Smart Home · head to head
Govee vs Particle
The short version
- Only Particle has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: Govee product-only model with no subscription or service tiers; Particle paid capacity is sold in blocks of 100 devices rather than per device, so 101 devices costs the same as 200
- They diverge on capability: Govee covers RGBIC technology, Particle covers Device OS.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Govee and Particle actually diverge.
Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Smart Home).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Govee
- RGBIC technology
- Music sync
- DreamView
- DIY scenes
- Timer
- Voice control
- Amazon Alexa
- Google Assistant
Only in Particle
- Device OS
- Cloud Platform
- Device Management
- OTA Updates
- REST API
- WebHooks
- Integration marketplace
- 3rd party services
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Govee
- Gaming setupnot Particle
- TV ambient lightingnot Particle
- Room decornot Particle
- Outdoor lightingnot Particle
Particle
- Connecting cellular and wifi IoT devices to a managed cloud platformnot Govee
- Deploying firmware updates and collecting device telemetry at fleet scalenot Govee
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Govee
- Product-only model with no subscription or service tiers
- One-time purchases required for each device or system
- Pricing varies significantly by product type and feature set
Particle
- Paid capacity is sold in blocks of 100 devices rather than per device, so 101 devices costs the same as 200
- The Basic block is $299 a month and the Plus block $599 a month
- The free tier allows 100 devices and 100,000 data operations a month
- Data operations are the billing unit, so chatty firmware costs more than the device count suggests
- No overage rates are published at any tier, so exceeding an allowance has no stated cost
Pricing, plan by plan
Govee
$30/one-time- Budget smart lights$30/one-time
- Basic smart lighting products
- Premium smart lights$180/one-time
- Advanced lighting features
- Multiple color options
- Professional outdoor lighting$759.99/one-time
- Permanent outdoor light installation
- Professional-grade features
Particle
Free- MakerFree
- 5 free devices
- Cloud access
- Basic features
- Production$100/month
- Unlimited devices
- Advanced analytics
- Enterprise support
Which should you pick?
Choose Govee if
- You need rgbic technology.
- You work on IOS, Android.
- You also want music sync.
Choose Particle if
- You need device os.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Particle devices, Custom hardware, Cloud, Mobile apps.
- You also want cloud platform.
Questions people ask
- Is Govee or Particle better?
- Neither clearly leads. Govee starts at $30/one-time and Particle at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Govee or Particle?
- Particle has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $30/one-time for Govee and Free for Particle.
- Does Govee or Particle run on more platforms?
- Govee runs on IOS, Android. Particle runs on Particle devices, Custom hardware, Cloud, Mobile apps.
- Can I use Particle for free?
- Yes. Particle has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Govee starts at $30/one-time.
- What is Govee best used for?
- Govee is most often used for gaming setup, tv ambient lighting, room decor, outdoor lighting. Of those, gaming setup and tv ambient lighting are not what Particle is typically brought in for.
- What can Govee do that Particle cannot?
- Govee covers RGBIC technology, Music sync, DreamView, DIY scenes. Particle covers Device OS, Cloud Platform, Device Management, OTA Updates.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Govee: What is Govee's pricing model?
Govee operates an e-commerce model selling smart lighting products with one-time purchases. Products range from approximately 30 USD to 759.99 USD depending on product type and features.
SourceParticle: What are the Particle pricing tiers and their costs?
Particle offers Free ($0, 100 devices, 100K Data Operations/month), Basic ($299/month per block), Plus ($599/month per block), Professional (custom pricing), and Enterprise (custom pricing). Each block supports 100 devices.
SourceGovee: What are typical Govee product prices?
Govee Uplighter Floor Lamp costs 149.99-179.99 USD, Govee TV Backlight 3 Lite costs 69.99-89.99 USD, and Govee Permanent Outdoor Lights Pro costs 759.99 USD.
SourceParticle: What is a Data Operation and how is it charged?
A Data Operation is Particle's billing unit for user-controlled activities. One operation is charged per device-to-cloud message, cloud-to-device message, Location Fusion call, Ledger sync, or Logic function run. Network transmission and management tasks are included at no additional cost.
SourceGovee: Are there payment plans or discounts for Govee products?
Yes, Govee offers installment payment options, a 30-day money-back guarantee, buy 2 save 10% discounts on select items, and new customers receive 5 USD off their first order.
SourceParticle: What location data retention does each tier provide?
Location data retention ranges from 3 days in the Free tier up to 6+ months in Professional and Enterprise tiers.
SourceGovee: Does Govee have a loyalty program?
Yes, Govee offers a Member Rewards Program where customers earn points on purchases and unlock exclusive member-only perks with store credit.
SourceParticle: Are there additional costs for support or single sign-on?
Premium support and SSO are available as optional add-ons to all Particle plans. The pricing page does not specify the cost of these add-ons.
SourceParticle: Is there a minimum contract length or can I cancel anytime?
The Particle pricing page does not specify a minimum contract length, suggesting monthly billing without long-term lock-in.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- Govee vs Amazon Alexa
- Govee vs Apple HomeKit
- Govee vs Google Home
- Govee vs Home Assistant
- Govee vs Yeelight
- Govee vs Philips Hue
- Govee vs Wyze
- Govee vs TP-Link Kasa
- Govee vs Meross
- Govee vs LIFX
- Govee vs Aqara
- Govee vs Lutron Caseta
- Govee vs Nanoleaf
- Govee vs OpenHAB
- Govee vs Blynk
- Govee vs Arduino Cloud
- Govee vs Node-RED
- Govee vs Losant
- Govee vs Thread
- Govee vs MQTT
- Govee vs SmartThings
- Govee vs Zigbee Alliance
- Govee vs Ring
- Govee vs Roomba
- Particle vs Amazon Alexa
- Particle vs Apple HomeKit
- Particle vs Google Home
- Particle vs Home Assistant
- Particle vs Yeelight
- Particle vs Philips Hue
- Particle vs Wyze
- Particle vs TP-Link Kasa
- Particle vs Meross
- Particle vs LIFX
- Particle vs Aqara
- Particle vs Lutron Caseta
- Particle vs Nanoleaf
- Particle vs OpenHAB
- Particle vs Blynk
- Particle vs Arduino Cloud
- Particle vs Node-RED
- Particle vs Losant
- Particle vs Thread
- Particle vs MQTT
- Particle vs SmartThings
- Particle vs Zigbee Alliance
- Particle vs Ring
- Particle vs Roomba


