Softwr

Communication · head to head

Mattermost vs Quo

Mattermost logo

Mattermost

Communication

Channel-centric collaboration for secure workflows

From
On request
Rated
-
Quo logo

Quo

Communication

Formerly OpenPhone

From
$15/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Mattermost no published pricing on public website; requires sales contact for all tiers; Quo unlimited calling to US and Canadian numbers is subject to a Fair Usage Policy rather than being truly unlimited
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 29 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Mattermost and Quo actually diverge.

Attributes where Mattermost and Quo differ
AttributeMattermostQuo
Starting priceOn request$15/month
Pricing modelquotesubscription

Identical on both: free tier (No), platforms (Web), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Communication).

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Mattermost

  • Team messaging and collaborationnot Quo
  • Secure enterprise communicationnot Quo
  • On-premise or self-hosted deploymentnot Quo

Quo

  • Maintaining separate business phone numbers from personal devicesnot Mattermost
  • Coordinating team communication through shared phone numbersnot Mattermost
  • Answering calls 24/7 with AI voice agents and summariesnot Mattermost
  • Recording and transcribing calls for sales and customer servicenot Mattermost

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Mattermost

  • No published pricing on public website; requires sales contact for all tiers
  • Three tiers (Professional, Enterprise, Enterprise Advanced) have feature differences but no cost transparency
  • User scaling caps differ between tiers without public price justification

Quo

  • Unlimited calling to US and Canadian numbers is subject to a Fair Usage Policy rather than being truly unlimited
  • Starter tier's $15/user annual rate requires prepaying annually; monthly billing costs $19/user, about 27% more
  • The Sona AI agent automation credits are capped at 1,000 free per plan before additional usage is billed

Pricing, plan by plan

Mattermost

On request

No published plan breakdown. See the Mattermost review.

Quo

$15/month
  • Starter$19/month
    • One phone number per user
    • Unlimited US & Canadian calling/messaging
    • Voicemail transcripts
  • Business$33/month
    • Everything in Starter plus:
    • AI call summaries and transcripts
    • Group calling and call transfers
  • Scale$47/month
    • Everything in Business plus:
    • AI call tags
    • Dedicated onboarding support

Which should you pick?

Choose Mattermost if

Nothing in the data separates Mattermost from Quo on the points above - pick on price and on how each one feels to use.

Choose Quo if

Nothing in the data separates Quo from Mattermost on the points above - pick on price and on how each one feels to use.

Questions people ask

Is Mattermost or Quo better?
Neither clearly leads. Mattermost starts at On request and Quo at $15/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Mattermost or Quo?
Mattermost starts at On request and Quo at $15/month.
Does Mattermost or Quo run on more platforms?
Both run on Web, so platform support will not decide this one for you.
What is Mattermost best used for?
Mattermost is most often used for team messaging and collaboration, secure enterprise communication, on-premise or self-hosted deployment. Of those, team messaging and collaboration and secure enterprise communication are not what Quo is typically brought in for.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Mattermost: What user limits apply to each Mattermost pricing tier?

Professional tier supports maximum 250 users. Enterprise scales to 50,000 concurrent users. Enterprise Advanced scales to 200,000 concurrent users. Exact per-user costs not stated.

Source
Quo: How much does Quo cost?

Quo pricing starts at $19/user/month for Starter, $33/user/month for Business, and $47/user/month for Scale. Annual billing provides discounts: $15, $23, and $35 per user/month respectively.

Source
Mattermost: What support response times are included with each plan?

Professional includes community support plus business hours professional support with next business day response. Enterprise includes 24x7 support with 4-hour response time. Enterprise Advanced includes 24x7 with Premier Support option.

Source
Quo: Does Quo offer a free trial?

Yes, Quo offers a 7-day risk-free trial with full access to all features. The trial is cancellable anytime without requiring a credit card.

Source
Mattermost: How much does Mattermost cost for teams under 250 users?

Pricing for Professional tier with user counts under 250 is not disclosed publicly. Contact Mattermost sales for specific quotes.

Source
Quo: What is included in the Sona AI agent?

All Quo plans include Sona AI agent with 1,000 free automation credits per month (approximately 10 calls). Add-on Sona AI credits range from $0-$199/month for 1,000-60,000 credits, with overage rates of $0.45-$1.00 per call.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads