CAD · head to head
DraftSight vs Nomad Sculpt

Nomad Sculpt
CAD
Digital sculpting on tablets, bought once, with no account and no subscription
- From
- On request
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Each has a real cost: DraftSight specific pricing amounts not disclosed on website; Nomad Sculpt polygon budgets are bounded by tablet memory, so a base-model device stalls at a fraction of the detail a desktop sculpting application handles, and the ceiling only becomes apparent once a sculpt is well underway.
- They diverge on capability: DraftSight covers DWG/DXF support, Nomad Sculpt covers Voxel remesh.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 31 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which DraftSight and Nomad Sculpt actually diverge.
| Attribute | DraftSight | Nomad Sculpt |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | $29/month | On request |
| Pricing model | subscription | One-time purchase |
| Platforms | Windows, MacOS, Linux | iOS, Android |
| Founded | 1981 | Unknown |
Identical on both: free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (CAD).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in DraftSight
- DWG/DXF support
- 2D drafting
- 3D modeling
- Batch printing
- PDF import
- Layer management
- SolidWorks
- CATIA
Only in Nomad Sculpt
- Voxel remesh
- Multiresolution
- Dynamic topology
- Layers
- PBR painting
- Internal renderer
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
DraftSight
- 2D drafting and annotation on DWG filesnot Nomad Sculpt
- Opening and editing DWG drawings without AutoCADnot Nomad Sculpt
- Architectural and engineering drawing productionnot Nomad Sculpt
- Working alongside SOLIDWORKS in a Dassault toolchainnot Nomad Sculpt
Nomad Sculpt
- Producing concept sculpts away from a workstation without carrying a laptopnot DraftSight
- Creating 3D printing masters on a tablet and exporting STL directlynot DraftSight
- Teaching sculpting fundamentals where per-seat desktop licences are not affordablenot DraftSight
- Sketching character and creature forms that are finished later in a desktop packagenot DraftSight
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
DraftSight
- Specific pricing amounts not disclosed on website
- Directs customers to contact sales or visit store for pricing
- Three tiers available but feature differences not fully detailed
Nomad Sculpt
- Polygon budgets are bounded by tablet memory, so a base-model device stalls at a fraction of the detail a desktop sculpting application handles, and the ceiling only becomes apparent once a sculpt is well underway.
- One developer maintains it, so a bug that blocks your workflow waits on one person with no support channel to escalate through.
- There is no serious retopology or UV unwrapping toolset, so anything destined for a game or animation pipeline has to leave for a desktop package regardless.
- Rendering is presentation grade rather than production grade, so client-facing images generally need an export to a desktop renderer.
- Sculpt layers and brushes are application-specific and the route out is OBJ, glTF or STL, so layered non-destructive data does not survive the transfer to another tool.
Pricing, plan by plan
DraftSight
$29/month- Standard$99/month
- 2D drafting
- Professional$199/month
- 2D + 3D
- Premium$499/month
- Advanced features
Nomad Sculpt
On request- Nomad Sculpt$undefined/year
- Perpetual licence through the app store
- No account or subscription
- Updates included to date
Which should you pick?
Choose DraftSight if
- You need dwg/dxf support.
- You work on Windows, MacOS, Linux.
- You also want 2d drafting.
Choose Nomad Sculpt if
- You need voxel remesh.
- You work on iOS, Android.
- You also want multiresolution.
Questions people ask
- Is DraftSight or Nomad Sculpt better?
- Neither clearly leads. DraftSight starts at $29/month and Nomad Sculpt at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, DraftSight or Nomad Sculpt?
- DraftSight starts at $29/month and Nomad Sculpt at On request.
- Does DraftSight or Nomad Sculpt run on more platforms?
- DraftSight runs on Windows, MacOS, Linux. Nomad Sculpt runs on iOS, Android.
- What is DraftSight best used for?
