Softwr

Maps · head to head

GraphHopper vs Mapzen

GraphHopper logo

GraphHopper

Maps

Open-source routing engine for road networks, providing fast route calculations, turn-by-turn navigation

From
On request
Rated
-
Mapzen logo

Mapzen

Maps

Mapzen was an open-source mapping platform that provided geocoding, routing, and map rendering services

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: GraphHopper the free plan is non commercial use only; Mapzen no pricing information published on main product page describing services and features
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 29 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which GraphHopper and Mapzen actually diverge.

Attributes where GraphHopper and Mapzen differ
AttributeGraphHopperMapzen

Identical on both: starting price (On request), pricing model (freemium), free tier (No), platforms (Web), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Maps).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in GraphHopper

Nothing recorded that Mapzen does not also cover.

Only in Mapzen

Nothing recorded that GraphHopper does not also cover.

Both cover

  • Core Functionality
  • User Interface

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

GraphHopper

  • Routing, distance matrix and route optimisation over an APInot Mapzen
  • Map matching GPS traces and generating isochronesnot Mapzen

Mapzen

  • Mapping platform with vector tiles and terrain datanot GraphHopper
  • Search, routing, and navigation servicesnot GraphHopper

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

GraphHopper

  • The free plan is non commercial use only
  • Free allows 500 credits a day, 5 locations per request and a single vehicle
  • Request complexity is capped per plan, at 30 locations and 2 vehicles on Basic at 69 EUR a month, rising to 200 locations and 20 vehicles on Premium at 479 EUR
  • Isochrone range is limited by plan, at 15 minutes on Basic and 30 on Premium
  • Credits are a daily allowance, so a busy day cannot draw on a quiet one

Mapzen

  • No pricing information published on main product page describing services and features
  • No clear indication of whether Mapzen is still actively maintained or in legacy status
  • No published tier structure or usage limits visible to potential customers

Pricing, plan by plan

GraphHopper

On request

No published plan breakdown. See the GraphHopper review.

Mapzen

On request

No published plan breakdown. See the Mapzen review.

Which should you pick?

Choose GraphHopper if

Nothing in the data separates GraphHopper from Mapzen on the points above - pick on price and on how each one feels to use.

Choose Mapzen if

Nothing in the data separates Mapzen from GraphHopper on the points above - pick on price and on how each one feels to use.

Questions people ask

Is GraphHopper or Mapzen better?
Neither clearly leads. GraphHopper starts at On request and Mapzen at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, GraphHopper or Mapzen?
GraphHopper starts at On request and Mapzen at On request.
Does GraphHopper or Mapzen run on more platforms?
Both run on Web, so platform support will not decide this one for you.
What is GraphHopper best used for?
GraphHopper is most often used for routing, distance matrix and route optimisation over an api, map matching gps traces and generating isochrones. Of those, routing, distance matrix and route optimisation over an api and map matching gps traces and generating isochrones are not what Mapzen is typically brought in for.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

GraphHopper: Is the free plan actually usable for production?

No. The free tier is limited to non-commercial use only and includes 500 daily credits. To use GraphHopper in production, you need a paid plan starting at 69 euros per month.

Source
Mapzen: What is Mapzen's pricing model for mapping and routing services?

Mapzen does not publish pricing information on its main website. The platform describes various services including map display, search, turn-by-turn navigation, routing (isochrone, map matching, optimized routes), and data products (vector tiles, terrain tiles, elevation data), but no cost details are disclosed.

Source
GraphHopper: What happens if I exceed my daily credit limit?

The page does not specify. Each tier has a daily credit limit (500 for free, 5,000 for Basic, 15,000 for Standard, 50,000 for Premium), but no overage policy is documented.

Source
Mapzen: What data products does Mapzen offer?

Mapzen offers vector tiles, terrain tiles, and elevation data products. Specific pricing for accessing these data products is not published on the website. Interested customers should contact Mapzen directly for commercial licensing information.

Source
GraphHopper: Does GraphHopper offer a trial period?

No. There is no trial period. You can start with the free plan to test, but commercial use requires a paid subscription.

Source
Mapzen: Does Mapzen provide turn-by-turn navigation and routing services?

Yes, Mapzen includes turn-by-turn navigation and routing services including isochrone, map matching, and optimized routes functionality. Pricing and API rate limits for these services are not disclosed on the main website.

Source
GraphHopper: How much does the Premium plan cost and what do I get?

Premium is 479 euros per month and includes 50,000 daily credits, up to 200 locations per request, up to 20 vehicles, email and phone support, and access to all APIs including routing and optimization.

Source
GraphHopper: Is there a discount if I link back to GraphHopper?

Yes. A 20% discount is available with proper attribution. The page also mentions a 99.5% uptime SLA on paid plans only.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads