Softwr

Communication · head to head

Mattermost vs Zoom

Mattermost logo

Mattermost

Communication

Channel-centric collaboration for secure workflows

From
On request
Rated
-
Zoom logo

Zoom

Communication

Video conferencing that's easy, reliable, and secure

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Zoom has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Mattermost no published pricing on public website; requires sales contact for all tiers; Zoom cost creep from add-ons increases pricing from $14/user to $25+/user when including Phone and advanced features
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Mattermost and Zoom actually diverge.

Attributes where Mattermost and Zoom differ
AttributeMattermostZoom
Starting priceOn requestFree
Pricing modelquotesubscription
Free tierNoYes
PlatformsWebWeb, iOS, Android, Windows, macOS
FoundedUnknown2011

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Communication).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Mattermost

Nothing recorded that Zoom does not also cover.

Only in Zoom

  • HD video & audio
  • Screen sharing
  • Recording & transcripts
  • Virtual backgrounds
  • Breakout rooms
  • Polling & Q&A
  • Chat
  • Whiteboard

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Mattermost

  • Team messaging and collaborationnot Zoom
  • Secure enterprise communicationnot Zoom
  • On-premise or self-hosted deploymentnot Zoom

Zoom

  • Team meetingsnot Mattermost
  • Webinarsnot Mattermost
  • Virtual eventsnot Mattermost
  • Online trainingnot Mattermost
  • Telehealthnot Mattermost

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Mattermost

  • No published pricing on public website; requires sales contact for all tiers
  • Three tiers (Professional, Enterprise, Enterprise Advanced) have feature differences but no cost transparency
  • User scaling caps differ between tiers without public price justification

Zoom

  • Cost creep from add-ons increases pricing from $14/user to $25+/user when including Phone and advanced features
  • Feature set is overwhelming with complex navigation and too many options
  • Limited analytics and coaching features compared to dedicated contact center platforms
  • Call recording and admin oversight lack strict governance needed for regulated industries

Pricing, plan by plan

Mattermost

On request

No published plan breakdown. See the Mattermost review.

Zoom

Free
  • BasicFree
    • 100 participants
    • 40-minute group meetings
    • Unlimited 1-on-1 meetings
  • Pro$14.99/month
    • 100 participants
    • 30-hour group meetings
    • Cloud recording (5GB)
  • Business$19.99/month
    • 300 participants
    • Single sign-on
    • Recording transcripts
  • Enterprise$25/month
    • 500 participants
    • Advanced admin features
    • Executive business review

Which should you pick?

Choose Mattermost if

Nothing in the data separates Mattermost from Zoom on the points above - pick on price and on how each one feels to use.

Choose Zoom if

  • You need hd video & audio.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Web, iOS, Android, Windows, macOS.
  • You also want screen sharing.

Questions people ask

Is Mattermost or Zoom better?
Neither clearly leads. Mattermost starts at On request and Zoom at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Mattermost or Zoom?
Zoom has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at On request for Mattermost and Free for Zoom.
Does Mattermost or Zoom run on more platforms?
Mattermost runs on Web. Zoom runs on Web, iOS, Android, Windows, macOS.
Can I use Zoom for free?
Yes. Zoom has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Mattermost starts at On request.
What is Mattermost best used for?
Mattermost is most often used for team messaging and collaboration, secure enterprise communication, on-premise or self-hosted deployment. Of those, team messaging and collaboration and secure enterprise communication are not what Zoom is typically brought in for.
What can Mattermost do that Zoom cannot?
Zoom covers HD video & audio, Screen sharing, Recording & transcripts, Virtual backgrounds.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Mattermost: What user limits apply to each Mattermost pricing tier?

Professional tier supports maximum 250 users. Enterprise scales to 50,000 concurrent users. Enterprise Advanced scales to 200,000 concurrent users. Exact per-user costs not stated.

Source
Zoom: What are Zoom's main pricing tiers?

Zoom offers a free Basic plan with 40-minute limits for group meetings, Pro at $14.16/user/month, Business at $15.58/user/month with 300 participant capacity, and Enterprise with custom pricing. Additional costs apply for Phone ($10.50/user/month), Webinars, and Rooms.

Source
Mattermost: What support response times are included with each plan?

Professional includes community support plus business hours professional support with next business day response. Enterprise includes 24x7 support with 4-hour response time. Enterprise Advanced includes 24x7 with Premier Support option.

Source
Zoom: What integrations does Zoom support?

Zoom integrates with Salesforce, Slack, Microsoft 365, Google Workspace, HubSpot, Zendesk, and many other business applications, though integration depth varies by partner.

Source
Mattermost: How much does Mattermost cost for teams under 250 users?

Pricing for Professional tier with user counts under 250 is not disclosed publicly. Contact Mattermost sales for specific quotes.

Source
Zoom: Can Zoom be used for webinars?

Yes, Zoom Webinars is available as a separate product starting at $66.67 per month, providing larger audience capabilities and specialized webinar features.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads