Softwr

Maps · head to head

Apple Maps vs Google Maps Platform

Apple Maps logo

Apple Maps

Maps

Web mapping and navigation application developed by Apple Inc

From
On request
Rated
-
Google Maps Platform logo

Google Maps Platform

Maps

Comprehensive set of APIs and SDKs that allow developers to embed Google

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Google Maps Platform has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Apple Maps live traffic updates, public transit info, and satellite view all require an active internet connection, offline mode (iOS 17+) is limited to pre-downloaded areas for driving, walking, cycling, and transit directions; Google Maps Platform free allowances are per service rather than pooled, at 10,000 events a month for dynamic maps, geocoding and autocomplete
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 29 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Apple Maps and Google Maps Platform actually diverge.

Attributes where Apple Maps and Google Maps Platform differ
AttributeApple MapsGoogle Maps Platform
Starting priceOn requestFree
Pricing modelfreemiumsubscription
Free tierNoYes
PlatformsiOS, macOS, WebWeb
Founded20122005

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Maps).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Apple Maps

Nothing recorded that Google Maps Platform does not also cover.

Only in Google Maps Platform

Nothing recorded that Apple Maps does not also cover.

Both cover

  • Core Functionality
  • User Interface

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Apple Maps

  • Turn-by-turn driving, walking, and cycling navigationnot Google Maps Platform
  • Public transit directions with real-time schedules (subways, buses, trains, ferries)not Google Maps Platform
  • Offline turn-by-turn directions for pre-downloaded areas (iOS 17+)not Google Maps Platform
  • Augmented-reality immersive walking directions in supported citiesnot Google Maps Platform
  • Saving custom hiking/walking routes, including U.S. national park hikes, for offline accessnot Google Maps Platform

Google Maps Platform

  • Embedding dynamic maps, Street View and photorealistic 3D tiles in an applicationnot Apple Maps
  • Route computation, navigation and fleet route optimisationnot Apple Maps
  • Geocoding, place autocomplete and address validationnot Apple Maps
  • Environmental data including weather, solar, air quality and pollennot Apple Maps
  • Geospatial analytics through Earth Enginenot Apple Maps

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Apple Maps

  • Live traffic updates, public transit info, and satellite view all require an active internet connection, offline mode (iOS 17+) is limited to pre-downloaded areas for driving, walking, cycling, and transit directions
  • Apple Maps for the web is only in public beta, not a full-featured release
  • Feature depth (e.g. immersive walking AR directions, detailed transit) is strongest on newer iPhones/iOS versions, leaving older devices with a reduced experience

Google Maps Platform

  • Free allowances are per service rather than pooled, at 10,000 events a month for dynamic maps, geocoding and autocomplete
  • Dynamic Maps cost $7.00 per 1,000 calls at the entry tier
  • Geocoding and the Directions API both cost $5.00 per 1,000 calls at the entry tier
  • Pricing is tiered by volume, so the effective unit price depends on total monthly usage and is hard to predict in advance
  • Billing is usage based with no flat plan, so a traffic spike is a cost spike

Pricing, plan by plan

Apple Maps

On request

No published plan breakdown. See the Apple Maps review.

Google Maps Platform

Free
  • Starter$100/month
    • 50,000 monthly calls
    • Dynamic Maps
    • Geocoding
  • Essentials$275/month
    • 100,000 monthly calls
    • Dynamic Maps
    • Geocoding
  • Pro$1200/month
    • 250,000 monthly calls
    • All Essentials features
    • Address Validation Pro
  • Enterprise$null/month
    • Custom monthly call allowances
    • Maximum flexibility
    • Extensive customization

Which should you pick?

Choose Apple Maps if

  • You work on iOS, macOS, Web.

Choose Google Maps Platform if

  • You want to start without paying.

Questions people ask

Is Apple Maps or Google Maps Platform better?
Neither clearly leads. Apple Maps starts at On request and Google Maps Platform at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Apple Maps or Google Maps Platform?
Google Maps Platform has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at On request for Apple Maps and Free for Google Maps Platform.
Does Apple Maps or Google Maps Platform run on more platforms?
Apple Maps runs on iOS, macOS, Web. Google Maps Platform runs on Web.
Can I use Google Maps Platform for free?
Yes. Google Maps Platform has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Apple Maps starts at On request.
What is Apple Maps best used for?
Apple Maps is most often used for turn-by-turn driving, walking, and cycling navigation, public transit directions with real-time schedules (subways, buses, trains, ferries), offline turn-by-turn directions for pre-downloaded areas (ios 17+), augmented-reality immersive walking directions in supported cities. Of those, turn-by-turn driving, walking, and cycling navigation and public transit directions with real-time schedules (subways, buses, trains, ferries) are not what Google Maps Platform is typically brought in for.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Apple Maps: Is there a cost to integrate Apple Maps into my app?

The Apple Maps pricing page does not disclose whether MapKit or MapKit JS integration is free or paid. You would need to consult Apple's developer documentation for current pricing and licensing terms.

Source
Google Maps Platform: How much does Google Maps Platform cost?

Google Maps Platform offers subscription plans starting at $100/month for the Starter plan (50,000 calls), $275/month for Essentials (100,000 calls), and $1,200/month for Pro (250,000 calls). Enterprise pricing is custom.

Source
Apple Maps: What are the usage limits for Apple Maps integration?

The pricing page does not specify any rate limits, monthly minimums, or usage caps for MapKit or MapKit JS. This information is available in Apple's developer documentation.

Source
Google Maps Platform: Is there a free tier for Google Maps Platform?

Yes, Google Maps Platform provides a free tier with 10,000 calls per SKU monthly for Essentials and Pro products, plus automatic volume discounts starting at 20% for usage exceeding 100K monthly requests.

Source
Apple Maps: Are there different pricing tiers for MapKit and MapKit JS?

The Apple Maps page mentions MapKit for iOS, iPadOS, and macOS apps, and MapKit JS for websites, but does not provide pricing details or tier information for either option.

Source
Google Maps Platform: What API products are included in each Google Maps tier?

Starter includes Dynamic Maps and Geocoding. Essentials adds Autocomplete, Geolocation, Place Details, Time Zone, Routes, Air Quality, Solar API, and Weather. Pro adds Address Validation, Places Aggregate API, Nearby Search Pro, Text Search Pro, Immersive Maps, Aerial View, Elevation, Route Optimization, and Pollen.

Source
Google Maps Platform: Do new Google Maps Platform customers get any trial credits?

Yes, new customers receive $300 in trial credit toward their Google Maps Platform usage.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads