Softwr

Smart Home · head to head

Matter vs Particle

Matter logo

Matter

Smart Home

Unified smart home connectivity standard

From
Free
Rated
-
Particle logo

Particle

Smart Home

Edge-to-cloud IoT platform for connected devices

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Matter the Internet Archive's capture of the Connectivity Standards Alliance's Matter page on 1 January 2023 confirmed Matter itself is a free, open IP-based connectivity standard with no license fee to implement; manufacturers instead pay a separate certification fee to certify individual devices.; Particle paid capacity is sold in blocks of 100 devices rather than per device, so 101 devices costs the same as 200
  • They diverge on capability: Matter covers Unified Standard, Particle covers Device OS.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Matter and Particle actually diverge.

Attributes where Matter and Particle differ
AttributeMatterParticle
Pricing modelopen-sourcesubscription
PlatformsMatter-enabled devices, All major hubs, Cloud, Local controlParticle devices, Custom hardware, Cloud, Mobile apps
Founded20212013

Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Smart Home).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Matter

  • Unified Standard
  • Multi-Admin
  • Secure Communication
  • Interoperable
  • All major ecosystems
  • HomeKit
  • Google Home
  • Alexa

Only in Particle

  • Device OS
  • Cloud Platform
  • Device Management
  • OTA Updates
  • REST API
  • WebHooks
  • Integration marketplace
  • 3rd party services

Both cover

  • Cloud support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Matter

  • Cross-ecosystem compatibilitynot Particle
  • Future-proof devicesnot Particle
  • Simplified setupnot Particle
  • Local controlnot Particle

Particle

  • Connecting cellular and wifi IoT devices to a managed cloud platformnot Matter
  • Deploying firmware updates and collecting device telemetry at fleet scalenot Matter

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Matter

  • The Internet Archive's capture of the Connectivity Standards Alliance's Matter page on 1 January 2023 confirmed Matter itself is a free, open IP-based connectivity standard with no license fee to implement; manufacturers instead pay a separate certification fee to certify individual devices.

Particle

  • Paid capacity is sold in blocks of 100 devices rather than per device, so 101 devices costs the same as 200
  • The Basic block is $299 a month and the Plus block $599 a month
  • The free tier allows 100 devices and 100,000 data operations a month
  • Data operations are the billing unit, so chatty firmware costs more than the device count suggests
  • No overage rates are published at any tier, so exceeding an allowance has no stated cost

Pricing, plan by plan

Matter

Free
  • Open StandardFree
    • Unified connectivity
    • Cross-platform
    • Local control

Particle

Free
  • MakerFree
    • 5 free devices
    • Cloud access
    • Basic features
  • Production$100/month
    • Unlimited devices
    • Advanced analytics
    • Enterprise support

Which should you pick?

Choose Matter if

  • You need unified standard.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Matter-enabled devices, All major hubs, Cloud, Local control.
  • You also want multi-admin.

Choose Particle if

  • You need device os.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Particle devices, Custom hardware, Cloud, Mobile apps.
  • You also want cloud platform.

Questions people ask

Is Matter or Particle better?
Neither clearly leads. Matter starts at Free and Particle at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Matter or Particle?
Matter starts at Free and Particle at Free.
Does Matter or Particle run on more platforms?
Matter runs on Matter-enabled devices, All major hubs, Cloud, Local control. Particle runs on Particle devices, Custom hardware, Cloud, Mobile apps.
Can I use Matter for free?
Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
What is Matter best used for?
Matter is most often used for cross-ecosystem compatibility, future-proof devices, simplified setup, local control. Of those, cross-ecosystem compatibility and future-proof devices are not what Particle is typically brought in for.
What can Matter do that Particle cannot?
Matter covers Unified Standard, Multi-Admin, Secure Communication, Interoperable. Particle covers Device OS, Cloud Platform, Device Management, OTA Updates. Both handle Cloud support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Particle: What are the Particle pricing tiers and their costs?

Particle offers Free ($0, 100 devices, 100K Data Operations/month), Basic ($299/month per block), Plus ($599/month per block), Professional (custom pricing), and Enterprise (custom pricing). Each block supports 100 devices.

Source
Particle: What is a Data Operation and how is it charged?

A Data Operation is Particle's billing unit for user-controlled activities. One operation is charged per device-to-cloud message, cloud-to-device message, Location Fusion call, Ledger sync, or Logic function run. Network transmission and management tasks are included at no additional cost.

Source
Particle: What location data retention does each tier provide?

Location data retention ranges from 3 days in the Free tier up to 6+ months in Professional and Enterprise tiers.

Source
Particle: Are there additional costs for support or single sign-on?

Premium support and SSO are available as optional add-ons to all Particle plans. The pricing page does not specify the cost of these add-ons.

Source
Particle: Is there a minimum contract length or can I cancel anytime?

The Particle pricing page does not specify a minimum contract length, suggesting monthly billing without long-term lock-in.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads