Softwr

Smart Home · head to head

Nanoleaf vs Particle

Nanoleaf logo

Nanoleaf

Smart Home

Modular smart lighting panels for creative expression

From
On request
Rated
-
Particle logo

Particle

Smart Home

Edge-to-cloud IoT platform for connected devices

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Particle has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Nanoleaf matter control requires a compatible Matter hub, and Thread devices require a Thread border router; Particle paid capacity is sold in blocks of 100 devices rather than per device, so 101 devices costs the same as 200
  • They diverge on capability: Nanoleaf covers Modular Design, Particle covers Device OS.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Nanoleaf and Particle actually diverge.

Attributes where Nanoleaf and Particle differ
AttributeNanoleafParticle
Starting priceOn requestFree
Pricing modelone-timesubscription
Free tierNoYes
PlatformsIOS, Android, Windows, MacOSParticle devices, Custom hardware, Cloud, Mobile apps
Founded20122013

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Smart Home).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Nanoleaf

  • Modular Design
  • Music Sync
  • Screen Mirror
  • Touch Control
  • HomeKit
  • Alexa
  • Google Home
  • SmartThings

Only in Particle

  • Device OS
  • Cloud Platform
  • Device Management
  • OTA Updates
  • REST API
  • WebHooks
  • Integration marketplace
  • 3rd party services

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Nanoleaf

  • Colour-changing panel and strip lighting for rooms and desk setupsnot Particle
  • Screen and game reactive lighting synced to a PCnot Particle

Particle

  • Connecting cellular and wifi IoT devices to a managed cloud platformnot Nanoleaf
  • Deploying firmware updates and collecting device telemetry at fleet scalenot Nanoleaf

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Nanoleaf

  • Matter control requires a compatible Matter hub, and Thread devices require a Thread border router
  • The desktop app requires Windows 11 or macOS 13
  • Engine DJ and Overwolf integrations are desktop only
  • The Corsair iCUE integration works with select products only
  • The API documentation is available in English only

Particle

  • Paid capacity is sold in blocks of 100 devices rather than per device, so 101 devices costs the same as 200
  • The Basic block is $299 a month and the Plus block $599 a month
  • The free tier allows 100 devices and 100,000 data operations a month
  • Data operations are the billing unit, so chatty firmware costs more than the device count suggests
  • No overage rates are published at any tier, so exceeding an allowance has no stated cost

Pricing, plan by plan

Nanoleaf

On request
  • Shapes Starter Kit$99/month
    • 9 panels
    • Music sync
    • Touch control
  • Lines Starter Kit$149/month
    • 9 lines
    • Backlit design
    • Modular

Particle

Free
  • MakerFree
    • 5 free devices
    • Cloud access
    • Basic features
  • Production$100/month
    • Unlimited devices
    • Advanced analytics
    • Enterprise support

Which should you pick?

Choose Nanoleaf if

  • You need modular design.
  • You work on IOS, Android, Windows, MacOS.
  • You also want music sync.

Choose Particle if

  • You need device os.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Particle devices, Custom hardware, Cloud, Mobile apps.
  • You also want cloud platform.

Questions people ask

Is Nanoleaf or Particle better?
Neither clearly leads. Nanoleaf starts at On request and Particle at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Nanoleaf or Particle?
Particle has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at On request for Nanoleaf and Free for Particle.
Does Nanoleaf or Particle run on more platforms?
Nanoleaf runs on IOS, Android, Windows, MacOS. Particle runs on Particle devices, Custom hardware, Cloud, Mobile apps.
Can I use Particle for free?
Yes. Particle has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Nanoleaf starts at On request.
What is Nanoleaf best used for?
Nanoleaf is most often used for colour-changing panel and strip lighting for rooms and desk setups, screen and game reactive lighting synced to a pc. Of those, colour-changing panel and strip lighting for rooms and desk setups and screen and game reactive lighting synced to a pc are not what Particle is typically brought in for.
What can Nanoleaf do that Particle cannot?
Nanoleaf covers Modular Design, Music Sync, Screen Mirror, Touch Control. Particle covers Device OS, Cloud Platform, Device Management, OTA Updates.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Nanoleaf: Does Nanoleaf require a subscription or recurring charges?

No. Nanoleaf lighting products are hardware-based and require no subscription. Products are sold as one-time purchases with no ongoing subscription fees or service charges mentioned.

Source
Particle: What are the Particle pricing tiers and their costs?

Particle offers Free ($0, 100 devices, 100K Data Operations/month), Basic ($299/month per block), Plus ($599/month per block), Professional (custom pricing), and Enterprise (custom pricing). Each block supports 100 devices.

Source
Nanoleaf: What is the typical price range for Nanoleaf wall lighting starter kits?

Nanoleaf wall lighting starter kits (Shapes, Lines, Elements, Blocks) range from approximately 107.99 to 179.99 USD. Expansion packs for these systems cost between 24.99 and 69.99 USD.

Source
Particle: What is a Data Operation and how is it charged?

A Data Operation is Particle's billing unit for user-controlled activities. One operation is charged per device-to-cloud message, cloud-to-device message, Location Fusion call, Ledger sync, or Logic function run. Network transmission and management tasks are included at no additional cost.

Source
Nanoleaf: What does Nanoleaf offer besides wall lighting?

Nanoleaf sells smart home lighting products including smart bulbs (14.99 to 19.99 each), ceiling lights (129.99 to 159.98 for 2-packs), light strips (44.99 to 49.99), outdoor string lights (259.99 to 319.98), solar garden lights, wellness products like light therapy wands (79.99), and curated bundles ranging from 39.99 to 758.73.

Source
Particle: What location data retention does each tier provide?

Location data retention ranges from 3 days in the Free tier up to 6+ months in Professional and Enterprise tiers.

Source
Nanoleaf: Are there trials or money-back guarantees mentioned for Nanoleaf products?

No trial periods are mentioned on the Nanoleaf website. The site features ongoing promotions such as back-to-school sales with discounts up to 70% on select items, but no satisfaction guarantee or return policy is displayed on the pricing page.

Source
Particle: Are there additional costs for support or single sign-on?

Premium support and SSO are available as optional add-ons to all Particle plans. The pricing page does not specify the cost of these add-ons.

Source
Particle: Is there a minimum contract length or can I cancel anytime?

The Particle pricing page does not specify a minimum contract length, suggesting monthly billing without long-term lock-in.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads