Smart Home · head to head
Particle vs TP-Link Kasa
The short version
- Each has a real cost: Particle paid capacity is sold in blocks of 100 devices rather than per device, so 101 devices costs the same as 200; TP-Link Kasa plus plan only covers one camera per subscription
- They diverge on capability: Particle covers Device OS, TP-Link Kasa covers Affordable.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Particle and TP-Link Kasa actually diverge.
| Attribute | Particle | TP-Link Kasa |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing model | subscription | freemium |
| Platforms | Particle devices, Custom hardware, Cloud, Mobile apps | IOS, Android, Web |
| Founded | 2013 | 1996 |
Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Smart Home).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Particle
- Device OS
- Cloud Platform
- Device Management
- OTA Updates
- REST API
- WebHooks
- Integration marketplace
- 3rd party services
Only in TP-Link Kasa
- Affordable
- No Hub Required
- Energy Monitoring
- Scheduling
- Alexa
- Google Home
- SmartThings
- IFTTT
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Particle
- Connecting cellular and wifi IoT devices to a managed cloud platformnot TP-Link Kasa
- Deploying firmware updates and collecting device telemetry at fleet scalenot TP-Link Kasa
TP-Link Kasa
- Home security camera recording and playbacknot Particle
- Smart home automation monitoringnot Particle
- Pet and baby monitoringnot Particle
- Outdoor property surveillancenot Particle
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Particle
- Paid capacity is sold in blocks of 100 devices rather than per device, so 101 devices costs the same as 200
- The Basic block is $299 a month and the Plus block $599 a month
- The free tier allows 100 devices and 100,000 data operations a month
- Data operations are the billing unit, so chatty firmware costs more than the device count suggests
- No overage rates are published at any tier, so exceeding an allowance has no stated cost
TP-Link Kasa
- Plus plan only covers one camera per subscription
- No free trial mentioned for paid tiers
- Premium plan requires annual commitment discount to reach $100/year pricing
- Video retention limited to 30 days even on paid plans
Pricing, plan by plan
Particle
Free- MakerFree
- 5 free devices
- Cloud access
- Basic features
- Production$100/month
- Unlimited devices
- Advanced analytics
- Enterprise support
TP-Link Kasa
Free- Free TierFree
- Live streaming
- Push-to-talk
- Activity zones
- Plus$3/month
- 30 days of video history
- Manual clip recording
- Video sharing
- Premium$10/month
- Covers up to 10 cameras
- All Plus features
- Snapshots with alerts
Which should you pick?
Choose Particle if
- You need device os.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Particle devices, Custom hardware, Cloud, Mobile apps.
- You also want cloud platform.
Choose TP-Link Kasa if
- You need affordable.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on IOS, Android, Web.
- You also want no hub required.
Questions people ask
- Is Particle or TP-Link Kasa better?
- Neither clearly leads. Particle starts at Free and TP-Link Kasa at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Particle or TP-Link Kasa?
- Particle starts at Free and TP-Link Kasa at Free.
- Does Particle or TP-Link Kasa run on more platforms?
- Particle runs on Particle devices, Custom hardware, Cloud, Mobile apps. TP-Link Kasa runs on IOS, Android, Web.
- Can I use Particle for free?
- Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
- What is Particle best used for?
- Particle is most often used for connecting cellular and wifi iot devices to a managed cloud platform, deploying firmware updates and collecting device telemetry at fleet scale. Of those, connecting cellular and wifi iot devices to a managed cloud platform and deploying firmware updates and collecting device telemetry at fleet scale are not what TP-Link Kasa is typically brought in for.
- What can Particle do that TP-Link Kasa cannot?
- Particle covers Device OS, Cloud Platform, Device Management, OTA Updates. TP-Link Kasa covers Affordable, No Hub Required, Energy Monitoring, Scheduling.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Particle: What are the Particle pricing tiers and their costs?
Particle offers Free ($0, 100 devices, 100K Data Operations/month), Basic ($299/month per block), Plus ($599/month per block), Professional (custom pricing), and Enterprise (custom pricing). Each block supports 100 devices.
SourceTP-Link Kasa: Does Kasa Care offer a free plan?
Yes, Kasa's free tier includes live streaming, push-to-talk, activity zones, and activity notifications at no cost.
SourceParticle: What is a Data Operation and how is it charged?
A Data Operation is Particle's billing unit for user-controlled activities. One operation is charged per device-to-cloud message, cloud-to-device message, Location Fusion call, Ledger sync, or Logic function run. Network transmission and management tasks are included at no additional cost.
SourceTP-Link Kasa: What's the difference between Kasa Plus and Premium?
Plus costs $3/month and provides 30 days of video history per camera. Premium costs $10/month and covers up to 10 cameras with all Plus features. Premium is billed at $100/year vs Plus at $30/year per camera.
SourceParticle: What location data retention does each tier provide?
Location data retention ranges from 3 days in the Free tier up to 6+ months in Professional and Enterprise tiers.
SourceTP-Link Kasa: Can Premium cover all my cameras?
Yes, Kasa Premium covers up to 10 cameras under one $10/month subscription, making it more economical than Plus for multiple devices.
SourceParticle: Are there additional costs for support or single sign-on?
Premium support and SSO are available as optional add-ons to all Particle plans. The pricing page does not specify the cost of these add-ons.
SourceParticle: Is there a minimum contract length or can I cancel anytime?
The Particle pricing page does not specify a minimum contract length, suggesting monthly billing without long-term lock-in.
SourceRelated pages
More on TP-Link Kasa
Other head to heads
- Particle vs Amazon Alexa
- Particle vs Apple HomeKit
- Particle vs Google Home
- Particle vs Home Assistant
- Particle vs Blynk
- Particle vs Arduino Cloud
- Particle vs Node-RED
- Particle vs Losant
- Particle vs Thread
- Particle vs MQTT
- Particle vs SmartThings
- Particle vs Zigbee Alliance
- Particle vs Meross
- Particle vs Nanoleaf
- Particle vs OpenHAB
- Particle vs Philips Hue
- Particle vs Ring
- Particle vs Roomba
- Particle vs Ecobee
- Particle vs Shelly
- Particle vs Wyze
- Particle vs LIFX
- Particle vs Yeelight
- Particle vs Nest
- Particle vs Govee
- Particle vs Lutron Caseta
- TP-Link Kasa vs Amazon Alexa
- TP-Link Kasa vs Apple HomeKit
- TP-Link Kasa vs Google Home
- TP-Link Kasa vs Home Assistant
- TP-Link Kasa vs Blynk
- TP-Link Kasa vs Arduino Cloud
- TP-Link Kasa vs Node-RED
- TP-Link Kasa vs Losant
- TP-Link Kasa vs Thread
- TP-Link Kasa vs MQTT
- TP-Link Kasa vs SmartThings
- TP-Link Kasa vs Zigbee Alliance
- TP-Link Kasa vs Meross
- TP-Link Kasa vs Nanoleaf
- TP-Link Kasa vs OpenHAB
- TP-Link Kasa vs Philips Hue
- TP-Link Kasa vs Ring
- TP-Link Kasa vs Roomba
- TP-Link Kasa vs Ecobee
- TP-Link Kasa vs Shelly
- TP-Link Kasa vs Wyze
- TP-Link Kasa vs LIFX
- TP-Link Kasa vs Yeelight
- TP-Link Kasa vs Nest
- TP-Link Kasa vs Govee
- TP-Link Kasa vs Lutron Caseta