- DraftSight is most often used for 2d drafting and annotation on dwg files, opening and editing dwg drawings without autocad, architectural and engineering drawing production, working alongside solidworks in a dassault toolchain. Of those, 2d drafting and annotation on dwg files and opening and editing dwg drawings without autocad are not what Nomad Sculpt is typically brought in for.
- What can DraftSight do that Nomad Sculpt cannot?
- DraftSight covers DWG/DXF support, 2D drafting, 3D modeling, Batch printing. Nomad Sculpt covers Voxel remesh, Multiresolution, Dynamic topology, Layers.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
DraftSight: Is there a free trial for DraftSight?
Yes, DraftSight offers a 30-day full-featured trial available for download. The trial provides complete access to all 2D/3D tools and advanced features.
SourceNomad Sculpt: Is it a subscription?
No. It is a one-time app store purchase with no account and no cloud service behind it.
DraftSight: What DraftSight tiers are available?
DraftSight offers three pricing tiers: Professional (core 2D CAD tools), Premium (adds advanced tools, STEP import, and BIM module), and Enterprise (for large organizations with multiple sites).
SourceNomad Sculpt: Which tablet should I buy for it?
Buy for memory rather than for processor. Sculpt detail is limited by RAM, so a higher-memory model raises the ceiling more than a faster chip does.
DraftSight: What licensing options does DraftSight provide?
DraftSight offers Named-User Licensing for individuals and dedicated workstations, Network Licensing for shared access across users and locations, Perpetual Licensing for one-time purchase, and Cloud and Remote Access options.
SourceNomad Sculpt: Can it replace ZBrush?
For sculpting itself it goes a long way. For high-density production sculpts, retopology, UVs and pipeline integration it does not.
Related pages
More on Nomad Sculpt
Other head to heads
- DraftSight vs V-Ray
- DraftSight vs FreeCAD
- DraftSight vs Enscape
- DraftSight vs KeyShot
- DraftSight vs BricsCAD
- DraftSight vs Inventor
- DraftSight vs MicroSurvey CAD
- DraftSight vs Bentley MicroStation
- DraftSight vs Shapr3D
- DraftSight vs ZBrush
- DraftSight vs Bentley iTwin Capture Modeler
- DraftSight vs Carlson Software
- DraftSight vs Alibre Design
- DraftSight vs Altium 365
- DraftSight vs Bambu Studio
- DraftSight vs CloudCompare
- DraftSight vs COMSOL Multiphysics
- DraftSight vs Mudbox
- DraftSight vs 3D-Coat
- DraftSight vs LightWave 3D
- DraftSight vs MoI (Moment of Inspiration)
- DraftSight vs RealityScan
- DraftSight vs SolveSpace
- DraftSight vs ANSYS Fluent
- DraftSight vs CoreTechnologie
- Nomad Sculpt vs V-Ray
- Nomad Sculpt vs FreeCAD
- Nomad Sculpt vs Enscape
- Nomad Sculpt vs KeyShot
- Nomad Sculpt vs BricsCAD
- Nomad Sculpt vs Inventor
- Nomad Sculpt vs MicroSurvey CAD
- Nomad Sculpt vs Bentley MicroStation
- Nomad Sculpt vs Shapr3D
- Nomad Sculpt vs ZBrush
- Nomad Sculpt vs Bentley iTwin Capture Modeler
- Nomad Sculpt vs Carlson Software
- Nomad Sculpt vs Alibre Design
- Nomad Sculpt vs Altium 365
- Nomad Sculpt vs Bambu Studio
- Nomad Sculpt vs CloudCompare
- Nomad Sculpt vs COMSOL Multiphysics
- Nomad Sculpt vs Mudbox
- Nomad Sculpt vs 3D-Coat
- Nomad Sculpt vs LightWave 3D
- Nomad Sculpt vs MoI (Moment of Inspiration)
- Nomad Sculpt vs RealityScan
- Nomad Sculpt vs SolveSpace
- Nomad Sculpt vs ANSYS Fluent
- Nomad Sculpt vs CoreTechnologie

