-Coat or IronCAD better?
- Neither clearly leads. 3D-Coat starts at $29/month and IronCAD at $3500/one-time, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, 3D-Coat or IronCAD?
- 3D-Coat starts at $29/month and IronCAD at $3500/one-time.
- Does 3D-Coat or IronCAD run on more platforms?
- 3D-Coat runs on Windows, MacOS, Linux. IronCAD runs on Windows.
- What is 3D-Coat best used for?
- 3D-Coat is most often used for voxel sculpting from a digital clay block, retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshes, uv mapping and pbr texturing, preparing print-ready models for 3d printing. Of those, voxel sculpting from a digital clay block and retopology of high-density sculpts into production meshes are not what IronCAD is typically brought in for.
- What can 3D-Coat do that IronCAD cannot?
- 3D-Coat covers Voxel sculpting, Surface sculpting, Retopology, UV mapping. IronCAD covers Hybrid parametric/direct modeling, Drag-and-drop design, Multi-body assemblies, Sheet metal tools. Both handle Windows support.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
3D-Coat: Is there a free version of 3D Coat?
Yes, 3D Coat offers multiple free options. 3DCoatPrint is a special free version designed for 3D print-ready models, limited to 40K triangles on export. Additionally, a 30-day unlimited trial is available for the full version.
SourceIronCAD: Where can I find IronCAD pricing?
IronCAD's pricing page is not available. Contact IronCAD directly through their website for CAD software licensing and pricing information.
Source3D-Coat: What is the 30-day trial period for 3D Coat?
3D Coat provides a 30-day trial with unlimited learning resources. The trial grants full access to all tools needed to create production-ready, fully textured 3D models.
Source3D-Coat: Does 3D Coat offer specialized versions?
Yes, 3D Coat offers 3DCoatTextura as a specialized version focused on texturing and rendering at a more affordable price than the full 3DCoat version.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- 3D-Coat vs FreeCAD
- 3D-Coat vs V-Ray
- 3D-Coat vs Enscape
- 3D-Coat vs KeyShot
- 3D-Coat vs Mudbox
- 3D-Coat vs ZBrush
- 3D-Coat vs Mari
- 3D-Coat vs Nomad Sculpt
- 3D-Coat vs Plasticity
- 3D-Coat vs Bentley MicroStation
- 3D-Coat vs Rhino 3D
- 3D-Coat vs Shapr3D
- 3D-Coat vs ANSYS Fluent
- 3D-Coat vs Bentley iTwin Capture Modeler
- 3D-Coat vs Carlson Software
- 3D-Coat vs Arnold
- 3D-Coat vs Inventor
- 3D-Coat vs Creo
- 3D-Coat vs Alibre Design
- 3D-Coat vs SolveSpace
- 3D-Coat vs Zoo
- 3D-Coat vs MicroSurvey CAD
- 3D-Coat vs MoI (Moment of Inspiration)
- 3D-Coat vs nTop
- 3D-Coat vs Octane Render
- 3D-Coat vs RealityScan
- 3D-Coat vs Tinkercad
- IronCAD vs FreeCAD
- IronCAD vs V-Ray
- IronCAD vs Enscape
- IronCAD vs KeyShot
- IronCAD vs Mudbox
- IronCAD vs ZBrush
- IronCAD vs Mari
- IronCAD vs Nomad Sculpt
- IronCAD vs Plasticity
- IronCAD vs Bentley MicroStation
- IronCAD vs Rhino 3D
- IronCAD vs Shapr3D
- IronCAD vs ANSYS Fluent
- IronCAD vs Bentley iTwin Capture Modeler
- IronCAD vs Carlson Software
- IronCAD vs Arnold
- IronCAD vs Inventor
- IronCAD vs Creo
- IronCAD vs Alibre Design
- IronCAD vs SolveSpace
- IronCAD vs Zoo
- IronCAD vs MicroSurvey CAD
- IronCAD vs MoI (Moment of Inspiration)
- IronCAD vs nTop
- IronCAD vs Octane Render
- IronCAD vs RealityScan
- IronCAD vs Tinkercad

