E-Commerce · head to head
Sellfy vs Square

Sellfy
E-Commerce
Ecommerce platform for creators and entrepreneurs
- From
- $22/month
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Only Square has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: Sellfy every plan caps annual sales volume: $10k on Starter, $50k on Business and $200k on Premium; Square plus plan pricing not specified in documentation
- They diverge on capability: Sellfy covers Physical & digital products, Square covers Payment processing.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Sellfy and Square actually diverge.
Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (E-Commerce).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Sellfy
- Physical & digital products
- Membership/subscription sales
- Email marketing
- Marketing automation
- Affiliate program
- Analytics
- Mobile app
- Multi-currency support
Only in Square
- Payment processing
- Point of sale
- Invoicing
- Payroll
- Banking
- QuickBooks
- WooCommerce
- Wix
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Sellfy
- Selling digital downloads, subscriptions or print on demand goods from a hosted storefrontnot Square
- Running a small creator store without building a sitenot Square
Square
- Accept payments with all-in-one POS applicationnot Sellfy
- Online ordering and basic website creationnot Sellfy
- Invoicing and appointment bookingnot Sellfy
- Staff scheduling and loyalty programmesnot Sellfy
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Sellfy
- Every plan caps annual sales volume: $10k on Starter, $50k on Business and $200k on Premium
- Exceeding the cap forces a plan upgrade rather than an overage charge, so growth is a step change in cost
- Maximum file size per digital product is tied to the plan, at 10 GB, 15 GB and 20 GB
- Email marketing credits are metered per plan, from 2,000 to 50,000
- Cart abandonment, upselling and the affiliate programme all require the Business plan
- Payment processing fees from PayPal or Stripe are charged on top of the subscription
Square
- Plus plan pricing not specified in documentation
- Processing fees differ by tier but exact rates not detailed
- Free plan pricing mentioned but specific features for Plus unclear
- Text marketing charged at 3¢ per message after first 500 included
Pricing, plan by plan
Sellfy
$22/month- Starter$22/month
- From $22/month with annual billing (or $39/month with monthly billing)
- Basic e-commerce features for digital and physical products
- Business$null/month
- Mid-tier option with expanded capabilities
- Premium$null/month
- Highest tier with up to 20GB per digital product file storage
Square
Free- FreeFree
- Accept payments with all-in-one POS app
- Online site builder (ordering profiles, basic websites, online stores, booking sites)
- Item library and inventory tracking
- Plus$null/mo
- All Free plan features
- Advanced POS features for food, retail, and appointments
- Lower processing fees on card transactions
Which should you pick?
Choose Sellfy if
- You need physical & digital products.
- You also want membership/subscription sales.
Choose Square if
- You need payment processing.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on POS (Mobile app), Web.
- You also want point of sale.
Questions people ask
- Is Sellfy or Square better?
- Neither clearly leads. Sellfy starts at $22/month and Square at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Sellfy or Square?
- Square has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $22/month for Sellfy and Free for Square.
- Does Sellfy or Square run on more platforms?
- Sellfy runs on Web. Square runs on POS (Mobile app), Web.
- Can I use Square for free?
- Yes. Square has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Sellfy starts at $22/month.
- What is Sellfy best used for?
- Sellfy is most often used for selling digital downloads, subscriptions or print on demand goods from a hosted storefront, running a small creator store without building a site. Of those, selling digital downloads, subscriptions or print on demand goods from a hosted storefront and running a small creator store without building a site are not what Square is typically brought in for.
- What can Sellfy do that Square cannot?
- Sellfy covers Physical & digital products, Membership/subscription sales, Email marketing, Marketing automation. Square covers Payment processing, Point of sale, Invoicing, Payroll.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Sellfy: How much does Sellfy cost?
Sellfy starts at $22/month for the Starter plan with annual billing ($39/month with monthly billing). Higher tiers (Business and Premium) are available but specific pricing requires contacting sales or visiting the pricing page.
SourceSquare: Does Square offer a free plan?
Yes, Square's free plan includes an all-in-one POS app, online site builder, item library and inventory tracking, invoicing, appointment scheduling, staff calendars, and checking and savings account access. No subscription fees are charged.
SourceSellfy: Does Sellfy charge transaction fees?
No, Sellfy charges zero transaction fees on sales, unlike competitors such as Gumroad which charges 10%. If revenue exceeds a plan limit, a 2% fee may apply unless you upgrade to a higher tier.
SourceSquare: What does Square Plus add compared to the free plan?
Square Plus adds advanced POS features for food and retail, lower processing fees on card transactions, custom loyalty programs, unlimited email marketing campaigns, text messaging, and staff scheduling and attendance tracking.
SourceSellfy: Does Sellfy offer a free trial?
Yes, new users can access a 14-day free trial with no credit card required. During the trial you can customize store design and add product types, but upgrading to a paid plan is required to start selling.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- Sellfy vs Shopkeep
- Sellfy vs Magento
- Sellfy vs BigCommerce
- Sellfy vs Gumroad
- Sellfy vs FullStory
- Sellfy vs Squarespace Commerce
- Sellfy vs Square for Retail
- Sellfy vs Big Cartel
- Sellfy vs Volusion
- Sellfy vs Contentful
- Sellfy vs Shopify
- Sellfy vs Vendure
- Sellfy vs Wish
- Sellfy vs Wix eCommerce
- Sellfy vs WooCommerce
- Sellfy vs Zendrop
- Sellfy vs Stripe
- Sellfy vs KORONA POS
- Sellfy vs Heartland Retail
- Sellfy vs Toast
- Sellfy vs Medusa
- Sellfy vs Retail Pro
- Sellfy vs AliExpress
- Sellfy vs commercetools
- Sellfy vs Temu
- Sellfy vs Vinted
- Sellfy vs Klarna
- Sellfy vs NCR Voyix
- Sellfy vs Checkout.com
- Square vs Shopkeep
- Square vs Magento
- Square vs BigCommerce
- Square vs Gumroad
- Square vs FullStory
- Square vs Squarespace Commerce
- Square vs Square for Retail
- Square vs Big Cartel
- Square vs Volusion
- Square vs Contentful
- Square vs Shopify
- Square vs Vendure
- Square vs Wish
- Square vs Wix eCommerce
- Square vs WooCommerce
- Square vs Zendrop
- Square vs Stripe
- Square vs KORONA POS
- Square vs Heartland Retail
- Square vs Toast
- Square vs Medusa
- Square vs Retail Pro
- Square vs AliExpress
- Square vs commercetools
- Square vs Temu
- Square vs Vinted
- Square vs Klarna
- Square vs NCR Voyix
- Square vs Checkout.com

