Softwr

Maps · head to head

Apple Maps vs GraphHopper

Apple Maps logo

Apple Maps

Maps

Web mapping and navigation application developed by Apple Inc

From
On request
Rated
-
GraphHopper logo

GraphHopper

Maps

Open-source routing engine for road networks, providing fast route calculations, turn-by-turn navigation

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Apple Maps live traffic updates, public transit info, and satellite view all require an active internet connection, offline mode (iOS 17+) is limited to pre-downloaded areas for driving, walking, cycling, and transit directions; GraphHopper the free plan is non commercial use only
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 29 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Apple Maps and GraphHopper actually diverge.

Attributes where Apple Maps and GraphHopper differ
AttributeApple MapsGraphHopper
PlatformsiOS, macOS, WebWeb
Founded2012Unknown

Identical on both: starting price (On request), pricing model (freemium), free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Maps).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Apple Maps

Nothing recorded that GraphHopper does not also cover.

Only in GraphHopper

Nothing recorded that Apple Maps does not also cover.

Both cover

  • Core Functionality
  • User Interface

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Apple Maps

  • Turn-by-turn driving, walking, and cycling navigationnot GraphHopper
  • Public transit directions with real-time schedules (subways, buses, trains, ferries)not GraphHopper
  • Offline turn-by-turn directions for pre-downloaded areas (iOS 17+)not GraphHopper
  • Augmented-reality immersive walking directions in supported citiesnot GraphHopper
  • Saving custom hiking/walking routes, including U.S. national park hikes, for offline accessnot GraphHopper

GraphHopper

  • Routing, distance matrix and route optimisation over an APInot Apple Maps
  • Map matching GPS traces and generating isochronesnot Apple Maps

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Apple Maps

  • Live traffic updates, public transit info, and satellite view all require an active internet connection, offline mode (iOS 17+) is limited to pre-downloaded areas for driving, walking, cycling, and transit directions
  • Apple Maps for the web is only in public beta, not a full-featured release
  • Feature depth (e.g. immersive walking AR directions, detailed transit) is strongest on newer iPhones/iOS versions, leaving older devices with a reduced experience

GraphHopper

  • The free plan is non commercial use only
  • Free allows 500 credits a day, 5 locations per request and a single vehicle
  • Request complexity is capped per plan, at 30 locations and 2 vehicles on Basic at 69 EUR a month, rising to 200 locations and 20 vehicles on Premium at 479 EUR
  • Isochrone range is limited by plan, at 15 minutes on Basic and 30 on Premium
  • Credits are a daily allowance, so a busy day cannot draw on a quiet one

Pricing, plan by plan

Apple Maps

On request

No published plan breakdown. See the Apple Maps review.

GraphHopper

On request

No published plan breakdown. See the GraphHopper review.

Which should you pick?

Choose Apple Maps if

  • You work on iOS, macOS, Web.

Choose GraphHopper if

Nothing in the data separates GraphHopper from Apple Maps on the points above - pick on price and on how each one feels to use.

Questions people ask

Is Apple Maps or GraphHopper better?
Neither clearly leads. Apple Maps starts at On request and GraphHopper at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Apple Maps or GraphHopper?
Apple Maps starts at On request and GraphHopper at On request.
Does Apple Maps or GraphHopper run on more platforms?
Apple Maps runs on iOS, macOS, Web. GraphHopper runs on Web.
What is Apple Maps best used for?
Apple Maps is most often used for turn-by-turn driving, walking, and cycling navigation, public transit directions with real-time schedules (subways, buses, trains, ferries), offline turn-by-turn directions for pre-downloaded areas (ios 17+), augmented-reality immersive walking directions in supported cities. Of those, turn-by-turn driving, walking, and cycling navigation and public transit directions with real-time schedules (subways, buses, trains, ferries) are not what GraphHopper is typically brought in for.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Apple Maps: Is there a cost to integrate Apple Maps into my app?

The Apple Maps pricing page does not disclose whether MapKit or MapKit JS integration is free or paid. You would need to consult Apple's developer documentation for current pricing and licensing terms.

Source
GraphHopper: Is the free plan actually usable for production?

No. The free tier is limited to non-commercial use only and includes 500 daily credits. To use GraphHopper in production, you need a paid plan starting at 69 euros per month.

Source
Apple Maps: What are the usage limits for Apple Maps integration?

The pricing page does not specify any rate limits, monthly minimums, or usage caps for MapKit or MapKit JS. This information is available in Apple's developer documentation.

Source
GraphHopper: What happens if I exceed my daily credit limit?

The page does not specify. Each tier has a daily credit limit (500 for free, 5,000 for Basic, 15,000 for Standard, 50,000 for Premium), but no overage policy is documented.

Source
Apple Maps: Are there different pricing tiers for MapKit and MapKit JS?

The Apple Maps page mentions MapKit for iOS, iPadOS, and macOS apps, and MapKit JS for websites, but does not provide pricing details or tier information for either option.

Source
GraphHopper: Does GraphHopper offer a trial period?

No. There is no trial period. You can start with the free plan to test, but commercial use requires a paid subscription.

Source
GraphHopper: How much does the Premium plan cost and what do I get?

Premium is 479 euros per month and includes 50,000 daily credits, up to 200 locations per request, up to 20 vehicles, email and phone support, and access to all APIs including routing and optimization.

Source
GraphHopper: Is there a discount if I link back to GraphHopper?

Yes. A 20% discount is available with proper attribution. The page also mentions a 99.5% uptime SLA on paid plans only.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads